Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
firefox doesn't open window
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
grozin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 68
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 5:32 am    Post subject: firefox doesn't open window Reply with quote

On one of my Gentoo computers I have a strange problem. I have no firefox process running:
Code:
grozin@elrond ~ $ ps -U grozin | fgrep firefox
grozin@elrond ~ $
In ~/.mozilla/firefox/<profile>/ there is no lock file. Then I start firefox:
Code:
grozin@elrond ~ $ firefox
<cursor here>
No window appears. No error messages in the konsole (yes, I run kde). It just sits invisible forever. Now there are 2 firefox processes:
Code:
grozin@elrond ~ $ ps -U grozin | fgrep firefox
10935 pts/1    00:00:00 firefox
10937 pts/1    00:00:00 firefox
grozin@elrond ~ $
Why 2?? Now there is a lock file:
Code:
grozin@elrond ~ $ file .mozilla/firefox/<profile>/lock
.mozilla/firefox/o0q68nhm.default/lock: broken symbolic link to 192.168.161.186:+12704
Now I press Ctrl-C in the konsole tab. The 2 firefox processes disappear, the lock file disappears too.
I tried to rename ~/.mozilla to something, and then to start firefox. The same: no window, 2 firefox processes running, ~/.mozilla is created with the usual contents and a new profile. This profile subdirectory contains the lock file (it disappears after pressing Ctrl-C).
How can I fix this? Why do 2 processes start? Do they lock each other?
This is a ~x86 desktop, newest firefox (the previous version behaved the same).
_________________
Andrey Grozin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 730
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you try deleting .cache/mozila
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2016 3:05 pm    Post subject: Re: firefox doesn't open window Reply with quote

grozin wrote:
Code:
grozin@elrond ~ $ file .mozilla/firefox/<profile>/lock
.mozilla/firefox/o0q68nhm.default/lock: broken symbolic link to 192.168.161.186:+12704

grozin ... can you post the output of the following:

Code:
$ egrep -v '(^#|^$)' /etc/hosts
$ hostname -i

I suspect your /etc/hosts doesn't have your hostname as 127.0.0.1 ... the section should look something like the following:

/etc/hosts:
127.0.0.1 elrond.local elrond localhost

HTH & best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum