Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Anyway to install kde 4 on fresh install of Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
voncloft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:08 am    Post subject: Anyway to install kde 4 on fresh install of Gentoo Reply with quote

It seems Gentoo is becoming "less customizable" with software, in particular KDE 5.

I have tried to use the new KDE 5 plasma, but can never get the eselect opengl nvidia set to work, I get the black screen of death - I can only get it to work via kde 4 (I have searched the forums and google with no fix in sight - no optimus is used just a plain nvidia gtx 960 card is used).

I searched overlays of gentoo, and the portage tree itself, but it looks like kde 4 is no longer available.

Before I leave gentoo once and for all (that is a deal breaker: no kde 4 = me leaving and switching to linux mint 17.3 (it has linux 4 and is supported until 2019 - has a few bugs with it but is manageable)) OR I might go to linux from scratch (basically it is gentoo but I would be the package manager :-/) is there anyway to install kde 4 and keep it on there until I see fit to install kde 5 on my own fresh system again.

KDE 5 is too buggy for me to use in my own personal opinion - and do not think it is ready for release.

Thanks

Note: I have tried the best I can to be as professional about this topic as possible - please do the same.


Last edited by voncloft on Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7132
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE#Plasma_4

Plasma-4 is certainly available, what problem do you have with KDE Applications? Anyway, there also is https://gitweb.gentoo.org/proj/kde-sunset.git/
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic


Last edited by asturm on Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:53 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voncloft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/de#Plasma_4

Plasma-4 is certainly available, what problem do you have with KDE Applications?


so basically kde-base is the only option as of now (that will prevent plasma? - I don't want to spend hours installing the system when I get home from work, only to find "welp thats not gonna work" and waste 4-5 hours)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7132
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Certainly having Plasma-4 installed will prevent Plasma-5. But why exactly do you want to reinstall?

Btw plenty of Nvidia users successfully run Plasma-5, so I'm really wondering what's going wrong in your case.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voncloft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to do a fresh reinstall recently - for unrelated reasons, i tried to install kde - got kde 5 so I figured I would try it out.

It only worked with eselect opengl x11 set

not nvidia

everytime nvidia is selected a black screen appears for login (tried sddm and lightdm - neither worked; searched high and low for multiple solutions, never worked)

It may work for others, - not sure how they made it work, but I know how to get kde 4 to work - and I want to stick to it as long as I can.

I am currently at work and won't be able to debug for another 8 hours sadly :-/

I'll take kde 4 as long as the desktop effects are availalbe (eg: wobbly windows and desktop cube)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7132
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE 4 is dead, you'll get Plasma-4 (which was part of it) and KDE Applications.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voncloft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok thanks for the info - I will be moving to linux from scratch; where I make all the calls lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7132
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that's what I've been talking about all the time (while not quite seeing the issue with using KDE Applications). But didn't you see the kde-sunset.git link above?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voncloft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes but I cannot determine if it is kde 4 or 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7132
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please forget about "KDE 4" or "KDE 5". In tree, you have the choice of Plasma-4 and Plasma-5, and then there are KDE Applications which are universally usable.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voncloft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I've never really thought about the plasma aspect of it I always called them kde4/5 - the working parts to me are basically : it works or it doesn't, the moving pieces to me are like are a car - don't know how it works...but it works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7132
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A car also has plenty of replaceable parts.

I think the guide has that really well covered: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE

Also: https://blogs.gentoo.org/kensington/2015/08/28/theres-no-such-thing-as-kde-5-and-its-status-on-gentoo/
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voncloft
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
A car also has plenty of replaceable parts.


True but when it breaks, I take it to the shop - I don't have a garage so why bother learning about it.

As for linux - I am becoming more and more to the conclusion I should just be the package manager and not rely on group decisions for the "better good"

I will take a look at the guides provided....but more than likely I will be going to LFS.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7132
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works for other people: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7945356.html#7945356
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

voncloft wrote:
Ok, I've never really thought about the plasma aspect of it I always called them kde4/5 - the working parts to me are basically : it works or it doesn't, the moving pieces to me are like are a car - don't know how it works...but it works

Are you perhaps dabbling in the wrong distro?.
Plasma 5 is indeed crap especially if you have a multiscreen setup, do not touch it.
I speak from experience.
Going from plasma 5 to plasma 4 is easy if you follow the wiki.
Also put all the kde-apps you want in a set (say @kde-apps) and emerge the set.
You will be up and running in no time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidbrooke
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2015
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

voncloft wrote:
I had to do a fresh reinstall recently - for unrelated reasons, i tried to install kde - got kde 5 so I figured I would try it out.
It only worked with eselect opengl x11 set
not nvidia
everytime nvidia is selected a black screen appears for login (tried sddm and lightdm - neither worked; searched high and low for multiple solutions, never worked)

This is the process I follow to get Nvidia to work with KDE plasma 5:
Code:
11. emerge -av xorg-drivers xorg-x11 x11-wm/twm x11-terms/xterm
12. env-update && source /etc/profile
13. eselect opengl set nvidia && eselect opencl set nvidia
14. nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/nvidia.conf
 Section "Device"
   Identifier  "nvidia"
   Driver      "nvidia"
 EndSection
15. reboot
16. startx (make sure xorg works)
17. reboot
18. emerge -av plasma-meta kde-apps-meta (install kde)
20. nano /etc/conf.d/xdm
***DISPLAYMANAGER="sddm"
21. rc-update add xdm default
22. usermod -a -G video sddm  (needed for login screen)
23. nano /home/username/.xinitrc
***exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session startkde
24. reboot


Note item 22...this is usually the step that is missed for the black screen login problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum