Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] KDE 5 and scim
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sam_i_am
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:37 pm    Post subject: [solved] KDE 5 and scim Reply with quote

Hi,

I've been running KDE 5 for a few months (currently on testing: KF5 5.24, plasma 5.7.3, KDE Applications 16.04.3). Ever since I moved to KDE5, my SCIM setup has stopped working. scim-panel is running on the system tray and shows different keyboard layouts that I have and selecting them show the appropriate keyboard icon on system tray.

However, it has no effect keyboard input and I only get English characters regardless of what keyboard I choose.

I have following on my .xinitrc:
Code:
export XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM"
export XIM_PROGRAM="scim -d"

export QT4_IM_MODULE=scim-bridge
export QT_IM_MODULE=scim-bridge
export QT_IM_SWITCHER=scim-bridge
export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim-bridge"

export LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"


Does anyone have a working scim setup with KDE 5? Any tips on getting SCIM to work would be great. I'll even volunteer to put it on Gentoo wiki if I can get it working.

[edit] Forgot to mention that I've scoured the internet for anything related to KDE 5, Qt 5 and SCIM and didn't find anything that helped.

Thanks
_________________
Sam


Last edited by sam_i_am on Fri Aug 05, 2016 6:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kensington
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2013
Posts: 175
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to double-check, kde-plasma/plasma-desktop is built with USE="scim"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sam_i_am
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. plasma-desktop is built with scim use flag.
_________________
Sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sam_i_am
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to Arfrever, I managed to get it working with fcitx. Instructions for fcitx on Gentoo wiki are spot on. In addition to fcitx, I had to emerge fcitx-qt5, kcm-fcitx and the keyboard layout that I needed (fcitx-sayura in my case). Since the latter are still not part of portage tree, I had to add necromancy-overlay. Other than that, everything just worked.

Finally I can get rid of scim
_________________
Sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum