Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] KDE-PLASMA Touchpad Supporting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
grg121
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2016 8:46 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] KDE-PLASMA Touchpad Supporting Reply with quote

Hi there, this is my first post in this forum. I've just intalled gentoo and I'm trying to configure it.
Before use gentoo I was using arch linux with kde-plasma 5 and, when I installed it con gentoo I realize that I can't acced to touchpad-configuration on Settings-Imputdevices (when I could on arch).

I've finding and I've found this post:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7878280.html?sid=3f342a9a9fc39a6562d34ef887659844

where I've seen how someone fixed this issue but... I've tried to do it and nothing has changed. Moreover, I've tried to unmerge kde-plasma/plasma-desktop package and merge it again whit the use flag writing:

Quote:
USE="touchpad" merge -a kde-plasma/plasma-desktop

and even editing the /etc/portage/package.use file and merging again but nothing has been fixed.

So... I'm looking for some help because I don't know if my problem is with kde-plasma (I've seen that there are a package named kcm-touchpad but I can't install it because it's not compatible with plasma-desktop) or that I'm not using portage the right way... :/

My next step is to read again portage wiki-page and try to see if I've done something wrong but if someone could help me I would be so gratefull :/

Thank you all!


Last edited by grg121 on Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22337
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In your make.conf you have
Code:
INPUT_DEVICES="synaptics"

use flag touchpad in plasma-desktop is no longer available
Code:
[ebuild   R   ~] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.7.3:5::gentoo  USE="fontconfig gtk2 gtk3 handbook legacy-systray pulseaudio qt4 -debug -ibus (-packagekit) -scim {-test}" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev -synaptics" 0 KiB

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grg121
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, sorry but I cannot fix it...

what I've got of your answer is that I should put

Code:
IMPUT_DEVICE=synaptics"
on my make.conf file (I've done)

but don't understand what do you mean with that last line of code...

I've modified my make.conf and I've made a file /etc/portage/package.use/plasma-desktop where I've wrote:

Code:
kde-plasma/plasma-desktop fontconfig gtk2 gtk3 handbook legacy-systray pulseaudio qt4 -debug -ibus (-packagekit) -scim {-test}" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev -synaptics


Then, I've update (I wish) my system with

Code:
emerge --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse -atv @world



But nothing has changed...

What am I supposed to do? Thank you so much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22337
Location: here

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grg121 wrote:
Code:
IMPUT_DEVICE=synaptics"
on my make.conf file (I've done)

Is a typed error? If not is INPUT_DEVICE not IMPUT_DEVICE

grg121 wrote:
but don't understand what do you mean with that last line of code...

The line was only to show that touchpad use flag no longer available.

grg121 wrote:
I've modified my make.conf and I've made a file /etc/portage/package.use/plasma-desktop where I've wrote:
Code:
kde-plasma/plasma-desktop fontconfig gtk2 gtk3 handbook legacy-systray pulseaudio qt4 -debug -ibus (-packagekit) -scim {-test}" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev -synaptics

Remove this line, the correct way is add INPUT_DEVICE=... in make.conf
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grg121
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh my.

You're absolutely right. It was a typed error...
I've wrote it correctly and it's fixed..

I feel so stupid now :' )

Thank you!! and sorry for the inconveniences...

Now, although I have touch-pad settings... when I'm going to modify them it protest: "No touchpad found"

Nevertheless, my touchpad works since I installed the desktop environment so... I'm going to revise my kernel in order to see if I've the appropriate drivers...

if someone know other possible reason for this issue and want to help I would be grateful.

(I'm going to edit in order to set that as solved)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grg121
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2016
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed! KDE dind't recognized my touchpad because of a lacked driver...

All fixed at least :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum