Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE plasma doesn't start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
donaldf1000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:23 pm    Post subject: Thanx Reply with quote

Thank you. I'll try in the next days to install again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Maxxx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2016
Posts: 515
Location: Italia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here I am ... I haven't had internet connection for a few hours due to the earthquake (in Italy)... :evil:

You haven't installed plasma-desktop and plasma-meta, then KDE can't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donaldf1000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:01 pm    Post subject: all shell packages missing Reply with quote

Hi again. I installed again xorg, sddm, etc
PLasma desktkopt start to initializa, i enter my password but in a few seconds i get this message:
All shell packages missing. This a distribution issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Again, what package did you install to get Plasma? sddm (where you enter the password) is not Plasma.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donaldf1000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:45 pm    Post subject: kde Reply with quote

plasma-meta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donaldf1000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:00 pm    Post subject: emake failed Reply with quote

Hi again.
I couldn't emerge plasma- meta package, i got an emake failed error

Here is the paste:

https://paste.pound-python.org/show/0w3SWLZeIxZIuSNbKqRv/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21334
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:10 pm    Post subject: Re: emake failed Reply with quote

donaldf1000 wrote:
Hi again.
I couldn't emerge plasma- meta package, i got an emake failed error/

Usually internal compiler error: Killed (program cc1plus) is a out of memory problem. Try to add more temporary swap space
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donaldf1000
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2016
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:48 pm    Post subject: right! Reply with quote

yes you are right. I had only 1 G memory for this VM, i added 1G more and now is ok. Thanx!!!!

Now i got a PLasma Desktop on Gentoo!

We can close this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum