[SOLVED] Firefox - ssh - network sharing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ysbeer
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 4:18 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Firefox - ssh - network sharing Reply with quote

Hello, this is my first Gentoo install and there are some things i would like to know:

Question 1: when i emerged firefox from the portage tree, it seemed to install a FireFox Developer Edition, which crashed a few times when browsing, is there a way to get the Original FireFox?

Question 2: it seems that on this default install of Gentoo with genkernel, it includes a ssh-client? if so, do i need to secure it? how? i do not need ssh, neither do i need telnet, or VNC, how do i remove these from my system?

Question 3: by default is their anything shared on the network, like for example folders? if so, how does one check this, and disable them?

i am a noob to Gentoo so sorry for my noobie questions :?

Last edited by ysbeer on Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Syl20
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2016 10:57 am    Post subject: Re: Firefox - ssh - network sharing Reply with quote

ysbeer wrote:
Question 1: when i emerged firefox from the portage tree, it seemed to install a FireFox Developer Edition, which crashed a few times when browsing, is there a way to get the Original FireFox?

On a stable system, you should have Firefox ESR (version 38.8.0) installed. On an "unstable" one, you should have the newest Firefox stable version available (47.0.1) : https://packages.gentoo.org/packages/www-client/firefox. I don't think there's a Firefox Developer Edition in the portage tree.

Please post the result of the "emerge --info" command.

Quote: