Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
/etc/init.d/net-online weird errors
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 794
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:21 am    Post subject: /etc/init.d/net-online weird errors Reply with quote

If the net-online script tries to run during the boot process, it basically just spams really weird errors and hangs indefinitely (preventing the rc scripts from completing). Syslog is not logging the error so I can't reproduce it exactly, but it is saying invalid argument in line 59 and 60 (alternating) in /etc/init.d/net-online. These lines are

read x < /sys/class/net/$dev/carrier [ $x -eq 1 ] && : $((carriers += 1))
read x < /sys/class/net/$dev/operstate [ "$x" = up ] && : $((configured += 1))

If I have need="net-online" in ANY service in conf.d, this happens. And it will hang forever until I put it in maintenance mode, take that line out of the entry in conf.d, and restart it again. The only thing I can figure is at that point in the boot process, the entries in /sys/class/net/eth1 are not there. (I have net-online set to depend only on net-eth1.)

If I wait until everything is running, and THEN run net-online, it works fine. Something is terribly terribly broken in the startup scripts, anyone have any idea what it could be? I'm wanting to have services depend on net-online for a reason. If openrc is really this broken, I may just have to switch to systemd even though I don't like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You somehow have a broken initscript. Those should be four lines, not two:
Code:
      read x < /sys/class/net/$dev/carrier
      [ $x -eq 1 ] && : $((carriers += 1))
      read x < /sys/class/net/$dev/operstate
      [ "$x" = up ] && : $((configured += 1))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 794
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
You somehow have a broken initscript. Those should be four lines, not two:
Code:
      read x < /sys/class/net/$dev/carrier
      [ $x -eq 1 ] && : $((carriers += 1))
      read x < /sys/class/net/$dev/operstate
      [ "$x" = up ] && : $((configured += 1))

It actually is 4 lines, it ended up being a copy/paste problem when I pasted it here. That's what I have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 534
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, looking at net-online script, I think you should try and manually run some bash commands from get_interfaces function:
Code:

        for ifname in /sys/class/net/*; do
                read iftype < ${ifname}/type
                [ "$iftype" = "1" ] && printf "%s " ${ifname##*/}
        done

And for each dev listed, you may then check values of /sys/class/net/$dev/carrier and /sys/class/net/$dev/operstate
This should help you identify which device gets in the loop while not yet initialized/configured (dummy?)

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 794
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guitou wrote:
Hello, looking at net-online script, I think you should try and manually run some bash commands from get_interfaces function:
Code:

        for ifname in /sys/class/net/*; do
                read iftype < ${ifname}/type
                [ "$iftype" = "1" ] && printf "%s " ${ifname##*/}
        done

And for each dev listed, you may then check values of /sys/class/net/$dev/carrier and /sys/class/net/$dev/operstate
This should help you identify which device gets in the loop while not yet initialized/configured (dummy?)

++
Gi)

By the time I can actually access the system, they are all there. It's something that must not be getting initialized during boot time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21637

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could temporarily patch the script to have set -x before the relevant commands and set +x after them, so that bash prints each command before executing it. That would show you which commands and paths provoke the error message. As an example of the output you can get:
Code:
(set -x; for a in /dev/null; do read < "$a"; done )
+ for a in /dev/null
+ read
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 534
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.

My bad, except from a typo in /etc/conf.d/net-online, only eth1 should be checked indeed.
Then, as you said, matter is probably that /sys/classes/net/eth1 is not yet populated. Ans as to try and figure out why, if it does always happen, maybe you just have services with need="net-online" at a lower run level than net.eth1. Otherwise if it happened just once or is happening sometimes, it might rather be a physical connection issue (broken cable, switch, ISP...).

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum