Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Blank screen running X [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:30 am    Post subject: Blank screen running X [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hello,

I am having trouble getting X working on Gentoo for a week now. I have tried everything I could find on the net and I think I need someones help now. I must have misconfigured something. It works from the liveusb and I also tried LinuxMint, it works there as well.

When I run startx I just get a blank screen (without the mouse pointer)

This is my config:
Code:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout"
    Screen 0 "nvidia"
    Inactive "intel"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "intel"
    Driver "intel"
    BusID "PCI:0@0:2:0"
    Option "AccelMethod" "SNA"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "intel"
    Device "intel"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    #Driver "intel"
    BusID "PCI:1@0:0:0"
    Option "ConstrainCursor" "off"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Device "nvidia"
    Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration" "on"
    Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "CRT"
EndSection


The corresponding log:
Code:
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log

http://hastebin.com/ihuyodadan.vhdl

More config details:
Code:
emerge --info

http://hastebin.com/aqegeqacag.md

Code:
lspci

http://hastebin.com/zaxanokehe.coffee

Code:
uname -a
Linux Draco 4.4.6-gentoo #15 SMP Sat Jul 2 07:32:33 BST 2016 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


Code:
id
uid=1000(joe) gid=1000(joe) groups=1000(joe),10(wheel),18(audio),27(video),100(users),998(sddm)


Code:
lshw

http://hastebin.com/omosinusih.sm

Code:
cat /usr/src/linux/.config

http://hastebin.com/elimaledef.vbs

I just need nvidia for CUDA, so I would be happy with either intel or nvidia working.

Please help,
Thank you, Joe


Last edited by funeagle on Mon Jul 04, 2016 11:00 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6957
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your computer have Optimus hybrid graphics?
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1629
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your machine has NVIDIA Optimus hardware and you would like to be able to just use the NVIDIA closed-source driver or the Intel driver, perhaps the following might help: Switching between Intel and NVIDIA graphics processors on a laptop with NVIDIA Optimus hardware running Gentoo Linux.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64 OpenRC elogind nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64 OpenRC elogind xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Does your computer have Optimus hybrid graphics?


Yes I have intel and nvidia cards. However I would be happy to use intel only so that I have more nvidia memory to CUDA applications.

I tried switching to the intel card in the config:
Screen 0 "intel"
Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout"
    Screen 0 "intel"
    #Inactive "intel"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "intel"
    Driver "intel"
    BusID "PCI:0@0:2:0"
    Option "AccelMethod" "SNA"
    Option "TearFree" "true"
    Option "DRI" "true"
    #Driver "modesetting"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "XVideo" "Disable"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "intel"
    Device "intel"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load "modesetting"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:1@0:0:0"
    Option "ConstrainCursor" "off"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Device "nvidia"
    Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration" "on"
    Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "CRT"
EndSection
                                 


But then I get the following error:
Code:
[     6.507] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for modesetting
[     6.511] (EE) No devices detected.
[     6.511] (EE)
Fatal server error:
[     6.511] (EE) no screens found(EE)

Full log: http://hastebin.com/zakobizixo.coffee

My guess is that the problem is with intel instead of the nvidia part, do you think this is correct?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6957
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. You should try Intel without xorg.conf, to be sure nvidia driver is not interfering with anything
2. You may need to switch to ~amd64, your hardware is new and it seems Intel driver is too old
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2546

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but can you clarify what WM you are trying to use? Because what you describe is what running X without a WM looks like. Black mouse on black background.

A simple test is [/b]X -retro[/b] or you can install x11-wm/twm and x11-terms/xterm for a testing environment.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Doctor,

Thanks for the tip I wasn't sure how to test the WM myself.

I ran X -retro but it's still blank, I haven't seen the stripple (checkboard) nor the cursor

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log is still:
http://hastebin.com/oyomugodor.vhdl

I tried setting up plasma with sddm:
Code:

 emerge -va  kde-plasma/plasma-desktop

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.5.5-r1:5::gentoo  USE="evdev fontconfig handbook qt4 -debug -gtk2 -gtk3 -legacy-systray -pulseaudio {-test} -touchpad" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]


Then I tried to set up sddm as was recommended

Code:

cat /etc/conf.d/xdm
DISPLAYMANAGER="sddm"


Code:

eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma *
...


For the testing as you suggested I have emerged twm and xterm anchanged DISPLAYMANAGER="twm", then ran
Code:

echo XSESSION="twm" > /etc/env.d/90xsession
etc-update
startx /usr/bin/twm


Do I need to configure xterm to be run, or does twm run it by default?

Still blank :(
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log:
http://hastebin.com/renetagoju.vhdl

I have just noticed this line in the config:
Quote:
No monitor specified for screen "nvidia"
Is this fatal or can I ignore that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2546

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

twm automatically starts xterm, so unfortunately it looks like you really do have a problem with X, which is strange because it doesn't look like xorg.log has any errors.

Unfortunately, I don't know much about Optimus so I'll bow out.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

funeagle,

Code:
[  2196.358] (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated MetaModes:
[  2196.358] (II) NVIDIA(0):     "NULL"
[  2196.358] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 640 x 480


You have an optimus graphics system but you are trying to use the nVidia chip set alone.
Unfortunately, the nVidia graphics is only half a graphics system. It cannot refresh the display surface, so its always blank.

Intel alone should just work, that the default if you have no xorg.conf
If you have ambitiions to use the nVidia part of optimus, use the modesetting driver.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
parramata
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
funeagle,

Code:
[  2196.358] (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated MetaModes:
[  2196.358] (II) NVIDIA(0):     "NULL"
[  2196.358] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 640 x 480


You have an optimus graphics system but you are trying to use the nVidia chip set alone.
Unfortunately, the nVidia graphics is only half a graphics system. It cannot refresh the display surface, so its always blank.

Intel alone should just work, that the default if you have no xorg.conf
If you have ambitiions to use the nVidia part of optimus, use the modesetting driver.


I have this problem with the intel card and the only way to start a kde session was with the command /etc/init.d/xdm restart. After several syncs the problem was solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parramata,

That's a different problem. To start KDE from the command line you need the correct content in ~/.xinitrc or the correct command line.

Here, funeagle is trying to use a graphics chip that cannot (by design) transfer data to the display surface.
As you confirm, Intel on its own works.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello NeddySeagoon,

Thank you for your reply. I was already trying to set up different configurations, including both cards with optimus, just nvidia, or just intel but I hit a roadblock.

Your reply helped me to realize which configuration was wrong:

NeddySeagoon wrote:

If you have ambitiions to use the nVidia part of optimus, use the modesetting driver.


All linux distros would just lock up my CPU at liveusb stage when trying to install a new system. Linuxmint suggested two different kernel options https://linuxmint.com/rel_rosa_kde.php to get around the CPU freezes so I have turned on both:
Code:
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-4.4.6-gentoo root=/dev/sda4 ro nouveau.noaccel=1 nomodeset
So in fact I had to disable modesetting as a kernel option to get any linux working at all.

1) I have now removed these kernel options.
Then I got back the CPU kernel issues reported by dmsg:
Code:

[   22.662322] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: DRM: resuming kernel object tree...
[   44.501159] INFO: rcu_sched self-detected stall on CPU
[   44.501164]  4-...: (20999 ticks this GP) idle=319/140000000000001/0 softirq=1123/1123 fqs=6998
[   44.501165]   (t=21000 jiffies g=470 c=469 q=48141)
[   44.501167] Task dump for CPU 4:
[   44.501168] X               R  running task    12912  1496   1490 0x00000008
[   44.501172]  ffffffff81e4e500 ffff880483d03dc0 ffffffff81101c7f 0000000000000004
[   44.501174]  ffffffff81e4e500 ffff880483d03dd8 ffffffff81103f84 0000000000000005
[   44.501175]  ffff880483d03e08 ffffffff8112a3d6 ffff880483d161c0 ffffffff81e4e500
[   44.501177] Call Trace:
[   44.501178]  <IRQ>  [<ffffffff81101c7f>] sched_show_task+0xbf/0x120
[   44.501184]  [<ffffffff81103f84>] dump_cpu_task+0x34/0x40
[   44.501187]  [<ffffffff8112a3d6>] rcu_dump_cpu_stacks+0x86/0xc0
[   44.501189]  [<ffffffff8112dba5>] rcu_check_callbacks+0x4b5/0x790
[   44.501191]  [<ffffffff811404a0>] ? tick_sched_do_timer+0x30/0x30
[   44.501193]  [<ffffffff81132354>] update_process_times+0x34/0x60
[   44.501196]  [<ffffffff8113ff01>] tick_sched_handle.isra.15+0x31/0x40
[   44.501197]  [<ffffffff811404d8>] tick_sched_timer+0x38/0x70
[   44.501199]  [<ffffffff81132e99>] __hrtimer_run_queues+0xe9/0x260
[   44.501201]  [<ffffffff811332e3>] hrtimer_interrupt+0xa3/0x190
[   44.501203]  [<ffffffff81081253>] local_apic_timer_interrupt+0x33/0x60
[   44.501205]  [<ffffffff81081ca8>] smp_apic_timer_interrupt+0x38/0x50
[   44.501207]  [<ffffffff818b740f>] apic_timer_interrupt+0x7f/0x90
[   44.501208]  <EOI>  [<ffffffff813eeb80>] ? ioread32+0x30/0x40
[   44.501227]  [<ffffffffa01c3059>] ? gm204_devinit_post+0x149/0x220 [nouveau]
[   44.501240]  [<ffffffffa01fcf8e>] ? nvkm_lockvgac+0x6e/0xb0 [nouveau]
[   44.501252]  [<ffffffffa01bfcc9>] nvkm_devinit_post+0x29/0x60 [nouveau]
[   44.501265]  [<ffffffffa01f0c34>] nvkm_device_init+0xa4/0x270 [nouveau]
[   44.501277]  [<ffffffffa01f3ec3>] nvkm_udevice_init+0x43/0x50 [nouveau]
[   44.501285]  [<ffffffffa01a5ddb>] nvkm_object_init+0x3b/0x190 [nouveau]
[   44.501293]  [<ffffffffa01a5e1b>] nvkm_object_init+0x7b/0x190 [nouveau]
[   44.501300]  [<ffffffffa01a3299>] nvkm_client_init+0x9/0x10 [nouveau]
[   44.501311]  [<ffffffffa02364d9>] nvkm_client_resume+0x9/0x10 [nouveau]
[   44.501318]  [<ffffffffa01a265f>] nvif_client_resume+0xf/0x20 [nouveau]
[   44.501329]  [<ffffffffa0234098>] nouveau_do_resume+0x48/0x130 [nouveau]
[


After that I have also noticed this:
Code:
[    2.034206] NVRM: The NVIDIA probe routine was not called for 1 device(s).
[    2.034206] NVRM: This can occur when a driver such as:
               NVRM: nouveau, rivafb, nvidiafb or rivatv
               NVRM: was loaded and obtained ownership of the NVIDIA device(s).
[    2.034207] NVRM: Try unloading the conflicting kernel module (and/or
               NVRM: reconfigure your kernel without the conflicting
               NVRM: driver(s)), then try loading the NVIDIA kernel module
               NVRM: again.
[    2.034208] NVRM: No NVIDIA graphics adapter probed!
[    2.034208] [drm] Module unloaded
[    2.034306] NVRM: NVIDIA init module failed!
[


2) So I have disabled the nouveau driver that was built as a module in the kernel.
I was surprised that this helped because I didn't expect it to be loaded at 2 seconds of boot.

Then I could start X with although plasma was still complaining. I checked dmsg and I still had this error:
Code:

[   95.006107] WARNING: CPU: 1 PID: 1485 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_pm.c:3597 skl_update_other_pipe_wm+0x198/0x1a0()
[   95.006109] WARN_ON(!wm_changed)
[   95.006109] Modules linked in:
[   95.006111]  nvidia_modeset(PO) nvidia(PO) iwlmvm x86_pkg_temp_thermal iwlwifi mxm_wmi wmi
[   95.006116] CPU: 1 PID: 1485 Comm: X Tainted: P        W  O    4.4.6-gentoo #18
[   95.006117] Hardware name: GIGABYTE P34V5/P34V5, BIOS FB06 11/13/2015
[   95.006118]  0000000000000000 ffff88046c06f7c8 ffffffff813d6b28 ffff88046c06f810
[   95.006120]  ffffffff81c4a3f8 ffff88046c06f800 ffffffff810db8d1 ffff8804717f9000
[   95.006122]  ffff88046c06f92c ffff8804717f8000 0000000000000000 ffff88046c06f898
[   95.006124] Call Trace:
[   95.006127]  [<ffffffff813d6b28>] dump_stack+0x4d/0x65


3) For that I have followed https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1040692-start-0.html to upgrade my xorg-server to version 1.18.1


This alone didn't help. It has reinstalled some video drivers, so...

4) I have rebuilt the kernel.
That didn't help either, still getting the
Code:

[    1.861409] WARNING: CPU: 0 PID: 6 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_pm.c:3597 skl_update_other_pipe_wm+0x198/0x1a0()
[    1.861410] WARN_ON(!wm_changed)
[    1.861410] Modules linked in:
[    1.861412] CPU: 0 PID: 6 Comm: kworker/u16:0 Not tainted 4.4.6-gentoo #19
[    1.861413] Hardware name: GIGABYTE P34V5/P34V5, BIOS FB06 11/13/2015
[    1.861416] Workqueue: events_unbound async_run_entry_fn
[    1.861417]  0000000000000000 ffff88047163f510 ffffffff813d6b28 ffff88047163f558
[    1.861418]  ffffffff81c4a3f8 ffff88047163f548 ffffffff810db8d1 ffff8804705a1000
[    1.861419]  ffff88047163f674 ffff8804705a0000 0000000000000000 ffff88047163f5e0
[    1.861419] Call Trace:
[    1.861423]  [<ffffffff813d6b28>] dump_stack+0x4d/0x65


Then I found this error:
Code:

[    0.645218] i915 0000:00:02.0: Direct firmware load for i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin failed with error -2
[    0.645568] [drm:i915_firmware_load_error_print] *ERROR* failed to load firmware i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin (0)
[    0.645877] [drm:i915_firmware_load_error_print] *ERROR* The driver is built-in, so to load the firmware you need to
               include it either in the kernel (see CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE) or


5) Adding intel firmware to the kernel

I have modified the kernel by adding the following:
Code:
grep EXTRA /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"

Code:
ls -l /lib/firmware/i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 19 Jun 23 22:26 /lib/firmware/i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin -> skl_dmc_ver1_26.bin


then I get an error:
Code:
[    0.614682] [drm:intel_guc_ucode_init] *ERROR* Failed to fetch GuC firmware from i915/skl_guc_ver4.bin (error -2)
[    0.618183] [drm:i915_gem_init_hw] *ERROR* Failed to initialize GuC, error -5 (ignored)
[


I have also tried:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="skl_guc_ver6.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware/i915/"

But it still complains about Direct firmware load for i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin failed with error -2

Is the firmware built into the kernel or do I need initrd for the CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE?

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

OK it looks like initrd is not needed, I got this from the menuconfig help:
Quote:

This option allows firmware to be built into the kernel for the case ¦
¦ where the user either cannot or doesn't want to provide it from ¦
¦ userspace at runtime (for example, when the firmware in question is ¦
¦ required for accessing the boot device, and the user doesn't want to ¦
¦ use an initrd). ¦
¦ ¦
¦ This option is a string and takes the (space-separated) names of the ¦
¦ firmware files


So I have tried adding both files:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="i915/skl_dmc_ver1.bin i915/skl_guc_ver4.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"

The firmware error is gone, so I assume it's loaded. The problem remains:
Code:

[    1.970453] WARNING: CPU: 3 PID: 1181 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_pm.c:3597 skl_update_other_pipe_wm+0x198/0x1a0()
[    1.970454] WARN_ON(!wm_changed)
[    1.970454] Modules linked in:
[    1.970456] CPU: 3 PID: 1181 Comm: kworker/3:1 Not tainted 4.4.6-gentoo #28
[    1.970457] Hardware name: GIGABYTE P34V5/P34V5, BIOS FB06 11/13/2015
[    1.970460] Workqueue: events output_poll_execute
[    1.970462]  0000000000000000 ffff8800724977b0 ffffffff813d6b28 ffff8800724977f8
[    1.970462]  ffffffff81c6bc78 ffff8800724977e8 ffffffff810db8d1 ffff8804711f4000
[    1.970463]  ffff880072497914 ffff8804711f2000 0000000000000000 ffff880072497880
[    1.970464] Call Trace:
[    1.970467]  [<ffffffff813d6b28>] dump_stack+0x4d/0x65
[    1.970469]  [<ffffffff810db8d1>] warn_slowpath_common+0x81/0xc0
[    1.970471]  [<ffffffff810db957>] warn_slowpath_fmt+0x47/0x50
[    1.970473]  [<ffffffff814f9718>] skl_update_other_pipe_wm+0x198/0x1a0
[    1.970475]  [<ffffffff814f9914>] skl_update_wm+0x1f4/0x720
[    1.970477]  [<ffffffff811120b0>] ? wait_woken+0x80/0x80
[    1.970478]  [<ffffffff814fadf9>] intel_update_watermarks+0x19/0x20
[    1.970480]  [<ffffffff81560dcb>] haswell_crtc_enable+0x36b/0x870
[    1.970482]  [<ffffffff8155c9cc>] intel_atomic_commit+0x37c/0x13a0
[    1.970484]  [<ffffffff814e202f>] ? drm_atomic_check_only+0x13f/0x5d0
[    1.970485]  [<ffffffff814e1e22>] ? drm_atomic_add_affected_connectors+0x22/0xf0
[    1.970487]  [<ffffffff814e24f2>] drm_atomic_commit+0x32/0x50
[    1.970488]  [<ffffffff814c0ed2>] restore_fbdev_mode+0x232/0x260
[    1.970490]  [<ffffffff814c305e>] drm_fb_helper_restore_fbdev_mode_unlocked+0x2e/0x70
[    1.970491]  [<ffffffff814c30c8>] drm_fb_helper_set_par+0x28/0x50
[    1.970492]  [<ffffffff814c2fdd>] drm_fb_helper_hotplug_event+0x9d/0xf0
[    1.970493]  [<ffffffff81573899>] intel_fbdev_output_poll_changed+0x19/0x20
[    1.970495]  [<ffffffff814b7042>] drm_kms_helper_hotplug_event+0x22/0x30
[    1.970496]  [<ffffffff814b7224>] output_poll_execute+0x194/0x1e0
[    1.970498]  [<ffffffff810f1565>] process_one_work+0x145/0x400
[    1.970500]  [<ffffffff810f1b36>] worker_thread+0x46/0x440
[    1.970501]  [<ffffffff8196a8be>] ? __schedule+0x32e/0x960
[    1.970503]  [<ffffffff810f1af0>] ? rescuer_thread+0x2d0/0x2d0
[    1.970504]  [<ffffffff810f1af0>] ? rescuer_thread+0x2d0/0x2d0
[    1.970507]  [<ffffffff810f6794>] kthread+0xc4/0xe0
[    1.970508]  [<ffffffff810f66d0>] ? kthread_park+0x50/0x50
[    1.970509]  [<ffffffff8196e99f>] ret_from_fork+0x3f/0x70
[    1.970510]  [<ffffffff810f66d0>] ? kthread_park+0x50/0x50
[    1.970511] ---[ end trace 0a81a933ee8549b8 ]---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK tried starting x again, it complained about OpenGL2 so I run:

Code:
eselect opengl set xorg-x11


Now startx works to some degree! :) I have a mouse cursor working and a blank desktop.

I am not sure why that is, I have both kde-plasma/plasma-desktop and kde-plasma/plasma-meta installed:

Code:
emerge -pD kde-plasma/plasma-meta kde-plasma/plasma-desktop

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.5.5-r1
[ebuild   R    ] kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.5.5



If I change DISPLAYMANAGER "sddm" or "twm", it does not make any difference. X -retro now shows the checker background and the X mouse as well :)

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

funeagle,

startx starts whatever you have in ~/.xinitrc
As that file is missing by default, the system wide xinitrc is used. That starts three xterms and xclock in twm.
None of xterm, xclock and twm are installed by default, so Xorg starts then does nothing.

If you want a test,
Code:
emerge xterm xclock twm
Add in --oneshot if you want --depclean to remove them later.

It all sounds promising, if you want to skip the test see Display manager
That emerge installs a number of very small packages. If you do that test, you know that Xorg is OK, so further problems are with KDE.

Should you jump to KDE and it doesn't work, helpers will want you to test with twm to see if its Xorg or KDE.
What it boils down to is ... do you feel lucky?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
funeagle
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 9:43 am    Post subject: Blank screen running X, [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Thank you NeddySeagoon,

I have already installed twm but couldn't get it working :(

I think now I understand a lot better how everything needs to be configured. I have decided that it will be probably easier to start a fresh install, than keep patching up my broken build.

For the benefit of others: I have backed up the main config files (make.conf, .config, world (package listing), etc.), reformatted my partition, dropped in the configs, run screen + script and rebuilt the whole system overnight in one go. Some packages were complaining that they needed the kernel so I have rebuild them after building the kernel.

I am still getting the
Quote:
WARNING: CPU: 3 PID: 1181 at drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_pm.c:3597 skl_update_other_pipe_wm+0x198/0x1a0()
errors but twm is working, then tried plasma with sddm and it is working without any visible issues :D

I am still a bit uneasy about this error and will try to fix it but the issue I faced with X is solved!

Thank you everyone who helped, "use the modesetting driver" got me over the hump, also twm and -retro is nice to know about.

Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

funeagle,

The modesetting driver is required to set up the intel graphics to refresh the display surface while the nVida graphics draws the pixel buffer.

If you do not intend to use the nVida graphics for graphics, the inter driver will provide better graphics performance than the modesetting driver if you intend to use the Intel graphics alone.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum