Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Monitor power saving (dpms) suddenly not working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 1:18 am    Post subject: Monitor power saving (dpms) suddenly not working Reply with quote

Hello I recently switched from dvi to using hdmi and now the power saving feature for my lcd monitor is not working. This is doubly bad as the physical power button is also broke so it means right now I have to manually unplug it or else it stays on all the time.

What seems to be happening is that it works but then instantly turns right back on.

Code:

$ xset q
Keyboard Control:
  auto repeat:  on    key click percent:  0    LED mask:  00000000
  XKB indicators:
    00: Caps Lock:   off    01: Num Lock:    off    02: Scroll Lock: off
    03: Compose:     off    04: Kana:        off    05: Sleep:       off
    06: Suspend:     off    07: Mute:        off    08: Misc:        off
    09: Mail:        off    10: Charging:    off    11: Shift Lock:  off
    12: Group 2:     off    13: Mouse Keys:  off
  auto repeat delay:  600    repeat rate:  25
  auto repeating keys:  00ffffffdffffbbf
                        fadfffefffedffff
                        9fffffffffffffff
                        fff7ffffffffffff
  bell percent:  50    bell pitch:  400    bell duration:  100
Pointer Control:
  acceleration:  35/10    threshold:  5
Screen Saver:
  prefer blanking:  yes    allow exposures:  yes
  timeout:  0    cycle:  600
Colors:
  default colormap:  0x20    BlackPixel:  0x0    WhitePixel:  0xffffff
Font Path:
  /usr/share/fonts/misc/,/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/,/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/,built-ins
DPMS (Energy Star):
  Standby: 600    Suspend: 900    Off: 1200
  DPMS is Enabled
  Monitor is On


[Moderator edit: changed [quote] tags to [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 13498

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What desktop environment do you use? Does it matter if you close all X11 programs (other than the window manager) before blanking? I read recently a post where someone had a similar issue, but it only happened when certain programs were open. What program is normally responsible for placing your monitor into powersave mode?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using KDE plasma 5.8.4 (~x64) with systemd and sddm. Even manually invoking "sleep 2; xset dpms force suspend" doesn't work. Well it begins blanking the screen but then instantly turns it back on. I can also see this happen each time when it is supposed to be automatically invoked. It acts like it is working and then suddenly doesn't and turns right back on. It happens over and over after the idle timeout threshold is reached where the monitor is supposed to suspend.

It seems to happen even before I open any programs manually but I will test some more and report back. Also I will try the dvi cable and verify that it still works to help narrow it down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm. I just switched backed to DVI and I can confirm it now works and suspends the lcd as it should. I'm probably going to just stay on DVI as there is no real reason not to at this point. However I'd like to help fix the bug (assuming it is one) and would be willing to switch back to hdmi for testing.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to debug this and get meaningful logs related to this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kharitonow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2015
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems like it is nvidia related problem. I would try nouveau and see if it works. At least this can help find out that the problem is in nvidia-driver. Also downgrade to 340xx could be helpful.
https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/791786/linux/dpms-not-working-on-gtx980-with-displayport-connection/1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kharitonow wrote:
It seems like it is nvidia related problem. I would try nouveau and see if it works. At least this can help find out that the problem is in nvidia-driver. Also downgrade to 340xx could be helpful.
https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/791786/linux/dpms-not-working-on-gtx980-with-displayport-connection/1


My apologies, I should have stated that I am using nouveau:

Code:

Linux gentoot3400 4.8.10-gentoo #2 SMP Thu Dec 8 18:56:48 EST 2016 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


Code:

[I] x11-drivers/xf86-video-nouveau
     Available versions:  1.0.11{tbz2} 1.0.12 (~)1.0.13 {glamor}
     Installed versions:  1.0.13(09:43:30 PM 10/22/2016)
     Homepage:            https://nouveau.freedesktop.org/
     Description:         Accelerated Open Source driver for nVidia cards


Code:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 730] (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: eVga.com. Corp. GF108 [GeForce GT 730]
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 28
        Memory at fc000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
        Memory at f0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
        Memory at f8000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=32M]
        I/O ports at dc80 [size=128]
        Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [68] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [78] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [b4] Vendor Specific Information: Len=14 <?>
        Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
        Capabilities: [128] Power Budgeting <?>
        Capabilities: [600] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=024 <?>
        Kernel driver in use: nouveau


I\ll try upgrading to kernel 4.9.0 and will see if by chance that fixes it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1360
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found two ways to poweroff the screen by softwares. First
Code:
sleep 2 && xset dpms force off

It look like the sleep command give to Xorg the idle time it need to trigger the off screen. A second method is to install vbetool and poweroff the screen using this tool who interact with the Bios. I had several problems with this method, the Usb wireless mouse and keyboard stop to respond, cannot switch vt with Ctrl+Alt+Fx and freezes.
Code:
sudo vbetool dpms off

If you use vbetool, to put the screen on again, you have to execute the command
Code:
sudo vbetool dpms on

without seing the screen or by using a shortcut. vbetool need root previleges to work. All of this have been tested on an Hdmi screen port with xf86-video-nouveau. vbetool work correctly with xf86-video-intel like xset.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum