Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Setting up wireless networking
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evoweiss,

Please post dmesg, after you have started wlan0.

You don't have a transmitter on off control on your wireless interface, so that
Code:
rfkill: Cannot open RFKILL control device
is probably harmless.

rfkill is part userspace and part kernel. It allows to read and write the state of an assortment of radio transmitter controls.

Code:
 * WARNING: net.wlan0 has started, but is inactive
is OK.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Sorry for not getting back to this earlier. It's been a busy week (to put it mildly).

Anyway, what I'm seeing is:

Code:

[489497.665471] wlan0: authenticate with 80:a1:d7:91:38:59
[489497.845656] wlan0: send auth to 80:a1:d7:91:38:59 (try 1/3)
[489497.847722] wlan0: authenticated
[489497.847955] rt2500usb 1-1.4:1.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[489497.847961] rt2500usb 1-1.4:1.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[489497.851716] wlan0: associate with 80:a1:d7:91:38:59 (try 1/3)
[489497.854694] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 80:a1:d7:91:38:59 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=1)
[489497.859649] wlan0: associated


Best,

Alex

NeddySeagoon wrote:
evoweiss,

Please post dmesg, after you have started wlan0.

You don't have a transmitter on off control on your wireless interface, so that
Code:
rfkill: Cannot open RFKILL control device
is probably harmless.

rfkill is part userspace and part kernel. It allows to read and write the state of an assortment of radio transmitter controls.

Code:
 * WARNING: net.wlan0 has started, but is inactive
is OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1360
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should show both
Code:
ip route list
cat /etc/resolv.conf


According to dmesg, wlan0 is associated to the access point with the MAC address 80:a1:d7:91:38:59 . So, if a dhcp request have been made on wlan0, the ip route should show something. But, if you have made a dhcp request on eth0 too, you may have a route problem.

What are eth0 and wlan0 for? Which one give you Internet access?
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,

I created wlan0 based on the earlier advice in this thread. If I stop net.eth0 and start net.wlan0 wireless works. Is there a way to set up both?

Also, weirdly, my router sticker reports a different MAC address (by one character) than the actual one. The MAC address provided by my router's web application seems to suggest that the sticker is wrong, too.

Best,

Alex

Logicien wrote:
You should show both
Code:
ip route list
cat /etc/resolv.conf


According to dmesg, wlan0 is associated to the access point with the MAC address 80:a1:d7:91:38:59 . So, if a dhcp request have been made on wlan0, the ip route should show something. But, if you have made a dhcp request on eth0 too, you may have a route problem.

What are eth0 and wlan0 for? Which one give you Internet access?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

evoweiss,

There are several ways to set up both wired and wireless networking.

a) fallback
b) as a bond
c) using wired if its plugged in

fallback prefers one over the other.
bonding needs kernel and router support and uses both transports at the same time.
ifplugd keeps an eye on the wired carrier and uses wired if if can.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evoweiss
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 1676
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect ifplugd is the way to go in my case.

Currently wireless seems to work fine. I used rc-update delete net.eth0 to remove the wired connection and then ran rc-update add net.wlan0 default to get that going automatically. I get a warning about postfix and fetchmail not starting because the connection wasn't made yet, but they ultimate start up and run fine (or so it seems).

My conf.d/net file is as follows:

Code:

modules_eth0="dhcpcd"
config_eth0="dhcp"

modules="wpa_supplicant dhcpcd"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-D nl80211"
config_wlan0="dhcp"


My wpa_supplicant.conf file is exactly like yours save all the password stuff.

Is there anything I need to change to get ifplugd working?

Also, any suggestion as to how one can prevent ARP spoofing? I think I had been attacked.

Best,

Alex

NeddySeagoon wrote:
evoweiss,

There are several ways to set up both wired and wireless networking.

a) fallback
b) as a bond
c) using wired if its plugged in

fallback prefers one over the other.
bonding needs kernel and router support and uses both transports at the same time.
ifplugd keeps an eye on the wired carrier and uses wired if if can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

evoweiss,

Its been a long time, ifplugd is still around. When you
Code:
emerge sys-apps/ifplugd
it comes with some instructions.

Also, if you edit /etc/rc.conf you can tell the system that either eth0 or wlan0 provides networking and not to start any of them automatically.
That allows you manual control of bringing networking up and down. That's what I do on my netbook, where I also have usb0, which is my phone when its tethered.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum