Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hostapd - dual band access point
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 8:35 pm    Post subject: Hostapd - dual band access point Reply with quote

I've finally gotten hardware that can do 802.11ac. Right now I'm still running everything on the 2.4GHz band (so limited to n speeds). What I want to do is create a second AP on the 5GHz band. The card I'm using is a dual band one, so from my understanding it SHOULD be be able to do this. I'm just not sure how to configure hostapd for this. Right now it works fine with either 2.4GHz or 5GHz. I've been reading around, and in some cases it looks like you have to pass 2 separate conf files to it. Does anyone know how to do this? If for some reason my card doesn't support 2.4 and 5GHz at the same time, can someone suggest one that does? I can very easily swap the wifi out on this setup with any mini-PCIe card.

The card I'm using is a Realtek RTL8821AE.

04:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8821AE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter

Here is my current (working) hostapd.conf for the 2.4GHz setup
Code:
interface=wlan0
bridge=br0
country_code=US
logger_syslog=-1
logger_syslog_level=2
logger_stdout=-1
logger_stdout_level=2
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=0
ssid=<snip>
hw_mode=g
channel=9
ieee80211d=1
accept_mac_file=/etc/hostapd/hostapd.accept
deny_mac_file=/etc/hostapd/hostapd.deny
wpa=2
wpa_passphrase=<snip>
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
rsn_pairwise=CCMP
ieee80211n=1
ieee80211ac=1
wmm_enabled=1
own_ip_addr=<snip>


And working config for 5g
Code:
interface=wlan0
bridge=br0
country_code=US
logger_syslog=-1
logger_syslog_level=2
logger_stdout=-1
logger_stdout_level=2
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=0
ssid=<snip>
hw_mode=a
channel=48
ieee80211d=1
accept_mac_file=/etc/hostapd/hostapd.accept
deny_mac_file=/etc/hostapd/hostapd.deny
wpa=2
wpa_passphrase=<snip>
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
rsn_pairwise=CCMP
ieee80211n=1
ieee80211ac=1
wmm_enabled=1
own_ip_addr=<snip>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5968

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It'd help to have the output of `iw list`, the important thing to know first is whether it supports multiple APs on the same card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Akaihiryuu
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've done some more research and this one apparently doesn't support 2 AP's on the same card. I'm curious if anyone does know of any that do though. Mini-PCIe if possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1374
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know it is possible to use a wireless card in AP mode and in Managed mode at the same time. I do it because when the wireless card is in AP mode, I cannot scan the wireless neighborhood. I create a new wireless card with iw like this:
Code:
iw dev wlan0 interface add sta0 type station
ip link set dev sta0 address 00:01:02:03:04:05

I have wlan0 interface with the real MAC address in AP mode and sta0 interface with the virtual MAC address in Managed mode. I can scan the wireless neighborhood even if the card is already in AP mode. I never try to connect to any Access Point with sta0 because I don't need it, of course.

I took this from Internet and I don't remember if the card need a special mode feature for this.This do not resolv you problem but it is an example of a wireless card who can do 2 things at the same time.

I try to create a virtual wireless interface in AP mode from the real one and this is the answer I receive
Code:
iw dev wlan0 interface add sta0 type ap
You need to run a management daemon, e.g. hostapd,
see http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Documentation/hostapd
for more information on how to do that.


So, if Hostapd cannot put a single wireless card in 2 different AP modes at the same time, iw say that you cannot do it virtually too.
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1795
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 7:25 am    Post subject: Re: Hostapd - dual band access point Reply with quote

Akaihiryuu wrote:
I've been reading around, and in some cases it looks like you have to pass 2 separate conf files to it. Does anyone know how to do this?


I was struggeling around with 5GHz as well (ok I gave up), nvm. You just need to add the second configfile in your /etc/conf.d/hostapd like this:

Code:

# Space separated list of configuration files
CONFIGS="/etc/hostapd/hostapd_24ghz.conf /etc/hostapd/hostapd_5ghz.conf"


Restart hostapd and you should see a process like this with "ps ax | grep hostapd"
Code:

 4645 ?        Ss     1:00 /usr/sbin/hostapd -P /run/hostapd.pid -B /etc/hostapd/hostapd_24.conf /etc/hostapd/hostapd_5ghz.conf


greets, bb
_________________
1st: i5-4570, 16GB, 1.75TB
2nd: i5-4570, 16GB, 620GB
3rd: i5-4570, 16GB, 10,5TB
4th: Asus N61VN, 8GB, 240GB
5th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum