Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] please help me to make my sound card work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:21 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] please help me to make my sound card work Reply with quote

Hi, I tried several times but I cannot manage to have sound on my laptop. Could you please help me?

Code:

# lspci -knn
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT DRAM Controller [8086:0a04] (rev 0b)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Haswell-ULT DRAM Controller [17aa:3978]
   Kernel driver in use: hsw_uncore
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0a16] (rev 0b)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller [17aa:3978]
   Kernel driver in use: i915
00:03.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller [8086:0a0c] (rev 0b)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller [17aa:3978]
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:14.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 8 Series USB xHCI HC [8086:9c31] (rev 04)
   Subsystem: Lenovo 8 Series USB xHCI HC [17aa:3978]
   Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation 8 Series HECI #0 [8086:9c3a] (rev 04)
   Subsystem: Lenovo 8 Series HECI [17aa:3978]
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 8 Series HD Audio Controller [8086:9c20] (rev 04)
   Subsystem: Lenovo 8 Series HD Audio Controller [17aa:3978]
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:9c10] (rev e4)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 3 [8086:9c14] (rev e4)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 4 [8086:9c16] (rev e4)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 8 Series PCI Express Root Port 5 [8086:9c18] (rev e4)
   Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 8 Series USB EHCI #1 [8086:9c26] (rev 04)
   Subsystem: Lenovo 8 Series USB EHCI [17aa:3978]
   Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 8 Series LPC Controller [8086:9c43] (rev 04)
   Subsystem: Lenovo 8 Series LPC Controller [17aa:3978]
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 8 Series SATA Controller 1 [AHCI mode] [8086:9c03] (rev 04)
   Subsystem: Lenovo 8 Series SATA Controller 1 [AHCI mode] [17aa:3978]
   Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 8 Series SMBus Controller [8086:9c22] (rev 04)
   Subsystem: Lenovo 8 Series SMBus Controller [17aa:3978]
   Kernel driver in use: i801_smbus
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:0036] (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Lenovo QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter [17aa:4026]
   Kernel driver in use: ath9k
   Kernel modules: ath9k
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [10ec:8168] (rev 10)
   Subsystem: Lenovo RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller [17aa:3818]
   Kernel driver in use: r8169
04:00.0 3D controller [0302]: NVIDIA Corporation GM108M [GeForce 840M] [10de:1341] (rev a2)
   Subsystem: Lenovo GM108M [GeForce 840M] [17aa:3817]
   Kernel driver in use: nvidia
   Kernel modules: nvidia


Thanks in advance!


Last edited by astor86 on Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21334
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post output of commands aplay -l and grep CODEC /usr/src/linux/.config
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for quick reply!

Code:
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Code:
$ grep CODEC /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054 is not set
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42569
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

astor86,

Sound cards are in two pieces. The PCI bit which you have correctly set and te CODEC which transforms the digital signals into the analogue output.
Code:
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG is not set

That bit is missing from your kernel.

There is another complication
Code:
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]

Your analogue sound card is not your default sound card, so even when your sound works, it will still need some configuration to use it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks NeddySeagoon,

I've recompiled my kernel.
Quote:

There is another complication
Code:

card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]


Your analogue sound card is not your default sound card, so even when your sound works, it will still need some configuration to use it.


so what should I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6965

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Your analogue sound card is not your default sound card, so even when your sound works, it will still need some configuration to use it.

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/ALSA#Laptops_with_HDMI_audio_output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks krinn

I am going to RTFM :)

BTW, I have pulseaudio installed. I don't understand if I need it or not..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 21334
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Sound cards are in two pieces. The PCI bit which you have correctly set and te CODEC which transforms the digital signals into the analogue output.
Code:
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG is not set

That bit is missing from your kernel.

It's really needed?

krinn wrote:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/ALSA#Laptops_with_HDMI_audio_output

I could not find this post
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6965

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:

krinn wrote:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/ALSA#Laptops_with_HDMI_audio_output

I could not find this post

As i couldn't understand yours, we're both lost :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guys, sorry for bothering you... But I read the documentation and I didn't understand well what should I do...

could you please help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spanik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 454
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astor86 wrote:
thanks for quick reply!

Code:
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


This part means that card 0 (the default one) is routed to the HDMI output. And card 1 is routed to the speakers/headphone. If you now take the link krinn put in then you'll see this:
Quote:
Laptops with HDMI audio output

Some laptops with an HDMI audio output will map /proc/asound/card0 as HDMI and therefore makes it default output device for applications as stated above in the Firefox section. Another way to remap is to add these two lines to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
Code:

# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=2

options snd-hda-intel id=PCH index=0
options snd-hda-intel id=HDMI index=1


Verify the order change by checking this command


So you have to edit your /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf file to force the PCH to be card 0 (set the index to 0) and HDMI as card 1.

No idea about the codec as I never ran into that. But you can choose somewhere when building the kernel which codecs you want/need. You'll need the Analog (Devices) ones.
_________________
Expert in non-working solutions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, thanks for reply. I've added those lines, but still no sound. I cannot understand if I am missing something in the kernel or any configuration file.

Code:
# cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
# Alsa kernel modules' configuration file.

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore

##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
##  ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
##  OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##

# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
##  OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss

alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss

# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=0
options snd-hda-intel id=PCH index=0
options snd-hda-intel id=HDMI index=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian.au
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 422
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astor86 wrote:
Hi, thanks for reply. I've added those lines, but still no sound. I cannot understand if I am missing something in the kernel or any configuration file.

Code:
# cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
<snip>
# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=0
options snd-hda-intel id=PCH index=0
options snd-hda-intel id=HDMI index=1


try options snd cards_limit=2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42569
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astor86,

Is your snd_hda_intel a loadable module or built into the kernel?
Does it appear in lsmod?

If its built into the kernel, you need to pass options on the kernel command line.
alsa.conf is on the root filesystem and cannot be read when a built in snd_hda_intel needs it.

See /usr/src/linux/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi NeddySeagoon,

it is a module

Code:
$ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep -i snd_hda*
# CONFIG_SND_HDSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSPM is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64


Code:
$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_hda_codec_realtek    56067  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    54019  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     36734  1
snd_hda_intel          24005  5
nvidia               9956575  0
snd_hda_codec          81717  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_core           37713  5 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
ath9k                  84382  0
ath9k_common           22451  1 ath9k
ath9k_hw              405804  2 ath9k_common,ath9k
snd_pcm                72036  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              19009  1 snd_pcm
ath                    18619  3 ath9k_common,ath9k,ath9k_hw
snd                    55988  16 snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
x86_pkg_temp_thermal     4727  0
efivarfs                6055  1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42569
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astor86,

I don't see
Code:
snd_hda_codec_analogue
in your lsmod output but you have
Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
in the kernel.

That suggests you are not running the kernel that belongs to your current kenel config. Look at the date in
Code:
$ uname -v
#3 SMP PREEMPT Fri Oct 14 15:59:40 BST 2016

That's the build date/time of the running kernel. Is that before or after you added that option?

Another test ...
Run
Code:
alsamixer -c0
That should show your HDMI sound conrols ... perhaps none at all.
Run
Code:
alsamixer -c1
That will show your analogue replay controls or an error message.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
I don't see
Code:
snd_hda_codec_analogue
in your lsmod output but you have
Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
in the kernel.

That suggests you are not running the kernel that belongs to your current kenel config. Look at the date in

Code:
$ uname -v
#25 SMP Mon Oct 24 21:36:08 CEST 2016


NeddySeagoon wrote:
That's the build date/time of the running kernel. Is that before or after you added that option?


I am pretty sure it is AFTER

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Another test ...
Run
Code:
alsamixer -c0
That should show your HDMI sound conrols ... perhaps none at all.
Run
Code:
alsamixer -c1
That will show your analogue replay controls or an error message.


Code:
$ alsamixer -c0
┌───────────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.0.29 ──────────────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA Intel PCH                                  F1:  Help               │
│ Chip: Realtek ALC233                                 F2:  System information │
│ View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture  F5: All             F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item: Master [dB gain: 0.00]                         Esc: Exit               │
│                                                                              │
│     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐              ┌──┐      │
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      │
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      │
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      >
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      >
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      >
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      >
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      >
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      >
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      >
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      │
│     │▒▒│     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │              │▒▒│      │
│     ├──┤     ├──┤     ├──┤     └──┘     ├──┤     └──┘   Disabled   └──┘      │
│     │MM│     │MM│     │MM│              │MM│                                 │
│     └──┘     └──┘     └──┘              └──┘                                 │
│     100      0<>0   100<>100 100<>100   0<>0     0<>0            100<>100    │
│  < Master >Headphon Speaker    PCM      Mic    Mic Boos Auto-Mut Internal    │
└──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘


Code:
$ alsamixer -c1
┌───────────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.0.29 ──────────────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA Intel HDMI                                 F1:  Help               │
│ Chip: Intel Haswell HDMI                             F2:  System information │
│ View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture  F5: All             F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item: S/PDIF                                         Esc: Exit               │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                            ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐                            │
│                            │OO│     │OO│     │OO│                            │
│                            └──┘     └──┘     └──┘                            │
│                         < S/PDIF >S/PDIF 1 S/PDIF 2                          │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
└──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42569
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astor86,

Heh. Its working pefectly. Your default card is the analogue card.

Notice the MM at the bottom of the controls in your screen shot.
M means Muted. MM for the left and right stereo channels.
O means Open.
Select the controls and press the 'm' key to toggle the mute switch.

Set the Master and Speaker levels to about 50%
Now unmute just those two channels.

Sit back and enjoy your sounds.
You will need to adjust Master, Speaker and PCM if you get distortion.

Add the alsasound service to the default runlevel, so your mixer settings are preserved across reboots.

A word of warning. Your analogue sound card can do both analogue 44.1kHz and digital 48kHz sample rates, but not both at the same time.
Digital takes priority. Be sure the any controls with IEC or SPDI/F in their names are kept muted.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks NeddySeagoon!!! Indeed it works!

NeddySeagoon wrote:
A word of warning. Your analogue sound card can do both analogue 44.1kHz and digital 48kHz sample rates, but not both at the same time.
Digital takes priority. Be sure the any controls with IEC or SPDI/F in their names are kept muted.


So should I stick with this configuration?
Code:
$ alsamixer -c1
┌───────────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.0.29 ──────────────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA Intel HDMI                                 F1:  Help               │
│ Chip: Intel Haswell HDMI                             F2:  System information │
│ View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture  F5: All             F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item: S/PDIF [Off]                                   Esc: Exit               │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                            ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐                            │
│                            │MM│     │MM│     │MM│                            │
│                            └──┘     └──┘     └──┘                            │
│                         < S/PDIF >S/PDIF 1 S/PDIF 2                          │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
│                                                                              │
└──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42569
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astor86,

Yes. Just take care when you change mute settings is the mixer and all you get is silence.
Check that no digital controls are unmuted.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astor86
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks a lot NeddySeagoon!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum