View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lowley
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 6:17 pm    Post subject: X11 error: "(KMS) drm report modesetting isn't supporte Reply with quote

hello

I am a newbie about gentoo and I'm trying to install gentoo on an old computer.
the computer is a dell inspiron 5150c, with a video card ATI Radeon X600.

during the installation of gentoo, I decided to set the profile to ".../desktop/plasma", I updated the @world (which took me 1 day!), and got a brand new gentoo in console mode.

I would like to swap to plasma, and for this I read I had to install X11.

it is now installed, but I can't start it using "startx", because I get this error:

Quote:
gentoo ~ # startx
xauth: file /root/.serverauth.3133 does not exist

X.Org X Server 1.17.4
Release Date: 2015-10-28
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 4.4.6-gentoo x86_64 Gentoo
Current Operating System: Linux gentoo 4.4.6-gentoo #1 SMP Wed Jul 20 23:18:27 2016 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.4.6-gentoo root=UUID=5c24430c-c6e8-4154-9480-4c456132a8da ro
Build Date: 22 July 2016 02:28:17PM

Current version of pixman: 0.32.8
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Fri Jul 22 19:58:04 2016
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(II) [KMS] drm report modesetting isn't supported.
(EE)
Fatal server error:
(EE) no screens found(EE)
(EE)
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.x.org
for help.