Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Qt 5.5 / 5.6 : no x11 forwarding ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nibheis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 10:10 am    Post subject: Qt 5.5 / 5.6 : no x11 forwarding ? Reply with quote

Hi there,

I cannot get Qt 5+ based apps to get X11-forwarded over ssh.
All other apps work (xterm, gimp...). It's not related to dbus (I checked).
I also check with "ssh -XYvvv" and I see no errors.
The apps are running (I see them in "ps") but do not get displayed.
Same behavior on 2 computers (but using a single x-server)

I already asked google... but no results (only dbus related stuff).

What am I missing ??

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No help here, but I see the same bad behaviour

IMHO, X over ssh is one of the great - simple - things about linux

I hope this is just a glitch, not an "improvement"
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jun 2015
Posts: 1074
Location: EU or US

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it work without SSH? Remote X without SSH is even greater thing about X. Has not much to do with Linux, TBH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does it work without SSH? Remote X without SSH is even greater thing about X


how does that even work? (is it secure?)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nibheis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Took some time, but I got it tested.

1) sddm seems to be launching X with -nolisten tcp, ignoring whatever is in /etc/sddm.conf. Grrrrr.

2) I launched 'startx' (changing /etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc) and I got X running without -nolisten tcp, X listening to port 6000.

3) I connected to the headless server with ssh (no -X nor -Y option). export DISPLAY=my-ip-address:0.0 on client, xhost + on host.

Then:
- xterm, xclock are correclty displayed.
- Now the test with Qt apps: yes, they opened on my local x server, finally !! (missing icons, but at least the windows appeared)

So... what is the conclusion ??

Why is the forwarding with ssh not working ? encryption ?
Checking my use flags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nibheis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed the following USE flags on both the headless server and the other machine :

egl
eglfs

and I ran :

emerge -quND --with-bdeps=y @world

Now Qt apps are correctly forwarded.

For the missing icons in plasma5 apps, I had to remove the kde4 config files, launch systemsettings5 to select the breeze icon them, and add a /etc/env.d/99local file with:
XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP=kde

Now I get a "libEGL warning: DRI2: could not open /dev/dri/card0 (No such file or directory)" warning when I launch apps on the server, but the Qt/Plasma apps are forwarded (with icons).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I changed the following USE flags on both the headless server and the other machine :

egl
eglfs


that's very interesting; do you mind posting your "equery hasuse egl / eglfs"

right now, on my systems:

Code:
 equery hasuse egl
 * Searching for USE flag egl ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7:4
[IP-] [  ] dev-qt/qtgui-5.6.0-r1:5/5.6
[IP-] [  ] dev-qt/qtopengl-4.8.7:4
[IP-] [  ] kde-frameworks/plasma-5.22.0:5/5.22
[IP-] [  ] kde-plasma/kinfocenter-5.6.4:5
[IP-] [  ] media-libs/gst-plugins-bad-1.6.3:1.0
[IP-] [  ] media-libs/mesa-11.2.2:0
[IP-] [  ] net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.4.10-r200:2
[IP-] [  ] net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.10.9:4/37
[IP-] [  ] x11-apps/mesa-progs-8.3.0:0

_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nibheis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
equery hasuse egl
 * Searching for USE flag egl ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.7:4
[IP-] [  ] dev-qt/qtgui-5.5.1-r1:5
[IP-] [  ] dev-qt/qtopengl-4.8.7:4
[IP-] [  ] kde-frameworks/plasma-5.21.0:5/5.21
[IP-] [  ] kde-plasma/kinfocenter-5.6.4:5
[IP-] [  ] media-libs/mesa-11.0.6:0
[IP-] [  ] net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.4.10:3/25
[IP-] [  ] net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.4.10-r200:2
[IP-] [  ] x11-apps/mesa-progs-8.2.0:0
[IP-] [  ] x11-libs/libva-1.6.2:0


Code:
equery hasuse eglfs
 * Searching for USE flag eglfs ...
[IP-] [  ] dev-qt/qtgui-5.5.1-r1:5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rebuilt with egl and eglfs flags set on the qt and kde
apps in the equery list

But x forwarding of qt apps still does not work for me ...
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nibheis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On which computer did you recompile ? The one with the X server or the one with the Qt apps ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
On which computer did you recompile ? The one with the X server or the one with the Qt apps ?


both ... and rebooted both
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 1692

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, first off for X11 forwarding through SSH, make sure the X11Forwarding is set to yes for both sides.
Second, according to a quick search, the server side you need to make sure xauth is installed.

There is also reports you need to set X11UseLocalhost no also on the server side.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nibheis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked my 'make.conf' file for reference, and here are all the flags I activated before I got X11 forwarding back :

egl eglfs gles2 libproxy sctp

Not sure all are useful... Still, I got Qt + openssh recompiled and now it works like before.
I have Qt5.5 on one side and Qt5.6 on the other machine.

It's also worth checking the sshd config... but if it working for non-Qt apps it won't help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
There is also reports you need to set X11UseLocalhost no also on the server side.


thanks for that, but it does not help

I have discovered the xpra will forward kde apps without problem (once I got it installed properly :? )

(off topic but: xpra has the nice feature that you can detach /attach to running x programs ...)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum