Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Radeon RX 460 on gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 2:42 pm    Post subject: Radeon RX 460 on gentoo Reply with quote

I got myself this nice new video card, but I can't get it to work properly on gentoo. I followed this guide, but it seems something is missing (or went wrong).

  • What works: X is running, kernel module amdgpu is loaded
  • What does not work: glxgears performs abysmal (60fps), can't really play WoW with wine due to graphics (d3d runs with 2fps and fluttering, opengl won't even start the game), lspci does not name the card (not important personally, but might hint at something)
  • Version of stuff i'm running: Kernel 4.7.4, mesa 12.0.1. (no bindist), xf86-video-amdgpu 1.1.0, amdgpu-ucode 20160628
  • Diagnostics:
    Quote:
    Rambazamba xorg.conf.d # glxinfo |grep render
    direct rendering: Yes
    GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent, GLX_MESA_query_renderer,
    GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent, GLX_MESA_query_renderer,
    Extended renderer info (GLX_MESA_query_renderer):
    OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD POLARIS11 (DRM 3.2.0 / 4.7.4-gentoo, LLVM 3.8.1)
    GL_ARB_conditional_render_inverted, GL_ARB_conservative_depth,
    GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_NV_depth_clamp, GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil,
    GL_ARB_conditional_render_inverted, GL_ARB_conservative_depth,
    GL_NV_blend_square, GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_NV_depth_clamp,
    GL_OES_fbo_render_mipmap, GL_OES_get_program_binary, GL_OES_mapbuffer,

    Seems ok.

    Quote:
    Rambazamba xorg.conf.d # grep EE /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    [ 2979.103] (EE) Failed to load module "vesa" (module does not exist, 0)
    [ 2979.744] (EE) modeset(0): [DRI2] No driver mapping found for PCI device 0x1002 / 0x67ef
    [ 2979.744] (EE) modeset(0): Failed to initialize the DRI2 extension.
    [ 2979.760] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering


    Does not seem ok. Not sure about vesa, but shouldn't DRI2 work? I've tried using 10-device.conf from here to no avail. Full xorg log at http://pastebin.com/A1FmaQjY

    Quote:
    Rambazamba xorg.conf.d # eselect opengl list
    Available OpenGL implementations:
    [1] xorg-x11 *
    Rambazamba xorg.conf.d # eselect mesa list
    64bit i915 (Intel 915, 945)
    64bit i965 (Intel GMA 965, G/Q3x, G/Q4x, HD)
    64bit r300 (Radeon R300-R500)
    64bit r600 (Radeon R600-R700, Evergreen, Northern Islands)
    64bit sw (Software renderer)
    [1] classic
    [2] gallium *
    32bit i915 (Intel 915, 945)
    32bit i965 (Intel GMA 965, G/Q3x, G/Q4x, HD)
    32bit r300 (Radeon R300-R500)
    32bit r600 (Radeon R600-R700, Evergreen, Northern Islands)
    32bit sw (Software renderer)
    [1] classic
    [2] gallium *


    Not sure about those items. It says software renderer, but afaik that's supposed to be the case for gallium.

    Quote:
    Rambazamba xorg.conf.d # dmesg |grep amd
    [ 0.249763] amd_nb: Cannot enumerate AMD northbridges
    [ 1.109117] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
    [ 1.109131] fb: switching to amdgpudrmfb from EFI VGA
    [ 1.109627] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: Invalid PCI ROM header signature: expecting 0xaa55, got 0xffff
    [ 1.109848] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: VRAM: 2048M 0x0000000000000000 - 0x000000007FFFFFFF (2048M used)
    [ 1.109849] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: GTT: 2048M 0x0000000080000000 - 0x00000000FFFFFFFF
    [ 1.109894] [drm] amdgpu: 2048M of VRAM memory ready
    [ 1.109894] [drm] amdgpu: 2048M of GTT memory ready.
    [ 1.111091] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: amdgpu: using MSI.
    [ 1.111107] [drm] amdgpu: irq initialized.
    [ 1.111248] amdgpu: powerplay initialized
    [ 1.113053] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 0 use gpu addr 0x0000000080000008, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb81008
    [ 1.113162] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 1 use gpu addr 0x000000008000001c, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb8101c
    [ 1.113182] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 2 use gpu addr 0x0000000080000030, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb81030
    [ 1.113198] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 3 use gpu addr 0x0000000080000044, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb81044
    [ 1.113219] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 4 use gpu addr 0x0000000080000058, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb81058
    [ 1.113239] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 5 use gpu addr 0x000000008000006c, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb8106c
    [ 1.113258] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 6 use gpu addr 0x0000000080000080, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb81080
    [ 1.113373] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 7 use gpu addr 0x0000000080000094, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb81094
    [ 1.113394] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 8 use gpu addr 0x00000000800000a8, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb810a8
    [ 1.113428] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 9 use gpu addr 0x00000000800000bc, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb810bc
    [ 1.113449] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 10 use gpu addr 0x00000000800000d0, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb810d0
    [ 1.113785] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 11 use gpu addr 0x000000000049c420, cpu addr 0xffffc9000065a420
    [ 1.113854] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 12 use gpu addr 0x00000000800000f8, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb810f8
    [ 1.113874] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 13 use gpu addr 0x000000008000010c, cpu addr 0xffff8800ddb8110c
    [ 1.623784] fbcon: amdgpudrmfb (fb0) is primary device
    [ 2.579232] amdgpu 0000:01:00.0: fb0: amdgpudrmfb frame buffer device
    [ 2.588851] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.2.0 20150101 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0





So, any pointers welcome. I'd be happy to supply any more diagnostics of use.
_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1458
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
I had problems with OpenGL rendering being slow when I had opencl -USE-flag enabled on mesa.
If you don't need opencl, then you can disable it globally in make.conf and then
shell command:
emerge --ask --deep --changed-use @world
If you need OpenCL support then you need to unmask few packages to get things working:
/etc/portage/package.accept_keywords/llvm contents:
=sys-devel/llvm-3.6.2 ~amd64
=sys-devel/clang-3.6.2-r100 ~amd64


If that's not the case then give the output of
shell command:
equery u mesa

_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your answer, Zucca. I do not need OpenCL and have not done any steps to enable support. That said:

Code:
equery uses mesa
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]
[ Colors : set, unset                             ]
 * Found these USE flags for media-libs/mesa-12.0.1:
 U I
 + + abi_x86_32           : 32-bit (x86) libraries
 - - bindist              : Disable patent-encumbered ARB_texture_float, EXT_texture_shared_exponent, and
                            EXT_packed_float extensions.
 + + classic              : Build drivers based on the classic architecture.
 + + d3d9                 : Enable Direct 3D9 API through Nine state tracker. Can be used together with patched wine.
 - - debug                : Enable extra debug codepaths, like asserts and extra output. If you want to get meaningful
                            backtraces see https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:Quality_Assurance/Backtraces
 + + dri3                 : Enable DRI3 support.
 + + egl                  : Enable EGL support.
 + + gallium              : Build drivers based on Gallium3D, the new architecture for 3D graphics drivers.
 + + gbm                  : Enable the Graphics Buffer Manager for EGL on KMS.
 + + gles1                : Enable GLESv1 support.
 + + gles2                : Enable GLESv2 support.
 + + llvm                 : Enable LLVM backend for Gallium3D.
 + + nptl                 : Enable support for Native POSIX Threads Library, the new threading module (requires
                            linux-2.6 or better usually)
 - - opencl               : Enable the Clover Gallium OpenCL state tracker.
 - - openmax              : Enable OpenMAX video decode/encode acceleration for Gallium3D.
 - - osmesa               : Build the Mesa library for off-screen rendering.
 - - pax_kernel           : Enable if the user plans to run the package under a pax enabled hardened kernel
 - - pic                  : disable optimized assembly code that is not PIC friendly
 + + udev                 : Enable virtual/udev integration (device discovery, power and storage device support, etc)
 - - vaapi                : Enable Video Acceleration API for hardware decoding
 - - valgrind             : Compile in valgrind memory hints
 - - vdpau                : Enable the VDPAU acceleration interface for the Gallium3D Video Layer.
 - - video_cards_i915     : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build driver for Intel i915 video cards
 - - video_cards_i965     : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build driver for Intel i965 video cards
 - - video_cards_ilo      : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build unofficial gallium driver for Intel gen6/7 video cards
 - - video_cards_intel    : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build driver for Intel video cards
 - - video_cards_nouveau  : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build reverse-engineered driver for nvidia cards
 - - video_cards_r100     : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build only r100 based chips code for radeon
 - - video_cards_r200     : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build only r200 based chips code for radeon
 - - video_cards_r300     : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build only r300, r400 and r500 based chips code for radeon
 - - video_cards_r600     : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build only r600, r700, Evergreen and Northern Islands based chips
                            code for radeon
 - - video_cards_radeon   : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build driver for ATI radeon video cards
 + + video_cards_radeonsi : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build only Southern Islands based chips code for radeon
 - - video_cards_vmware   : VIDEO_CARDS setting to build driver for vmware video cards
 - - wayland              : Enable support for dev-libs/wayland
 + + xa                   : Enable the XA (X Acceleration) API for Gallium3D.
 + + xvmc                 : Enable the XvMC acceleration interface for the Gallium3D Video Layer.

_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1458
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
Your USE -flags seems to be ok.

However I noticed this:
http://pastebin.com/A1FmaQjY:
[  2979.103] (II) LoadModule: "radeon"


I guess you should only have either amdgpu or radeon driver module loaded.

I have both Installed but my setup is multiseated. Other seat uses radeon and the other uses amdgpu. I had to create udev rules to seperate cards to each seat and I needed to create xorg.confs for both.
Easiest way for you, however, might be keeping only amdgpu drivers installed.
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed the radeon driver, but the symptoms are still the same, mainly I can't play Wow anymore :( Still though the log claim that DRI2 could not be initialized, which very much sounds like a problem.

I've put up a new Xorg log: http://pastebin.com/sBpG1GW7
_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1458
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right about that DRI problem.
This is only a guess now but, it looks like framebuffer driver is messing things up:
http://pastebin.com/sBpG1GW7:
[   133.943] (II) Loading sub module "fb"
[   133.943] (II) LoadModule: "fb"
[   133.943] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libfb.so
[   133.943] (II) Module fb: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   133.943]    compiled for 1.18.4, module version = 1.0.0
[   133.943]    ABI class: X.Org ANSI C Emulation, version 0.4
[   133.943] (II) UnloadModule: "amdgpu"
[   133.943] (II) Unloading amdgpu
[   133.943] (II) UnloadModule: "fbdev"
[   133.943] (II) Unloading fbdev
[   133.943] (II) UnloadSubModule: "fbdevhw"
[   133.943] (II) Unloading fbdevhw
Because right after loading fb module few other modules gets unloaded.
You might try to block fb module from loading...

Also wiki has a small troubleshooting section. But I don't think it's the case here since you have quite a new GPU model here.
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zino
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2016
Posts: 21
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems you haven't enabled the 'video_cards_radeon' use flag in your make.conf like you should according to https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Amdgpu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paraw
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Coventry (UK)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excuse my question, but have you tried with the proprietary driver (amdgpu-pro)? I have a 480 and it works without problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1458
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zino wrote:
It seems you haven't enabled the 'video_cards_radeon' use flag in your make.conf like you should according to https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Amdgpu.
Good point. But I guess you meant 'radeonsi' instead 'radeon'? 'radeon' is only mentioned at the end of the page. I've thought it does not concern polaris cards.
But hey. Just to be sure - should go for it.

paraw wrote:
Excuse my question, but have you tried with the proprietary driver (amdgpu-pro)? I have a 480 and it works without problems.
Interesting. Although people tell that on RX 480 the performance is on par with the open source ones... I'd be interested on trying the -PRO drivers to get better OpenCL support. What Overlay you used to install those drivers?
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paraw
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Coventry (UK)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zucca wrote:
paraw wrote:
Excuse my question, but have you tried with the proprietary driver (amdgpu-pro)? I have a 480 and it works without problems.
Interesting. Although people tell that on RX 480 the performance is on par with the open source ones... I'd be interested on trying the -PRO drivers to get better OpenCL support. What Overlay you used to install those drivers?

Not in my experience. For instance, with Civilization, the open source driver cause serious artifacts when zooming out beyond the three closest zoom levels, while the pro driver works just fine. Also, the fps I get are far higher with the pro than with mesa. As for the overlays, I didn't use them, I just installed stuff by hand, except for dkms, which I got from farmboy0. Note that the module sources as you download them from the amd web site are sort-of broken, because they are intended for ubuntu with 4.4 kernel and their patches. In addition, they have some programming choices that are a bit poor, shall we say. Anyway, the bottom line is that you have to fix their code a bit, but after that it works just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1458
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks paraw.
I think I'll stick with the open source ones. Seems like less of a hassle. :P And everything is working fine here on R9 Nano.

(Sorry for slight off-topic)
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks all for your answers!

zucca wrote:
You might try to block fb module from loading...


I will try that tonight.

zino wrote:
It seems you haven't enabled the 'video_cards_radeon' use flag in your make.conf like you should according to https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Amdgpu.


There is no such use flag mentioned. Did you mean the entry to VIDEO_CARDS in make.conf? I do have that (sans the entry "radeon", which should not be neccessary or even harmfull... I'll try that tonight, too, though, just to be sure).

paraw wrote:
Excuse my question, but have you tried with the proprietary driver (amdgpu-pro)? I have a 480 and it works without problems.


I did not, there was no wiki entry or such, and since the oss driver is supposed to work well, I did not investigate. What you tell seems to confirm that this would be a bit of work, and as you can see, I can't even solve this problem here where there's documentation to be read :)
_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2152
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
[ 2979.744] (EE) modeset(0): [DRI2] No driver mapping found for PCI device 0x1002 / 0x67ef

Maybe your libdrm is too old.
Also it seems that you are using X.org modesetting driver instead of amdgpu.

Blocking the fallback drivers (fbdev, vesa) from loading probably won't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
Maybe your libdrm is too old.


Thanks, I'll have a look if I can update it.

Quote:
Also it seems that you are using X.org modesetting driver instead of amdgpu.


I don't fully understand, where can I configure that? The amdgpu driver came with a config file 10-amdgpu.conf which is used by xorg, and the wiki doesn't mention any configuration I'd need to do. I did however see a section on KMS in the xorg guide, is that what you mean? I'll check out if I have the neccessary steps.
_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zino
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2016
Posts: 21
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zucca wrote:
Good point. But I guess you meant 'radeonsi' instead 'radeon'? 'radeon' is only mentioned at the end of the page. I've thought it does not concern polaris cards.
But hey. Just to be sure - should go for it.


I actually meant what I wrote. The reason why I mentioned it as a possible solution is that certain packages, i.e. sys-devel/llvm, only have a 'video_cards_radeon' use flag which led me to the (possibly wrong) conclusion that this particular use flag is always needed when dealing with FOSS drivers for AMD cards. It's true that in the kernel you either use the amdgpu or the radeon module but I doubt that this translates directly to Gentoo use flag settings.

Pyrates wrote:
There is no such use flag mentioned. Did you mean the entry to VIDEO_CARDS in make.conf? I do have that (sans the entry "radeon", which should not be neccessary or even harmfull... I'll try that tonight, too, though, just to be sure).


VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" is the same as USE="video_cards_radeon" , but I actullay use the 'VIDEO_CARDS' setting in /etc/make.conf myself. So, in your case I'd try VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu radeon radeonsi" .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still no dice :( Libdrm is the latest available version (2.4.70), adding "radeon" to VIDEO_CARDS did a bit of recompiling, but did not change anything. I also followed the instructions to enable KMS from the xorg guide (this involves disabling most framebuffer drivers), but nothing changed.

Maybe I should elaborate something I mentioned. Using the following 10-device.conf in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d:

Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "AMD Radeon RX 460 (POLARIS11)"
    Driver      "amdgpu"
    BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option      "DRI"         "3"
    Option      "AccelMethod" "glamor"
EndSection


I get the following X log: http://pastebin.com/SDA38NLs

Note that fb is not loaded, and amdgpu is not unloaded. It says "No devices detected" and "No screens found". Did I choose the BusID correctly? I have

Code:
Rambazamba ~ # lspci |grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 67ef (rev cf)


I also found this:

Code:
Rambazamba X11 # dmesg |grep -i modesetting
[    1.107748] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
[    1.108250] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (POLARIS11 0x1002:0x67EF 0x174B:0xE348 0xCF).


Which actually looks like a good sign :)

Any more ideas still welcome :)
_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mega_flow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 27
Location: Belgium, Maasmechelen

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of the kernel do u use ?

I have a radeon RX 480, and play also Wow
Wow is cpu depend With dx9 , I could not go higher then setting 4 in Wow
and the gpu stay mostly idle.

I can play Swtor on full setting and the gpu load is higher then wow
glxgears is lockt on yours screen refresh rate , so 60 is normal

I'm using the "d3d9 dri3" flags, and stagging flags for wine
witch make wow run allot better

i had to use
Option "DRI" "3"
in 20-amdgpu.conf for d3d9 to work in Wow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mega_flow wrote:
What version of the kernel do u use ?


The latest gentoo unstable, namely 4.7.4

Quote:
Wow is cpu depend With dx9 , I could not go higher then setting 4 in Wow
and the gpu stay mostly idle.


I can easily compare since I only switched the gpu recently, should at least perform on par (actually, much better, my previous card was several years old). But it doesn't... seeing DRI is not enabled, this is not surprising, though.

Quote:
I'm using the "d3d9 dri3" flags, and stagging flags for wine
witch make wow run allot better


Thanks for the hint, I'll check that out later, but for now I'm keeping the version of wine that worked before, optimiziation is for later :)

Quote:
i had to use
Option "DRI" "3"
in 20-amdgpu.conf for d3d9 to work in Wow


Hmmm, maybe I stuck it in the wrong file, I'll try that out, thanks.
_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thorhall
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is a dumb question, but I noticed your kernel is x86, not x64, and everyone assumed you were using x64. on windows the polaris only works on x64. have you tried all the solutions with a 64 bit kernel instead of the 32 bit one? I think your issue is you're using a 32 bit kernel and compiling the driver wrong, aka a 64 bit extension on a 32 bit kernel. if you can't recompile and reinstall a 64 bit kernel, try using all i386 options where amd64 is specified.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, thanks for looking :) How did you figure I'm using a 32-bit kernel? See this:

Code:
Rambazamba pips # uname -a
Linux Rambazamba 4.7.4-gentoo #3 SMP Mon Sep 19 22:30:25 CEST 2016 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


So I think this is x86_64, which should be correct, right? I do have CONFIG_64BIT set, so I'd be surprised if this is a 32bit kernel after all. But I might be wrong here, what do you think?
_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pyrates
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2004
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the solution

Quote:
First, you need to set proper keywords for packages in /etc/portage/package.keywords - for live versions that is two lines:

=media-libs/mesa-9999 **
=x11-drivers/xf86-video-amdgpu-9999 **


Everything else is said above (or maybe see the post I linked). Thanks to NilPointer for telling me via PM!

(e) For a follow-up, see https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8010658.html#8010658
_________________
" ... and the Vogon will do things to you that you wish you'd never been born, or, if you're a clearer minded thinker, that the Vogon had never been born."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum