Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE 5: Compositor not properly enabled on startup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
teefax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jan 2015
Posts: 11
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 11:31 am    Post subject: KDE 5: Compositor not properly enabled on startup Reply with quote

Hi,

last week I updated my system to the lasted KDE version (Plasma 5.6.5 / Frameworks 5.23.0 / Qt 5.6.1) and now the "Enable compositor on startup" option is no longer working properly. If enabled, the transparency/shadows/animations for the windows are working but not for the Plasma menu and taskbar (tried with any combination of OpenGL 3.1/2.0 and GLX/EGL).

As a workaround I can leave the compositor disabled, restart plasma and then go to the compositor settings, change something and hit apply which will enable the effects for the windows but again the shadows/transparency for the task bar / application menu / etc. are missing. If I then change something again and hit apply a second time the compositor is working as intended and all the transparency and effects are displayed properly. However, this does not work if the compositor was set to be enabled on startup.

Has anyone else experienced this? I had no issues with Plasma 5.6.4 / Frameworks 5.22.0 / Qt 5.6.0.

Edit: To make it more clear what I mean, here is how it currently looks like and here how it is supposed to look like (after applying the mentioned workaround).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2016 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah I'm seeing something similar, it often works, but then often it does not.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 392
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here. If I kill plasmashell and start it again from krunner, shadows and transparency works.

I think that the error is from plasma-workspace package. If I use plasma-workspace-5.6.4 then it always works.

Kwin compositing is always working, just no transpareny or shadows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pryka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 657
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here.

But there is actually an easy workaround. After KDE start, just do alt+shift+F12 to start compositor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Pryka: Did you also observe this on workspace-5.6.5 upgrade?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pryka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 657
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@genstorm yes. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kernel version and graphics driver do you use?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 392
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like we are hitting this bug:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=364641
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pryka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 657
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
What kernel version and graphics driver do you use?

Kernel-4.4.3 + nvidia-drivers-340.96-r5


PS. I just noticed that also v-sync is lost, before i restart compositor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No relation then. Strange, I haven't had the problem since upgrading from 4.6.1 to 4.6.3, using Intel. May or may not be coincidence... EDIT: just happened again.

IvanMajhen wrote:
If I use plasma-workspace-5.6.4 then it always works.

Saying that, do you mean downgrading that single package or all of Plasma?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic


Last edited by asturm on Thu Jun 30, 2016 10:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 392
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Saying that, do you mean downgrading that single package or all of Plasma?

Single package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem, vsync is also lost sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2016 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IvanMajhen wrote:
genstorm wrote:
Saying that, do you mean downgrading that single package or all of Plasma?

Single package.

It doesn't look like that is the real cause though, at least I can't find anything seemingly relevant in the commits between 5.6.4 and 5.6.5. For how long did you try to reproduce the issue? I've found I can often restart multiple times with transparency working just fine, then all of a sudden it won't...

So much I can already say that 5.7.0 will contain the same problem.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 392
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to bisect the problem with kdiiff3 (plasma-workspace) and there are some little changes. I've been trying for about 2-3 hours with different permutation off diffs but couldn't find which combination of diffs is responsible for shadows/transparency not showing.

If I remove whole plasma-workspace after ebuild unpack and replace it with 5.6.4 version and edit cmake to 5.6.5 I have always good plasma startup. With plasma-workspace 5.6.5 I have 99% chances of bad startup.

Can you confirm that with 5.6.4 plasma-workspace startup is good?

Edit: 5.6.4 now also fails, disregard this.


Last edited by IvanMajhen on Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you kill plasmashell after the startup and then start it again then the transparency works. Maybe it helps pinpointing the bug?
Code:
killall plasmashell
plasmashell &
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not necessary at all, just press Shit+Alt+F12 twice to re-enable compositing.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that key-combo doesn't work for me, it switches to console and when I switch back X/plasma crashed and I have to start it again with startx anyway.

edit:
Just tried it and it works now.

edit2:
Just rebooted and tested it. That key combo doesn't activate transparency if it was broken when it started up. You have to kill it and restart it like I wrote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You press it twice. Disable compositing, then enable it back. If that shortcut doesn't work for you, do it from within systemsettings/compositor settings.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works, it restarts the compositor, but it doesn't give me transparency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I discovered it wouldn't work for me either right after start. It's like that race condition is causing a delay or timeout, and only until after 30-60 seconds the panel actually manages to pick up transparency on compositor restart.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This and some other bugs were enough to bug the c*** out of me so I downgraded to stable plasma-5.5.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please describe 'some other bugs'. How do you expect to get them solved before 5.6.5 stabilisation without reports?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The bugs I had are known and are being worked on, no need to make duplicate threads to annoy the moderators.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, in terms of bugzilla nothing is blocking Plasma 5.6.5 stabilisation right now (save for kf-5.23 and qt-5.6.1 which need to happen before).

EDIT: Speaking of which, what version of KDE Frameworks do you have installed?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pryka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 657
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2016 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

5.7.0 still got this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum