Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
World Of Warcraft Support UPDATED 2016 Edition
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6362
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:44 pm    Post subject: World Of Warcraft Support UPDATED 2016 Edition Reply with quote

I've not had much speed success with my GMA3000 (G965) ... it's barely playable... What FPS are you seeing? You should be able to move around to do quests, but raiding and PVPing is probably out of the question.

My Q43 is also very slow, not much better than the G965... I don't have Windows on either to compare.


--------------

Anyone try playing under GNOME recently?

A recent GNOME update in Gentoo (3.16.4?) seems to make my wasd and movement buttons 'stick' causing overshoot.
Switching to XFCE with no other changes reverts back to "correct" behavior.

Split from World Of Warcraft Support UPDATED DEC31/06! as it was 31 pages.
Moved the sticky bit over too. -- NeddySeagoon

_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6362
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another sigh of relief as 7.0.3 seems to patch/run ok, needed to run Launcher separately for patch. Seems a lot of new graphics options were added for 7.0.3 as well.

I am constantly seeing this:

err:d3d:resource_init Out of adapter memory

This (on fglrx) seems to mesh with the corrupted video I see. However usually it will rectify itself after a while. Probably need to reduce view distance, reduce texture quality, or something...

Anyone try with USE=d3d9 with mesa/wine-1.9.9-r1 or newer?

---
On my HD4000 GPU: Pass

On my Q45 GPU: Fail

fixme:d3d11:D3D11CoreCreateDevice Ignoring feature levels.
fixme:dxgi:dxgi_check_d3d10_support Ignoring adapter type.
fixme:winediag:dxgi_check_d3d10_support Direct3D 10 is not supported on this GPU with the current shader backend.

:-(
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6362
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After the DDoS attacks it seems Blizzard switched over to a new library runtime for battle.net. This caused battle.net to stop working and thus can no longer patch WoW.

I found that emerging app-emulation/winetricks-20160709 and running

winetricks -q vcrun2015

https://github.com/Winetricks/winetricks/issues/575

seems to fix the issue.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 5975

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How you did that? The issue for vcrun2015 is to use the wine internals libraries instead of the MS one.
But as soon as you do that, many internals functions use by battle.net are not yet support and are just mark as stub.

I have patch at least 7 needed functions (_set_terminate, _set_unexpected, vswprintf and family... but i use wine 1.9.14, live should have most of them already), and even with them patch, it still bug elsewhere (kinda worst, because unlike other errors, it doesn't give any real one now and crash without a clue).

Can you provide your wine version and patches you use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6362
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird. I had also bumped to wine 1.9.14-r1 and it worked after using the M$ vcrun2015 minus overflowing adapter memory (which was there all the time from 7.0.3).

Yes this is a workaround, ideally wine should be handling vcrun2015 internally. But apparently Wine's support is still broken/stubbed out. Anecdotal reports is that wine 1.9.9 should have these things fixed but it does not. In fact without the runtime, battle.net running with wine-1.9.14 simply crashes with a segfault (and wine traps them) - and the function it trapped on are also vcrun2015 which tipped me off to install M$ libraries...

Now I don't know what's the easiest way to get rid of these libraries when wine gets these stubs implemented.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6362
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, this might be something people have found a solution to:

My WoW install is now over 55GB. I heard that it should be around 40-42GB. This is due to their "CASC" data storage system unable to garbage collect, so the $WOW/Data/data directory will continue to accumulate 1GB files that will never shrink...

Short of re-download, anyone found a solution to shrink the files down? I suppose having lots of smaller files would be better than having junk around, but of course best if it could have minimum number of 1GB files would be the best.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 5975

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I manage to run battle.net with my patch, however, again, another missing function (__std_type_info_destroy_list) and battle.net crash a few secs later.
Anyone got better?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:17 pm    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Indeed the launcher seems to work here as well, on wine-1.9.16 after 'winetricks -q vcrun2015' (though I only tried offline mode... I can't seem to remember my password at this time (last I logged in happened probably somewhere around 2014)).

A bunch of patches are out already that fix some of the missing things, but not all of them (see for example the most recent bugs listed here: https://bugs.winehq.org/buglist.cgi?quicksearch=battle.net).
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 5975

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm stuck at this one: https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=41086
grep -R std@@QAE@I@Z * | grep stub | wc -l
8
this doesn't really look good :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, that's as far as it goes with built-in stuff at this time. :]

Doesn't 'vcrun2015' help in your case, or did you just prefer not using it?
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 5975

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would prefer not using it, hence the patches need.
But with native support, i'm now able to upgrade the game, but my patches include an update to match 4.9.16 tree now. Battle.net itself keep me offline (which i don't care about).
And now that the game is update, it is running.

If anyone wish them, i have upload them here
files goes in /etc/portage/patches/app-emulation/wine-1.9.14
re-emerge wine 1.9.14 (or -r1)
run winecfg -> set msvcp140 to native.


Last edited by krinn on Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, yeah, I believe it will take a while more at least for all the new issues to be patched up. :\

I got my password issues fixed, and might as well update the client and take a peek into the world of World of Warcraft while at it, since it's been so long from when I last visited (never really played it, but tried a bit when a friend invited me over).
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ceric35
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Hi just updated to wine 1.9.16 (also tested 1.9.14, 1.9.15) with corefonts, vcrun2015 etc...

But battle.net always crash without any error at the end of loading progress. Wine bug report dialog is opened, but empty.

Any clue on this problem ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ceric35,

That is weird.

Could you run it in a terminal emulator, and post the output somewhere (preferably here if it's not super long, pastee.org or similar when longer).

I'm fairly sure the only steps I took were: install Wine 1.9.16, 'winetricks -q vcrun2015', and 'winetricks -q corefonts'.


As for World of Warcraft itself, the 64-bit version seems to produce stack overflows. I'm fairly sure it worked in 2014, but eh, I could remember wrong!

Also curious that OpenGL seems to work very poorly once in-game (it's fine during character/server selection). Graphics are actually nowhere to be seen, unless the graphics settings are lowered to pretty much as low as possible. The FPS it runs at is very low, unplayable-low, too.

Using DirectX, it runs fine with the settings at their maximum levels...

Funky that.
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6362
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think Blizzard deprecated opengl on PC, yes I've been forced to run in D3D mode.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 5975

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm playing opengl it works fine for me. they will never deprecated it as long as they wish a mac version of wow ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ceric35
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
ceric35,

That is weird.

Could you run it in a terminal emulator, and post the output somewhere (preferably here if it's not super long, pastee.org or similar when longer).

I'm fairly sure the only steps I took were: install Wine 1.9.16, 'winetricks -q vcrun2015', and 'winetricks -q corefonts'.


Yes of course.

He is the output of : WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine32 wine "C:\Program Files\Battle.net\Battle.net.exe"
https://pastee.org/ctfyt

But a can now see:
Code:
wine: Unhandled exception 0xc0000417 in thread 24 at address 0xfdc3b4 (thread 0024), starting debugger...


EDIT: reported here : https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=41121
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6362
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2016 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it work in 64-bit mode?

I've found that if your machine can handle 64-bit, you should use it.

Actually nevermind, this is battle.net that you're having problems with. Then again I use the same prefix for 64-bit client and battle.net.

For WoW itself, last I was using a 32 bit on a 32-bit machine with PAE, I kept on running out of memory due to the 4G limit. Even 32 on 64 would suffer the same issue. 64-on-64 finally solved the problem.

You may not run into the memory issue if you're using a simpler graphics card I think... FGLRX is just a memory hog IMHO.

---

speaking of OpenGL, I don't recall why I switched over to D3D. I vaguely recall OpenGL having render issues that were completely fixed in d3d mode, at least on my Sandybridge and/or FGLRX machine...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quite interesting that OpenGL works for some!

I'm using the evil nvidia-drivers here, as nouveau couldn't drive my cards in the past (now I think it can, and I should give them another try soon methinks!).

Also interesting that 64-bit works for at least eccerr0r. You on 1.9.14 still?

(By the by, I'm glad to see that 'app-emulation/winetricks' version '20160709' has been useful! :])

ceric35 wrote:
He is the output of : WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=$HOME/.wine32 wine "C:\Program Files\Battle.net\Battle.net.exe"
https://pastee.org/ctfyt

But a can now see:
Code:
wine: Unhandled exception 0xc0000417 in thread 24 at address 0xfdc3b4 (thread 0024), starting debugger...


EDIT: reported here : https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=41121

Hmmm, I just tried a 32-bit prefix as well, but things seem to work just as they work in a 64-bit one here. I also made note of the differences to running without 'corefonts' installed, and it seems a bit different from your output, so it should be somewhat safe to say that you indeed got them installed!

I guess there is no backtrace even if ran via 'winedbg', hrm. In fact, that seems a bit familiar to when I was trying out the patches.

Is this a clean prefix you've been trying with, and without any of the patches applied that were mentioned here recently?
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ceric35
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried both 32bits & 64bits in a clean prefix.

The error is always the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 5975

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm using 32bits myself, you could try patches i gave earlier, here's my list.
Code:
winetricks dlls list-installed
corefonts
mfc42
vcrun6
vcrun6sp6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6362
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$ winetricks dlls list-installed
------------------------------------------------------
You are using a 64-bit WINEPREFIX. If you encounter problems, please retest in a clean 32-bit WINEPREFIX before reporting a bug.
------------------------------------------------------
Using winetricks 20160628 - sha1sum: 7493a0d67cf0df771c69f72f4503bb9a2c9cf48c with wine-1.9.14
vcrun2015
$ equery list wine
 * Searching for wine ...
[IP-] [  ] app-emulation/wine-1.9.14-r1:0

_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ceric35
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
winetricks dlls list-installed


This display a very huge list :(

But i have tried everythings. A really think i a bug with wine or gentoo or my env, not the installation.[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1403
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ceric35 wrote:
Code:
winetricks dlls list-installed


This display a very huge list :(

That answers my question from a while back:

Chiitoo wrote:
Is this a clean prefix you've been trying with, and without any of the patches applied that were mentioned here recently?

Do note that you don't need to download the whole game to test this with, and you could probably copy the large files from the old one if you were to start using the new prefix (if downloading duplicate data means anything to you).

So please, try with a fresh and clean prefix next so we know where you're at. ^^
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ceric35
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
ceric35 wrote:
Code:
winetricks dlls list-installed


This display a very huge list :(

That answers my question from a while back:


No, on a clean prefix, with corefonts, vcrun2015 installed, this list is huge and does not contains only corefonts or vcrun2015.
This is not the same output as yours:
http://pastebin.com/6wuFEzBg

Maybe this is related to wine staging. But i also tested non staging, this did not solve this problem :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum