Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
startx only gives a black screen
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deltamalloc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 6:34 pm    Post subject: startx only gives a black screen Reply with quote

When I do startx and have nothing in my /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d I get no screens found.

If I add a file to specify I want to use radeon, then I get a black screen.

I'm using startx in both cases.

I have followed this guide https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Fglrx to the letter to configure the kernel and install ati-drivers, USE flags are correct.

My Xorg.0.log: http://bpaste.net/show/100576936248

I can also add that if I do X -configure, I get a segmentation fault: http://bpaste.net/show/7b037c6aa501

I've tried to switch to ati-drivers, use an old kernel and reemerge anything I can think of, glibc, xorg, ati-drivers. Tried to recompile the kernel again.

The graphics card works fine hardware wise, it works in Windows without any issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7029
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Black screen is expected when plain Xorg runs with no WM on top of it.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrix_neo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 515
Location: The Maldives

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2016 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need a graphic card....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deltamalloc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Black screen is expected when plain Xorg runs with no WM on top of it.


I have a WM, XFCE4, with SLiM as login manager.

Also, not having a WM shouldn't give you a segmentation fault when running X -configure, even if the command is deprecated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7029
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So how do you start your WM, you told us you use startx, it will not look for your WM unless configured properly.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deltamalloc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
So how do you start your WM, you told us you use startx, it will not look for your WM unless configured properly.


startx with exec startxfce4 in ~/.xinitrc, but I also have twm and xterm installed, and if I omit .xinitrc startx will start twm by default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PseudoKrazy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Posts: 130
Location: USA/NJ

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delta, I am having the same exact issue; made another post on this topic not realizing you had already posted.

Did you ever resolve this?

EDIT: I fixed this by updating to the latest version of the AMD drivers: "emerge -a =x11-drivers/ati-drivers-15.12-r1" and rebooting. Remember to set VIDEO_CARDS="fglrx" in the make.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum