Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cannot run some X programs and send the display to a Mac
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kindofblue
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:40 pm    Post subject: cannot run some X programs and send the display to a Mac Reply with quote

Hello everybody,

my Gentoo PC is running in the basement and I very rarely sit in front of it. I connect from a Mac running XQuartz and send the display to the Mac. Unfortunately it stops working for some programs recently (Firefox, Eclipse among others) with the following errors:
Quote:
denis@maxwell(~)$ glxinfo
name of display: localhost:10.0
libGL error: No matching fbConfigs or visuals found
libGL error: failed to load driver: swrast
X Error of failed request: GLXBadContext
Major opcode of failed request: 149 (GLX)
Minor opcode of failed request: 6 (X_GLXIsDirect)
Serial number of failed request: 23
Current serial number in output stream: 22


The problem is related to OpenGL. I found many references to the same problem on the Web, and they all come down to missing libraries, but it doesn't seem to be my case.

Has anyone experienced the same problem?

Thanks in advance.
_________________
"Keep it simple: as simple as possible, but no simpler" - Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5592

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OpenGL doesn't work over the network, and your apps require OpenGL. Use a VNC server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OpenGL can work over the network but direct rendering can't. I thought this was true, so I just tested running sproingies from my server to my fglrx box over a SSH tunnel...it works! eats 11MB/sec through my network. sshd is encrypting/compressing like mad just like ssh on the client side, and the X server is eating CPU - not the application server.

Sorry for the confusing terminology above, X server is on client side, and the server is running the X client, if that makes sense.

I get the same swrast error like in the first post but do not get the GLXBadContext error, and the client goes through. Not all applications work, but simple ones work. After I post this I'll see if firefox works, IIRC it does.

I do not know what GL features XQuartz supports...

Using a VNC server on a GL capable server is still a good idea.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6958
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you test without SSH, using native X feature?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Note that for Xorg the default is not to listen to the typical X TCP ports (6000) for security reasons and only listen to unix domain sockets. Again I don't know about how XQuartz works, but possible it may have a similar issue and need ssh to (securely) tunnel or use a special config to enable native TCP connections.

Anyway, Firefox failed for me ... weird, thought it worked in the past but it now hangs after bringing up a window.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2509
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
OpenGL can work over the network but direct rendering can't. I thought this was true, so I just tested running sproingies from my server to my fglrx box over a SSH tunnel...it works! eats 11MB/sec through my network. sshd is encrypting/compressing like mad just like ssh on the client side, and the X server is eating CPU - not the application server.

Sorry for the confusing terminology above, X server is on client side, and the server is running the X client, if that makes sense.

I get the same swrast error like in the first post but do not get the GLXBadContext error, and the client goes through. Not all applications work, but simple ones work. After I post this I'll see if firefox works, IIRC it does.

I do not know what GL features XQuartz supports...

Using a VNC server on a GL capable server is still a good idea.



Hm, couple of years ago I sat in a lab in UK, viewing OpenGl visualtization of 3D simulations run on a remote server in France, and direct forwarding of X window was way faster than VNC. Nicely using local video card acceleration for 3D rotations etc. I did not check network bandwidth (which I had plenty) nor CPU consuption, but it was a pretty smooth experience. Things could have been broken since, as network transparency does not seem priority anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6958
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried to run Firefox using X and it worked, but was helluva slow. Over wireless, so maybe it is to blame ... but built with PGO, for nvidia card. Running on Intel graphics on X server side.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7051
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah firefox *should* work. Currently I'm using firefox over an ssh forwarded tunnel to this Fujitsu Stylistic I'm working on - a bit slow but it works (the 933MHz P3 probably is choking on the encryption). This is a different server and client so there are other things involved here...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kindofblue
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2009
Posts: 34
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot for the replies.

Firefox and Eclipse used to work fine. I believe they're both based on the GTK toolkit. How come there's OpenGL in the picture all of a sudden?

I'll try the VNC server suggestion.

Thanks again.
_________________
"Keep it simple: as simple as possible, but no simpler" - Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum