Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] KDE5 - Plasma shell/windows not rendering
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gargoylle_ltk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:48 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] KDE5 - Plasma shell/windows not rendering Reply with quote

I recently did a clean reinstall of my Gentoo system. I'm currently running the following stack:
Code:
*  sys-kernel/gentoo-sources
      Latest version available: 4.6.3
      Latest version installed: 4.6.3

*  x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers
      Latest version available: 367.27
      Latest version installed: 367.27

*  dev-qt/qtwidgets
      Latest version available: 5.6.1
      Latest version installed: 5.6.1

*  kde-plasma/plasma-desktop
      Latest version available: 5.7.0
      Latest version installed: 5.7.0

(obviously the rest of the Qt packages are also 5.6.1)

Whenever I log into a Plasma session I get this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNCw6R0P8dY

Basically:
  • the background is stuck showing the SDDM login screen as it is just before plasmashell starts
  • all Plasma (QML?) windows do not render (you can see me opening the Desktop Settings dialog and also trying to use KRunner - which does work but doesn't render correctly; you can also see me hovering the taskbar but that doesn't render either)
  • all 'normal' windows render and work just fine
  • desktop effects/compositing works fine


It's also worth mentioning that for whatever reason when going into System Settings -> Display and Monitor -> Compositor I only get "EGL" as an option in the "OpenGL interface" dropdown (was expecting at least "GLX" as well but that's not there for whatever reason.)

My full 'emerge --info' is as follows:
Code:
Portage 2.3.0 (python 3.4.4-final-0, default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma/systemd, gcc-5.4.0, glibc-2.23-r2, 4.6.3-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-4.6.3-gentoo-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i7-6700K_CPU_@_4.00GHz-with-gentoo-2.2
KiB Mem:    65945876 total,  59975296 free
KiB Swap:          0 total,         0 free
Timestamp of repository gentoo: Tue, 05 Jul 2016 20:00:01 +0000
sh bash 4.3_p46
ld GNU ld (Gentoo 2.25.1 p1.1) 2.25.1
app-shells/bash:          4.3_p46::gentoo
dev-lang/perl:            5.24.0-r1::gentoo
dev-lang/python:          2.7.11-r2::gentoo, 3.4.4::gentoo
dev-util/cmake:           3.5.2-r1::gentoo
dev-util/pkgconfig:       0.29.1::gentoo
sys-apps/baselayout:      2.2-r1::gentoo
sys-apps/openrc:          0.21.1::gentoo
sys-apps/sandbox:         2.10-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/autoconf:       2.13::gentoo, 2.69-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/automake:       1.13.4-r1::gentoo, 1.14.1-r1::gentoo, 1.15-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/binutils:       2.25.1-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc:            5.3.0::gentoo, 5.4.0::gentoo
sys-devel/gcc-config:     1.8-r1::gentoo
sys-devel/libtool:        2.4.6-r2::gentoo
sys-devel/make:           4.2.1::gentoo
sys-kernel/linux-headers: 4.6::gentoo (virtual/os-headers)
sys-libs/glibc:           2.23-r2::gentoo
Repositories:

gentoo
    location: /usr/portage
    sync-type: rsync
    sync-uri: rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage
    priority: -1000

steam-overlay
    location: /var/lib/layman/steam-overlay
    masters: gentoo
    priority: 50

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA google-chrome TeamViewer"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -march=native"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/config /usr/share/gnupg/qualified.txt"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/dconf /etc/env.d /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -march=native"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FCFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs config-protect-if-modified distlocks ebuild-locks fixlafiles merge-sync news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv usersandbox usersync xattr"
FFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"
LANG="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ALL="en_US.UTF-8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
MAKEOPTS="-j6"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --omit-dir-times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --human-readable --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages --exclude=/.git"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
USE="X a52 aac acl acpi aes alsa amd64 avx avx2 berkdb bluetooth branding bzip2 cairo cdda cdr cli cracklib crypt cups cxx dbus declarative dri dts dvd dvdr egl emboss encode exif fam firefox flac fma3 fortran gdbm gif glamor gles gles1 gles2 gpm gstreamer gtk iconv ipv6 jpeg kipi lcms ldap libnotify mad mmx mmxext mng modules mp3 mp4 mpeg multilib ncurses networkmanager nls nptl ogg openal openconnect opengl openmp pam pango pcre pdf phonon plasma png policykit popcnt ppds pulseaudio qml qt5 readline sdl seccomp semantic-desktop session spell sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssl ssse3 startup-notification svg systemd tcpd tiff truetype udev udisks unicode upower usb vdpau vorbis wayland widgets wxwidgets x264 xattr xcb xcomposite xinerama xml xorg xscreensaver xv xvid zlib" ABI_X86="64 32" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" APACHE2_MODULES="authn_core authz_core socache_shmcb unixd actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" CALLIGRA_FEATURES="kexi words flow plan sheets stage tables krita karbon braindump author" CAMERAS="ptp2" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2 fma3 mmx mmxext popcnt sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ublox ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LIBREOFFICE_EXTENSIONS="presenter-console presenter-minimizer" LINGUAS="en ro" OFFICE_IMPLEMENTATION="libreoffice" PHP_TARGETS="php5-5" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_4" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby23" USERLAND="GNU" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CC, CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, CXX, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, USE_PYTHON


Last edited by gargoylle_ltk on Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remove any mention of gles* from your USE flags.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gargoylle_ltk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Remove any mention of gles* from your USE flags.

That did it (mostly) - after rebuilding a bunch of Qt packages I now have Plasma rendering correctly. There's one more package - qtmultimedia - that is failing to build with the new flags however:
Code:
x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-g++ -Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -Wl,--no-undefined -fuse-ld=gold -Wl,--enable-new-dtags -Wl,-rpath-link,/usr/lib64 -shared -o libgstcamerabin.so .obj/camerabinserviceplugin.o .obj/camerabinservice.o .obj/camerabinsession.o .obj/camerabincontrol.o .obj/camerabinaudioencoder.o .obj/camerabincontainer.o .obj/camerabinimagecapture.o .obj/camerabinimageencoder.o .obj/camerabinzoom.o .obj/camerabinimageprocessing.o .obj/camerabinmetadata.o .obj/camerabinrecorder.o .obj/camerabinvideoencoder.o .obj/camerabinresourcepolicy.o .obj/camerabincapturedestination.o .obj/camerabinviewfindersettings.o .obj/camerabinviewfindersettings2.o .obj/camerabincapturebufferformat.o .obj/camerabininfocontrol.o .obj/camerabinexposure.o .obj/camerabinflash.o .obj/camerabinfocus.o .obj/camerabinlocks.o .obj/camerabinv4limageprocessing.o .obj/moc_camerabinserviceplugin.o .obj/moc_camerabinservice.o .obj/moc_camerabinsession.o .obj/moc_camerabincontrol.o .obj/moc_camerabinaudioencoder.o .obj/moc_camerabinimageencoder.o .obj/moc_camerabinrecorder.o .obj/moc_camerabincontainer.o .obj/moc_camerabinimagecapture.o .obj/moc_camerabinzoom.o .obj/moc_camerabinimageprocessing.o .obj/moc_camerabinmetadata.o .obj/moc_camerabinvideoencoder.o .obj/moc_camerabinresourcepolicy.o .obj/moc_camerabincapturedestination.o .obj/moc_camerabincapturebufferformat.o .obj/moc_camerabinviewfindersettings.o .obj/moc_camerabinviewfindersettings2.o .obj/moc_camerabininfocontrol.o .obj/moc_camerabinfocus.o .obj/moc_camerabinexposure.o .obj/moc_camerabinflash.o .obj/moc_camerabinlocks.o .obj/moc_camerabinv4limageprocessing.o  -lqgsttools_p -L/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1/work/qtmultimedia-opensource-src-5.6.1/lib -lGLESv2 -lgstphotography-1.0 -lgstaudio-1.0 -lgstvideo-1.0 -lgstpbutils-1.0 -lgstapp-1.0 -lgstbase-1.0 -lgstreamer-1.0 -lgobject-2.0 -lglib-2.0 -lQt5MultimediaWidgets -lQt5Multimedia -lQt5Widgets -lQt5Gui -lQt5Network -lQt5Core -lGL -lpthread 
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/5.4.0/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld.gold: error: cannot find -lGLESv2
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[4]: *** [Makefile:221: ../../../../plugins/mediaservice/libgstcamerabin.so] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1/work/qtmultimedia-opensource-src-5.6.1/src/plugins/gstreamer/camerabin'
make[3]: *** [Makefile:71: sub-camerabin-make_first] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1/work/qtmultimedia-opensource-src-5.6.1/src/plugins/gstreamer'
make[2]: *** [Makefile:97: sub-gstreamer-make_first] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1/work/qtmultimedia-opensource-src-5.6.1/src/plugins'
make[1]: *** [Makefile:178: sub-plugins-make_first] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1/work/qtmultimedia-opensource-src-5.6.1/src'
make: *** [Makefile:45: sub-src-make_first] Error 2

Not exactly sure why it's still looking for libGLESv2:
Code:
emerge qtmultimedia -vp

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1:5/5.6::gentoo  USE="alsa gstreamer openal pulseaudio qml widgets -debug -gles2* -gstreamer010 {-test}" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

As for gstreamer:
Code:
qlist -IC media-libs/gst | xargs emerge -vp

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/gstreamer-1.6.3:1.0::gentoo  USE="caps introspection nls orc {-test}" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/gst-plugins-base-1.6.3:1.0::gentoo  USE="X alsa introspection nls ogg orc pango vorbis -ivorbis -theora" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/gst-plugins-bad-1.6.3:1.0::gentoo  USE="X egl gtk introspection nls opengl orc -gles2 {-test} -vcd -vnc -wayland" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/gst-plugins-good-1.6.3:1.0::gentoo  USE="nls orc" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/gst-plugins-ugly-1.6.3:1.0::gentoo  USE="nls orc" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB

Total: 5 packages (5 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 0 KiB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe try without ccache.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Put -gles -gles2 in your USE variable and do an emerge -puDN world. Glamor glitches out with those useflags, and don't use the "Re-use screen content" VSync option. What graphics card do you use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gargoylle_ltk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Maybe try without ccache.

I don't have ccache enabled (I have never used it unless it's somehow enabled by default nowadays).

gorg86 wrote:
Put -gles -gles2 in your USE variable and do an emerge -puDN world.

I already did (that's how I rebuilt the packages in the first place).
gorg86 wrote:
Glamor glitches out with those useflags, and don't use the "Re-use screen content" VSync option.

As I said before the rendering glitches are now gone (since genstorm suggested that I remove the GLES USE flags and I rebuilt Mesa and (most of the) Qt packages)
gorg86 wrote:
What graphics card do you use?

GTX 980ti.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobWya
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2012
Posts: 227
Location: Cambridge,UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe try these steps??
  1. unmerge dev-qt/qtmultimedia initially.
    Code:
    emerge --unmerge =dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1

  2. Rebuild the depgraph qt libraries from:
    Code:
     * dependency graph for dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1
     `--  dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1  M[package.mask]
       `--  dev-qt/qtcore-5.6.1  (~dev-qt/qtcore-5.6.1) M[package.mask]
       `--  dev-qt/qtgui-5.6.1  (~dev-qt/qtgui-5.6.1) M[package.mask]  [gles2=]
       `--  dev-qt/qtnetwork-5.6.1  (~dev-qt/qtnetwork-5.6.1) M[package.mask]
       `--  media-libs/alsa-lib-1.1.1  (media-libs/alsa-lib) ~amd64
       `--  dev-libs/glib-2.48.1  (dev-libs/glib) ~amd64
       `--  media-libs/gstreamer-1.8.2  (media-libs/gstreamer) ~amd64
       `--  media-libs/gst-plugins-bad-1.8.2  (media-libs/gst-plugins-bad) ~amd64
       `--  media-libs/gst-plugins-base-1.8.2  (media-libs/gst-plugins-base) ~amd64
       `--  media-libs/gstreamer-0.10.36-r2  (media-libs/gstreamer) amd64
       `--  media-libs/gst-plugins-bad-0.10.23-r3  (media-libs/gst-plugins-bad) amd64
       `--  media-libs/gst-plugins-base-0.10.36-r2  (media-libs/gst-plugins-base) amd64
       `--  media-sound/pulseaudio-9.0  (media-sound/pulseaudio) ~amd64
       `--  dev-qt/qtdeclarative-5.6.1-r1  (~dev-qt/qtdeclarative-5.6.1) M[package.mask]
       `--  media-libs/openal-1.17.2  (media-libs/openal) ~amd64
       `--  dev-qt/qtopengl-5.6.1  (~dev-qt/qtopengl-5.6.1) M[package.mask]
       `--  dev-qt/qtwidgets-5.6.1  (~dev-qt/qtwidgets-5.6.1) M[package.mask]  [gles2=]
       `--  x11-proto/videoproto-2.3.3  (x11-proto/videoproto) ~amd64
       `--  dev-lang/perl-5.24.0-r1  (dev-lang/perl) ~amd64
       `--  virtual/pkgconfig-0-r1  (virtual/pkgconfig) amd64
       `--  dev-qt/qttest-5.6.1  (~dev-qt/qttest-5.6.1) M[package.mask]
       `--  dev-qt/qtchooser-0_p20151008  (dev-qt/qtchooser) amd64
    [ dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1 stats: packages (22), max depth (1) ]

  3. Then have another crack at rebuilding dev-qt/qtmultimedia:
    Code:
    emerge -1 -v =dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.6.1

    (Look - I'm learning about not polluting the Portage world file!! :wink: )


Bob
_________________
system: G751JT (ASUS-NotebookSKU); processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4710HQ CPU @ 2.50GHz; memory: 32GiB System Memory; display: GM204M [GeForce GTX 970M]; disk: 2048GB Samsung SSD 850;BD-CMB UJ172 S;1024GB Samsung SSD 850
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gargoylle_ltk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2016 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally got qtmultimedia to build by setting:
/etc/portage/make.conf
Code:
USE="... -gles -gles1 -gles2 ..."

/etc/portage/package.use/mesa
Code:
media-libs/mesa ... gles2 ...

and then running
Code:
emerge --update --newuse --deep --with-bdeps=y --keep-going @world

This looks to me as a bug in either the qtmultimedia ebuild (it doesn't properly configure the build to not link to libGLESv2 when -gles2 is set) or in the upstream build (it tries to always link to libGLESv2 regardless of how it's configured).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum