Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SDDM and nVidia fix?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1342
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:25 am    Post subject: SDDM and nVidia fix? Reply with quote

I have a Dell Latitude D820 with an nVidia Quadro in it. I have the nVidia driver working, and it worked flawlessly in KDE4, but I get the infamous black screen with SDDM on KDE5. Switching to Mesa GL from the nVidia GL fixes this, but the entire system crawls. Rendering is choppy and slow. Is there a fix so I can use the nVidia GL renderer and actually use the laptop? This is the only hitch so far. This is my wife's laptop. She normally only does web, email and basic things, but it stutters so badly now she can't. She used to be able to World of Warcraft in Wine without a hitch!
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perfect Gentleman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 772

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

imho, auto-login is the only option if it suits you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it an intel cpu with embedded gfx?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1342
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, as I said above it is a Quadro, nVidia's developer line of cards. The CPU is a Centrino Duo, I forget the speed.

Auto-login would not work because we both use the machine. I mainly login to do updates.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got an optimus laptop and had the same problem. Eventually I got bumblebee working and that fixed it but in the meantime I reinstalled kdm. There were blocks to resolve but it did work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1342
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This laptop is pre-optimus. There is only one video card as the Centrino Duos did not contain integrated graphics like Core i series do.
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrbassie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 May 2013
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The point is you can still use kdm as display manager. I was running solely on nvidia gfx for weeks before I got bumblebee working. I couldn't use sddm or lightdm. If you can put up with resolving some blocks, kdm will work for you, at least for the time being.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1342
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 10:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd rather solve it correctly. Mesa is a band-aid which requires no configuration. Using KDM would, so I will use Mesa for now, but would like to explore a real fix until the SDDM crew fix the bug in SDDM.

*UPDATE*

System info, if it matters.
Code:

d820 ~ # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 01)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 3 (rev 01)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 4 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7-M Family) SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation G72M [Quadro NVS 110M/GeForce Go 7300] (rev a1)
03:01.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. Cardbus bridge (rev 21)
03:01.4 FireWire (IEEE 1394): O2 Micro, Inc. Firewire (IEEE 1394) (rev 02)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5752 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)                                                       
0c:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)                                                         
d820 ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0                                                             
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel                                                 
cpu family      : 6
model           : 14
model name      : Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T2400  @ 1.83GHz
stepping        : 8
microcode       : 0x39
cpu MHz         : 1000.000
cache size      : 2048 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 0
initial apicid  : 0
fdiv_bug        : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx constant_tsc arch_perfmon bts aperfmperf pni monitor vmx est tm2 xtpr pdcm dtherm
bugs            :
bogomips        : 3657.38
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 32 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:

processor       : 1
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 14
model name      : Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T2400  @ 1.83GHz
stepping        : 8
microcode       : 0x39
cpu MHz         : 1000.000
cache size      : 2048 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 1
cpu cores       : 2
apicid          : 1
initial apicid  : 1
fdiv_bug        : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx constant_tsc arch_perfmon bts aperfmperf pni monitor vmx est tm2 xtpr pdcm dtherm
bugs            :
bogomips        : 3657.38
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 32 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:

_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Great_Sephiroth
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2014
Posts: 1342
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured it out. There is still a bug where when installing SDDM, it does not add the SDDM user to the video group. I did that, switched to nVidia GL, restarted X, and all is good. Really, why is this not automatic?
_________________
Ever picture systemd as what runs "The Borg"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum