Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] kde plasma 5 resets multi screen config on restart
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 6:29 am    Post subject: [solved] kde plasma 5 resets multi screen config on restart Reply with quote

Hello,

I use a triple monitor config, plasma 5 resets the screen config to default when restarted (clones first screen on the other 2).
Screen config was fine in 5.5 but 5.6 has a bug. Everything else functions properly.
I use the plasme 5.6 package keywords from here: https://gitweb.gentoo.org/proj/kde.git/tree/Documentation/package.accept_keywords
The bug is being discussed here https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=346961 no solution yet ....
I'm using OS drivers (radeon module + glamor).
Somebody experiencing the same thing?

edit:
Setting the parameters monitor and screen in xorg.conf doesn't change anything


Last edited by gorg86 on Thu Jun 23, 2016 10:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you please try the patch in https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=346961#c64 and apply it to kscreen as a user patch?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes sure, if I can figure out how to do it (I'm a noob)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We've got that covered ;)

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki//etc/portage/patches#Adding_user_patches
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gorg86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Applied the patch and rebooted/restarted plasma5 multiple times and it's working.
I didn't see the patchfile so I downloaded the modified source and did this here https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-25512.html#25512

If one of my monitors is deactivated during boot/plasma5 start, then the profile gets deleted again. I had this problem before in 5.5 so it is probably not directly related.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for testing, it might make sense to have this backported to 5.6.5 then.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum