Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE1 1.2.2 Anyone interested in running this?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cb88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2011
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 5:07 am    Post subject: KDE1 1.2.2 Anyone interested in running this? Reply with quote

You know for nostalgia or just because its an awesome retro desktop?

I didn't experience it back in the day... but several of the SparcStations I have run it (as they have RedHat 5.6 on them)

I don't see any ebuilds for it.. but I might get around to it if I get bored on a work trip next week. Just be warned that my ebuild skills are noobish unless someone else wants to lend a hand.

Just for reference/whistle-wetting a SUSE iso with it preinstalled: https://susestudio.com/a/VU5ypu/kde1-tumbleweed-32-bit

Blog post of they guy that did the port/toolchain update: http://www.heliocastro.info/?p=291
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've pushed some basic ebuilds to the KDE overlay. However, there are a couple of issues. Everything is hard-coded to operate out of /opt and I haven't looked at fixing that yet. This means it will be necessary to export to the environment something like PATH="/opt/kde1/bin:${PATH}" and LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/opt/qt1/lib64:/opt/kde1/lib64:${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}".

I was able to launch a kwm session but unfortunately it immediately crashed and I haven't been able to determine the cause yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cb88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2011
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would that be layman -a kde? Which I did and it doesn't seem to be there... but it is still in the kde repo you linked to what am I missing?

that's really strange.. it is definitly there but emerge can't see it neither eix.... even though eix scans that repo.


Last edited by cb88 on Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6828
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes they are, but as live versions without keywords.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cb88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2011
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
Yes they are, but as live versions without keywords.


Yeah I'm a bit baffled...

Code:

localhost ~ # find /var/lib/layman/kde/ | grep kde1
/var/lib/layman/kde/kde-base/kde1-kdebase
/var/lib/layman/kde/kde-base/kde1-kdebase/metadata.xml
/var/lib/layman/kde/kde-base/kde1-kdebase/kde1-kdebase-9999.ebuild
/var/lib/layman/kde/kde-base/kde1-kdelibs
/var/lib/layman/kde/kde-base/kde1-kdelibs/metadata.xml
/var/lib/layman/kde/kde-base/kde1-kdelibs/kde1-kdelibs-9999.ebuild


And I have this in make.conf ... Acutally I just realised PORTDIR_OVERLAY is depreciated... but I do have layman 2.4 and /etc/portage/repos.conf/layman.conf looks correct...

Code:
source /var/lib/layman/make.conf
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="
/usr/local/portage
 ${PORTDIR_OVERLAY}
"

Code:
     Reading category 166|166 (100) Finished       
[4] "kde" /var/lib/layman/kde (cache: parse|ebuild*#metadata-md5#metadata-flat#assign)
     Reading category 166|166 (100) Finished         
Applying masks...
Calculating hash tables...
Writing database file /var/cache/eix/portage.eix...
Database contains 19668 packages in 166 categories.
localhost ~ # eix kde1
No matches found
localhost ~ # emerge =kde-base/kde1-kdebase
!!! '=kde-base/kde1-kdebase' is not a valid package atom.
!!! Please check ebuild(5) for full details.
localhost ~ # emerge =kde-base/kde1-kdebase-9999
Calculating dependencies \
!!! 'kde-base/kde1-kdebase' has a category that is not listed in /etc/portage/categories
... done!

emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "=kde-base/kde1-kdebase-9999".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6828
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use '=', then you also want/need to append a desired version number to the package (in this case, 9999).
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cb88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2011
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did I just forgot to post that part... it still never found it.
Code:

localhost kde # emerge =kde-kdebase/kde1-kdebase-9999
Calculating dependencies... done!

emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "=kde-kdebase/kde1-kdebase-9999".

emerge: searching for similar names...
emerge: Maybe you meant any of these: kde-apps/kde-meta, kde-apps/kdebase-meta, kde-apps/kdebase-data?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6828
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You haven't properly setup layman. https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Layman

Again though, don't expect too much from KDE1.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds fun :)

I'm still currently in the process of moving KDE3 into its own kde3-base and kde3-util dirs so it doesn't break every time they move things around, which seems to be every time I runs sync (Now there are kde-base, kde-utils, kde-apps and kde-framewaork now kde-plasma!)

and ultimately I want to get TDE building (It's not to hard to roll it by hand, but for some reason it's a PITA getting it to build cleanly and consistently in Portage :( If the convoluted eclasses for KDE3 are anything to go by it's gonna take some heavy kludging... :S )

KDE1 could be nice tho' - I bet I'd find it nicer to use than KDE4 or 5, and it'd have a higher chance of working properly in vncserver than KDE4/5! I bet it'd run a lot faster too...!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum