Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Where are the Plasma Desktop Settings saved?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 620
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 5:10 pm    Post subject: Where are the Plasma Desktop Settings saved? Reply with quote

Hi,

Before Plasma, KDE would save all of its settings in ~/.kde so when I have problems with KDE saving the settings, I can rm -Rvf ~/.kde4 and start over. Now with plasma, config files are written all over ~/.config and I don't know what to delete to reset my desktop settings.

For those wondering, Plasma did something to the desktop settings configs and can no longer save the state. It use to work as expected, and then one day after upgrade it just stopped working. I set my wallpaper, my monitor layout and my desktop to folder view every time I boot because KDE cannot save the setting. THIS IS NO A PERMISSIONS ISSUE! I own and have access to modify all the files in ~/.config and ~/.kde. This is also not the first time I have had a problem with KDE saving config data after upgrade because something changed in the config format and kde doesn't know how to upgrade itself.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running a full ~amd64 system? Do you use the kde-overlay? Maybe it's some weird version mix up issue.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 620
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No version mix up here, this is all ~arch. Its a consistent problem for me and this isn't the first time I have had this issue popup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 620
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add a test user with an empty profile and go from there?
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 620
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now its change all of my panel layouts. I need to remove all kde config files from .config. Where are these files?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWhat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 620
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried the suggested with a new and Plasma still fucks up right out of the gate. Two monitors with different resolutions still to much for KDE to handle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum