Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
awesome3.5 wm can't clickable
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
83657664
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 9:40 pm    Post subject: awesome3.5 wm can't clickable Reply with quote

hi,
when i install some software,
my home power are down,
so without batter my laptop is shutdown too.
so i boot my pc again,
the awesome startmenu can't click,can't popup,click tab 1-9 not responsed too.(reboot,same error)
but win+R ,input firefox.my mouse can click website,
but use keyboard ,win+1,win+9.and win+w ,the startmenu popup.
so my mouse and keyboard works fine,
where is the error cause that problem?
should i remerge os?
help!!!
tks!!


Last edited by 83657664 on Fri Jul 29, 2016 3:56 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7134
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2016 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you were in the middle of merging software and it crashes/power outage, you should emerge --resume and let it finish, hopefully it's in a state where it can clean up and finish what it had partially done. Else you may have to re-emerge all those packages again...

Try creating a new user and see if that account also has problems too... just to check to make sure it's a software build or customization issue...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
83657664
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
If you were in the middle of merging software and it crashes/power outage, you should emerge --resume and let it finish, hopefully it's in a state where it can clean up and finish what it had partially done. Else you may have to re-emerge all those packages again...

Try creating a new user and see if that account also has problems too... just to check to make sure it's a software build or customization issue...

remerge..........
it is took so long time,
i can not take it any more,
so i downgrade from awesome 3.5 to 3.4
it works great,
just don't upload unstable version to The main branch。
eccerr0r,
thank u for you reply!!!!
let's rock again. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
franzf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 Mar 2005
Posts: 4408

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

83657664 wrote:
eccerr0r wrote:
If you were in the middle of merging software and it crashes/power outage, you should emerge --resume and let it finish, hopefully it's in a state where it can clean up and finish what it had partially done. Else you may have to re-emerge all those packages again...

Try creating a new user and see if that account also has problems too... just to check to make sure it's a software build or customization issue...

remerge..........
it is took so long time,
i can not take it any more,

not remerge but resume - emerge --resume will try to continue the last unfinished emerge. That is not really alot to do, and as you would have been OK with the initial "software install" you should be OK with the --resume.

Quote:
so i downgrade from awesome 3.5 to 3.4
it works great,
just don't upload unstable version to The main branch。
eccerr0r,
thank u for you reply!!!!
let's rock again. :D

So you most likely just have updated from awesome version 3.4 to 3.5. AFAIK there changed alot and it is likely just your awesome config isn't compatible with 3.5.
Try updating to 3.5 again and start awesome with the default config:
Code:
awesome -c /etc/xdg/awesome/rc.lua

If it works you might want to either start your config from the 3.5-default or try to update only the incompatible parts from your current config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
83657664
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

franzf wrote:
83657664 wrote:
eccerr0r wrote:
If you were in the middle of merging software and it crashes/power outage, you should emerge --resume and let it finish, hopefully it's in a state where it can clean up and finish what it had partially done. Else you may have to re-emerge all those packages again...

Try creating a new user and see if that account also has problems too... just to check to make sure it's a software build or customization issue...

remerge..........
it is took so long time,
i can not take it any more,

not remerge but resume - emerge --resume will try to continue the last unfinished emerge. That is not really alot to do, and as you would have been OK with the initial "software install" you should be OK with the --resume.

Quote:
so i downgrade from awesome 3.5 to 3.4
it works great,
just don't upload unstable version to The main branch。
eccerr0r,
thank u for you reply!!!!
let's rock again. :D

So you most likely just have updated from awesome version 3.4 to 3.5. AFAIK there changed alot and it is likely just your awesome config isn't compatible with 3.5.
Try updating to 3.5 again and start awesome with the default config:
Code:
awesome -c /etc/xdg/awesome/rc.lua

If it works you might want to either start your config from the 3.5-default or try to update only the incompatible parts from your current config.


franzf,
hello,
i think a lot of way to find reason to cause this,
first,it's not awesome error,
when i boot to the system,
wm awesome is fine,
when i click firefox or any other apps,
scim pop out,
wm awesome can not clickable,
i just add some code in /etc/profile:
export XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM"
export GTK_IM_MODULE=scim
export QT_IM_MODULE=scim
export XIM_PROGRAM=SCIM
export XIM=SCIM

how do i to setup inputmethod in a right way?
may i ask why input method cause wm awesome can not clickable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum