Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Are kde-apps-meta going to stabilize soon? [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NilPointer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 11:43 am    Post subject: Are kde-apps-meta going to stabilize soon? [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I've migrated to Plasma 5 and using stable KDE, but there's only testing kde-apps package available. At first, I've added kde-apps-meta ~amd64 into package.keywords and it worked for a while that way. But now I'm beginning to get new conflicts, such as kde-plasma/kactivities-workspace-5.5.0 being blocked, because dolphin needs newer kio-extras-16.04. I could switch Plasma 5 to testing, too, but I think that way my entire system would eventually move into testing branch, because it will pull even more testing dependencies and that's probably going to get ugly.

Last edited by NilPointer on Tue May 24, 2016 9:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are using Plasma-5.5.5, you are indeed blocked from upgrading to some 16.04.1 package(s), but you can mitigate that using =<package>-15.12.3* atoms in your package.keywords file.

You can follow the KDE Applications 15.12.3 stabilisation bug tracker, it only depends on other stabilisations at this point: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=579992
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NilPointer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I'm having another problem with kde-l10n blocking khelpcenter.

Code:
[blocks B      ] <kde-apps/kde4-l10n-16.04.1 ("<kde-apps/kde4-l10n-16.04.1" is blocking kde-apps/kde-l10n-16.04.1)
[blocks B      ] <kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1 ("<kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1" is blocking kde-apps/kde-l10n-16.04.1)


I can't figure what pulls 16.04 version. Portage claims it's pulled by meta package:

Code:
  (kde-apps/kde-l10n-16.04.1:5/5::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    >=kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3 required by (kde-apps/kde-apps-meta-15.12.3-r3:5/5::gentoo, installed)


But it clearly doesn't need 16.04 version. I've tried selecting particular kde-l10n package in package.keywords:

Code:
=kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3 ~amd64
=kde-apps/kde4-l10n-15.12.3-r1 ~amd64


But it still doesn't want to downgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you take a look:
Code:
>=kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3 required by

...so everything's fine there.

You might have some other rogue kde-apps/* entries without version atom in package.keywords. Never do that.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NilPointer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's strange, but I've checked and there's no other kde-apps in package.keywords at all.

I've attempted to do downgrade, because kde-l10n-16.04 is already installed by masking 16.04 in package.mask:

Code:
>kde-apps/kde4-l10n-15.12.3-r1
>kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3-r2


But it's still showing same blocking. Wonder why Portage attempts to pull masked package.


Last edited by NilPointer on Tue May 24, 2016 8:31 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just remove it, then? Applications 15.12.3 were stabilised, btw, if you don't want to fiddle around with keywords any longer.

Portage will pull a masked package when an other installed package depends on it. No masking will help there.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NilPointer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Feb 2015
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, probably had to do that in first place. I've removed both l10n packages, but then another block appeared.

Code:
[blocks B      ] <kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1 ("<kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1" is blocking kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3-r2)

Total: 197 packages (4 upgrades, 186 downgrades, 1 new, 3 in new slots, 3 reinstalls, 3 uninstalls), Size of downloads: 598 810 KiB
Conflict: 4 blocks (1 unsatisfied)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

  (kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5:5/5::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    kde-apps/khelpcenter:* required by (kde-base/kdelibs-4.14.16:4/4.14::gentoo, installed)
    >=kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5 required by (kde-apps/kdecore-meta-15.12.3:5/5::gentoo, installed)
    >=kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5:5 required by (kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.5.5:5/5::gentoo, installed)

  (kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3-r2:5/5::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    >=kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3 required by (kde-apps/kde-apps-meta-15.12.3-r3:5/5::gentoo, installed)


For some reason, stable kde-apps-meta seems depends on unstable yet khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1 (an oversight?). But allowing ~amd64 kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1 seems to resolve this block. Now I have to recompile 197 packages, probably going to take entire day. But at least blocks are finally gone. Thanks for your help, genstorm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that's the right thing to do. khelpcenter was actually part of the stabilisation list, but something somewhere apparently went wrong.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 667
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NilPointer wrote:
Yes, probably had to do that in first place. I've removed both l10n packages, but then another block appeared.

Code:
[blocks B      ] <kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1 ("<kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1" is blocking kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3-r2)

Total: 197 packages (4 upgrades, 186 downgrades, 1 new, 3 in new slots, 3 reinstalls, 3 uninstalls), Size of downloads: 598 810 KiB
Conflict: 4 blocks (1 unsatisfied)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

  (kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5:5/5::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
    kde-apps/khelpcenter:* required by (kde-base/kdelibs-4.14.16:4/4.14::gentoo, installed)
    >=kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5 required by (kde-apps/kdecore-meta-15.12.3:5/5::gentoo, installed)
    >=kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5:5 required by (kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.5.5:5/5::gentoo, installed)

  (kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3-r2:5/5::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    >=kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.12.3 required by (kde-apps/kde-apps-meta-15.12.3-r3:5/5::gentoo, installed)


For some reason, stable kde-apps-meta seems depends on unstable yet khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1 (an oversight?). But allowing ~amd64 kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1 seems to resolve this block. Now I have to recompile 197 packages, probably going to take entire day. But at least blocks are finally gone. Thanks for your help, genstorm!



What do you mean "allowing ~amd64 kde-apps/khelpcenter-5.5.5-r1"? what did you do exactly? Add to package.kewords? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is fixed already.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 667
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
This is fixed already.

I am still having the exact same problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just need to re-sync.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 667
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
You just need to re-sync.


Sometimes I am amazed by my own stupidity. LOL

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ch64
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Jun 2010
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For ME, this is not solved!
I don't go to plasma. I leave my kde, i have.

http://pastebin.com/mD1zCAXe

:arrow: Somebody?

:idea: :roll:
http://pastebin.com/BWpCaPAD :wink: (laggy netbook) .. before it didn't lagg.


Last edited by ch64 on Sat May 28, 2016 3:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't want to install Plasma-5 and new applications, then you're actually in the wrong topic. See also: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-7923306.html#7923306
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum