Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] KDE/Plasma without menu?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:23 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] KDE/Plasma without menu? Reply with quote

Recently I had upgraded to KDE/Plasma and it worked ok,
However after last system updating (last week), I am facing these issues:
There is no Menu at all and mouse is stuck.
I tried to follow this wiki and changed to 'true' but still same issues:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/Plasma_5_upgrade#Missing application menus (users of x11-misc/appmenu-qt)

Do not know if it i srelevant, but I switched from Intel graphics on board card to ATI/Radeon.
LXDE is working ok.
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”


Last edited by pmam on Fri Jul 22, 2016 9:52 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I see that this issue has to do with switching to ATI/Radeon graphics card -
I pulled out Radeon card and with Intel on board graphics there is no problem with KDE/Plasma.
Please advise how to work it out with Radeon?
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK - I followed this wiki: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/Plasma_5_upgrade#Troubleshooting
So I added these USE flags:
Code:
echo "kde-plasma/plasma-desktop legacy-systray gtk2 gtk3 qt4" >> /etc/portage/package.use

Finally, after system updating, problem was solved and I have nice KDE/plasma with Menu... :)
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so, by menu you actually mean legacy systray using applications?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
so, by menu you actually mean legacy systray using applications?

I really do not know about 'legacy systray' - all I can say is that:
After installing ATI/Radeon graphics card, I logged in to KDE/Plasma and there was no menu and there were no icons.
Then I tried to pull out ATI/Radeon and found out that there is no problem with Intel on board graphics card.
So I Added all those USE flags and after updating system the problem was solved.
I am even not sure if I properly updated the system before adding those USE flags -
maybe I executed updating with --exclude libreoffice - perhaps libreoffice has to do with menu and icons...
So there is a possibility that only was needed a full updating, without adding USE flags.
Hope this info may help a little...
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't possibly mean the K menu? It has nothing to do with legacy-systray, neither with libreoffice.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1631
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmam, are you talking about the application launcher menu on the left hand side in the screenshot at the link below? Or are you talking about the System Tray icons on the Panel on the right hand side in the screenshot at the link below?

https://www.kde.org/announcements/plasma5.0/screenshots/desktop.png
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmam
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 1145

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
pmam, are you talking about the application launcher menu on the left hand side in the screenshot at the link below?

I am talking about the launcher menu. Actually I did not have any icons or panel at the bottom side of the screen,
so I did not have system tray as well... and the mouse was stuck
_________________
“You can take our property, our sweet homes, even our cloths...
But don't touch the streets, Ah, That's NO, NO, NO!
The streets are our @world's compilable kernel ...”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then by upgrading (or rebuilding with -N) your system you solved a problem regardless of legacy-systray. Either something has been missing or it set some other important use flags straight.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum