Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Kwallet?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 10:31 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Kwallet? Reply with quote

Hi,

I am trying just fresh installation of fresh Gentoo amd64 and Plasma 5.

As long as I remember, usually after login into new kde, I had a Kwallet question for password, and then I could use it for many applications.

This time I had no wallet. I saved few passwords in Firefox and Opera, and nothing. So I manually open and created new Kwallet, but looks like no applications use it?

Am I doing something wrong?


Last edited by Xywa on Tue May 31, 2016 11:30 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firefox and Opera do not use the KDE wallet, have they ever? At least for Firefox you'd need an addon (and who nows how that behaves in the event there is no wallet yet). Usually the first thing to start a kwallet dialog would be plasma-nm for a wireless network passphrase.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Firefox and Opera do not use the KDE wallet, have they ever? At least for Firefox you'd need an addon (and who nows how that behaves in the event there is no wallet yet). Usually the first thing to start a kwallet dialog would be plasma-nm for a wireless network passphrase.


Sorry Opera and Chromium. But I think (I have Opera beta on another disk, will check later).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possible that Chromium is still using the old kde4-based wallet, in that case you need to check if kwalletd:4 is installed. Opera for sure, if only an old version of it provided kde support, I don't think it will ever be ported to KF5.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
It is possible that Chromium is still using the old kde4-based wallet, in that case you need to check if kwalletd:4 is installed. Opera for sure, if only an old version of it provided kde support, I don't think it will ever be ported to KF5.


Many thans! :) ^^It looks like my qesion was partly related to kde4-based wallet on my old system (2 walles).
[SOLVED]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum