Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Plasma 5 file search
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 9:59 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Plasma 5 file search Reply with quote

Hi,

Where I could find "file search" in Plasma 5, it used to be kfind, but I have no idea what is called now.


Last edited by Xywa on Fri May 20, 2016 8:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kfind is still around, if you so desire:

Code:
$ emerge -vp kfind

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N     ] kde-apps/libkonq-15.08.3:4/15.08::gentoo  USE="(-aqua) -debug -minimal {-test}" 2.004 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] kde-apps/kfind-15.08.3:4/15.08::gentoo  USE="handbook (-aqua) -debug" 0 KiB

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
kfind is still around, if you so desire:

Code:
$ emerge -vp kfind

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N     ] kde-apps/libkonq-15.08.3:4/15.08::gentoo  USE="(-aqua) -debug -minimal {-test}" 2.004 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] kde-apps/kfind-15.08.3:4/15.08::gentoo  USE="handbook (-aqua) -debug" 0 KiB


Is it this default software for Plasma 5 or is there another tool?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fhede
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2016
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it baloo you looking for ? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/KDE#Desktop_search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no default software for Plasma-5 except maybe baloo and using it e.g. via krunner.

kfind is part of KDE Applications.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
There is no default software for Plasma-5 except maybe baloo and using it e.g. via krunner.

kfind is part of KDE Applications.


I was thinking why such important function is not a part of full Plasma 5 package, like it used to be in last 10 years for ordinary KDE.

p.s.
I have a baloo, from the KDE start menu I have only access to [configure search] and [configure file search], but missing ordinary [search] function.


Last edited by Xywa on Wed May 18, 2016 8:18 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everyone has important functions, in the past Plasma was part of a big release bundle that happened to also contain kfind.

Plasma-5 is just a desktop, you install applications to do work on it. Dolphin isn't part of Plasma-5 as well, but as soon as it is present it will make use of baloo.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mean, I tough kde-plasma/plasma-meta give me all basic & needed packages in compare to eg. kde-plasma/plasma-desktop. I have a baloo, everything is indexed, but I was missing a tool to find files like in old kde-meta sets.

Quote:
The kde-plasma/plasma-meta package provides the full Plasma 5 suite:
root #emerge --ask kde-plasma/plasma-meta

Alternatively, kde-plasma/plasma-desktop provides the basic desktop, leaving you free to install only the extra packages you require:
root #emerge --ask kde-plasma/plasma-desktop


Code:
*  kde-plasma/plasma-meta
      Latest version available: 5.6.4
      Latest version installed: 5.6.4


Last edited by Xywa on Wed May 18, 2016 8:25 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Plasma-5 suite does not contain applications. KDE Applications suite contains applications. ;)

It was in the news item. [2] https://dot.kde.org/2013/09/04/kde-release-structure-evolves

So, when you previously installed kde-meta - now you install plasma-meta and (as an ~arch user) kde-apps-meta.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
The Plasma-5 suite does not contain applications. KDE Applications suite contains applications. ;)

It was in the news item. [2] https://dot.kde.org/2013/09/04/kde-release-structure-evolves


Yes. But I have plenty of other applications in my menu after installing kde-plasma/plasma-meta: games, graphic, multimedia, office, settings, system, with plenty of software - just this one was missing :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xywa wrote:
kde-plasma/plasma-meta: games, graphic, multimedia, office, settings, system, with plenty of software - just this one was missing :)

These do not come from plasma-meta. Probably you have kdebase-meta or kde-meta still installed.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xywa
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 1575
Location: /mnt/Gentoo/Europe

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 8:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks [SOLVED] 8) 8) 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum