Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No desktop effects in Plasma 5.6 [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mani001
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 354
Location: Oleiros

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 9:48 am    Post subject: No desktop effects in Plasma 5.6 [solved] Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm trying to get Plasma effects/compositor to work in Plasma 5.6 over proprietary nvidia drivers 361.28...is this working for anyone? Any USE flags or Xorg settings needed? Seemingly, composite is enabled
Quote:

root@ ~ $grep -i compos /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[ 65.028] (**) Extension "Composite" is enabled

but when I press Alt-Shift-F12 nothing happens. Checking "Enabling compositor at startup" in Plasma settings doesn't help either.

I tried enabling egl (but not gles2) but it didn't help.

This used to work just fine in the past (I had disabled this some time ago to avoid issues with Steam), but not anymore

Any clues?


Last edited by mani001 on Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:52 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 554
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hej,

is the nvidia module loaded properly?
What does glxinfo show?
Any errors in your xorg log?

Did you check the settings in the KDE "System settings -> Desktop Behavior -> Desktop Effects" and "System settings -> Display and Monitor -> Compositor"

Cheers,
Bjoern
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mani001
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 354
Location: Oleiros

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, all of the sudden it's working (Alt-Shift F12 and everything), and the only thing I did that I had not tried before is

Quote:

kwin_x11 --replace


from krunner (I know, it does not make much sense :roll: )

Sooo, I'm marking this as solved and sorry for the noise.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 554
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Happy it works for you now.

Cheers,
Björn
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum