Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] QT Applications no longer displaying menu dropdown
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davidsmind
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2002
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:56 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] QT Applications no longer displaying menu dropdown Reply with quote

My HD was failing so I migrated over to an older one, then back to a new one, and ever since my QT-based menus have been messed up.

https://i.imgsafe.org/70ceb07460.png
https://i.imgsafe.org/70cc2d49f5.png
https://i.imgsafe.org/70cc573f0e.png


When I run these programs on the command line I see errors like this:
Code:
X Error: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes) 8
  Extension:    153 (Uknown extension)
  Minor opcode: 5 (Unknown request)
  Resource id:  0x5a00022
QGLContext::makeCurrent(): Failed.
X Error: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes) 8
  Extension:    153 (Uknown extension)
  Minor opcode: 5 (Unknown request)
  Resource id:  0x5a00022
QGLContext::makeCurrent(): Failed.
hijackWindow() context created for QMenu(0x1f7cfe0, name = "fileMenu") 1
X Error: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes) 8
  Extension:    153 (Uknown extension)
  Minor opcode: 5 (Unknown request)
  Resource id:  0x5a00032
QGLContext::makeCurrent(): Failed.
Created Window Surface FBO QSize(120, 59) with samples 8
X Error: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes) 8
  Extension:    153 (Uknown extension)
  Minor opcode: 5 (Unknown request)
  Resource id:  0x5a00032
QGLContext::makeCurrent(): Failed.
X Error: BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes) 8
  Extension:    153 (Uknown extension)
  Minor opcode: 5 (Unknown request)
  Resource id:  0x5a00032
QGLContext::makeCurrent(): Failed.



Code:
(19:44:35) david@gothbox:~ $ sudo eselect qtgraphicssystem list
Available Qt Graphics Systems:
  [1]   native
  [2]   opengl (experimental) *
  [3]   raster (default)


Code:
(19:55:31) david@gothbox:~ $ sudo glxinfo| head
name of display: :0
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
server glx extensions:
    GLX_ARB_context_flush_control, GLX_ARB_create_context,
    GLX_ARB_create_context_profile, GLX_ARB_create_context_robustness,
    GLX_ARB_fbconfig_float, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_buffer_age,
    GLX_EXT_create_context_es2_profile, GLX_EXT_create_context_es_profile,


GLX is working fine, something is clearly screwed up here and I'd like to be able to solve it.


Last edited by davidsmind on Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mir3x
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was curious how it works, and seems all qt4 programs fail to show menus, but qt5 are ok.
Maybe check if qt5 works for u, then check what eselect qtgraphicssystem does exactly and repeat it for qt4.
But I think there was no opengl engine for qt4.
_________________
Installation aborted to prevent system self-destruction
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i4dnf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 265
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eselect qtgraphicssystem affects exclusively Qt4.
Try switching qtgraphicssystem back to raster, see if that fixes the menu (and possible other issues).
The other graphicssystems besides raster were never primetime ready on the desktop, and were never recommended to be used.
_________________
"The only difference between me and a madman is that I am not MAD" (SALVATOR DALI)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidsmind
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2002
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

qtgraphicssystem was 100% of the problem. raster worked.

It was working until recently, but I'm glad things are working now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum