Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Layman fails to sync git repos
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Massimo B.
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Feb 2005
Posts: 1768
Location: PB, Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 8:57 am    Post subject: Layman fails to sync git repos Reply with quote

Hi,

for a long while now I have these issues for every layman sync and I wonder why the bugreport was always declined. For not discussing in the bug report, I like to open discussion here. I also wonder that nobody else is running into these issues as git repos are the default today:

Bug 563464 - Layman fails to reset and pull

Almost every layman sync I run into errors like this caused by incomplete git merges:
Code:
 *
 * Errors:
 * ------
 * Failed to sync overlay "kde".
 * Error was: Syncing overlay "kde" returned status 128!
 * db.sync()
 * Failed to sync overlay "mv".
 * Error was: Syncing overlay "mv" returned status 128!
 * db.sync()
 * Failed to sync overlay "mva".
 * Error was: Syncing overlay "mva" returned status 128!
 * db.sync()
 * Failed to sync overlay "nightmare".
 * Error was: Syncing overlay "nightmare" returned status 128!
 * db.sync()
 * Failed to sync overlay "rion".
 * Error was: Syncing overlay "rion" returned status 128!
 * db.sync()
 *
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/kde/profiles/package.use.mask: >>>>>>>
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/kde/profiles/package.use.mask: <<<<<<<
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/kde/profiles/package.use.mask: =======
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/kde/profiles/package.mask/misc: <<<<<<< HEAD
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/kde/profiles/package.mask/misc: =======
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/kde/profiles/package.mask/misc: >>>>>>> 0afe78f9b3b51814b2a93e06234400f65c3330a8
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/mva/profiles/package.mask: <<<<<<< HEAD
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/mva/profiles/package.mask: =======
--- Invalid atom in /var/lib/layman/mva/profiles/package.mask: >>>>>>> 4439548e8aadcf1e44deeb064149fc3da16ff94d

This does not happen with very special overlays but with almost every overlay after a while.

The easiest way to get around for now is to just re-fetch every overlay like this:
Code:
# overlays="$(layman -l |cut -d " " -f 3)";layman -d $overlays;layman -a $overlays


The git pull of the Portage tree never has these issues, only layman, eventhough the sync-type is equal:
Code:
# cat /etc/portage/repos.conf/*.conf
[DEFAULT]
main-repo = gentoo

[gentoo]
location = /usr/portage
#sync-type = websync
sync-type = git
#sync-uri = rsync://rsync.de.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage
#sync-uri = git://github.com/gentoo/gentoo-portage-rsync-mirror
sync-uri = git://github.com/gentoo-mirror/gentoo
auto-sync = yes
[kde]
priority = 50
location = /var/lib/layman/kde
layman-type = git
sync-type = laymansync
sync-uri = git://anongit.gentoo.org/proj/kde.git
auto-sync = Yes

[mv]
priority = 50
location = /var/lib/layman/mv
layman-type = git
sync-type = laymansync
sync-uri = git://anongit.gentoo.org/user/mv.git
auto-sync = Yes

[mva]
priority = 50
location = /var/lib/layman/mva
layman-type = git
sync-type = laymansync
sync-uri = git://github.com/msva/mva-overlay
auto-sync = Yes

[nightmare]
priority = 50
location = /var/lib/layman/nightmare
layman-type = git
sync-type = laymansync
sync-uri = https://gitlab.com/r3lgar/nightmare.git
auto-sync = Yes

[portage_vmgentoo-mb]
location = /usr/local/portage
auto-sync = no

_________________
HP ZBook Power 15.6" G8 i7-11800H|HP EliteDesk 800G1 i7-4790|HP Compaq Pro 6300 i7-3770
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
archenroot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 218
Location: Lake Macha, Czech republic

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for:
Code:
overlays="$(layman -l |cut -d " " -f 3)";layman -d $overlays;layman -a $overlays


I also got into this issue this complete cleanup and refetch make think work again as expected.
_________________
Emperor wants to control outer space Yoda wants to explore inner space that's the fundamental difference between good and bad sides of the Force
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
archenroot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 218
Location: Lake Macha, Czech republic

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is actually real cheat sheet record, I will probably create github page: Gentoo Awesome where I will start putting this handy scripts at single place.
_________________
Emperor wants to control outer space Yoda wants to explore inner space that's the fundamental difference between good and bad sides of the Force
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1435
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

archenroot wrote:
Thanks for:
Code:
overlays="$(layman -l |cut -d " " -f 3)";layman -d $overlays;layman -a $overlays


I also got into this issue this complete cleanup and refetch make think work again as expected.


This command resolved issues I was having with layman, and furthermore cured my cancer and made me more attractive to my partner.

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum