Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Sound not working, gentoo laptop [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Timotej
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 12:40 pm    Post subject: Sound not working, gentoo laptop [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to linux and decided to install Gentoo couple of months ago, kinda made it through most of the problems, except the one that I have no clue what to do about and it is that I have no sound, so I would be really glad if someone would help, there's some info below, if there's anything else needed I'll post it right away.

Output of lspci | grep -i audio:
Code:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Turks/Whistler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6000 Series]


Kernel configuration(as suggested in one of the posts):
Code:
Device Drivers --->
    <*> Sound card support
        <*> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
            [*] PCI sound devices  --->
                <M> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD/ALi AC97 Controller                       
                <M> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD MC97 Modem
                (+ many others)
            HD-Audio --->
                (2048) Pre-allocated buffer size for HD-audio driver                     
                [*] Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver                                 
                -*- Allow dynamic codec reconfiguration                                     
                [  ] Support digital beep via input layer                                     
                [  ] Support jack plugging notification via input layer               
                [*] Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio               
                <M> Build Realtek HD-audio codec support                           
                    *** Set to Y if you want auto-loading the codec driver ***   
                < > Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support                 
                < > Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support                     
                < > Build VIA HD-audio codec support                                   
                <M> Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support           
                    *** Set to Y if you want auto-loading the codec driver ***
                < > Build Cirrus Logic codec support                                     
                < > Build Conexant HD-audio codec support                         
                < > Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support                     
                < > Build Creative CA0132 codec support                             
                < > Build C-Media HD-audio codec support                           
                < > Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support         
                {M} Enable generic HD-audio codec parser                           
                    *** Set to Y if you want auto-loading the codec driver ***
                (0) Default time-out for HD-audio power-save mode


Pulseaudio is not installed.

Output of aplay -l:
Code:
aplay: device_list:268: no soundcards found...


Further, alsa-utils are installed, running and added to boot, but alsamixer isn't working (user is in the audio group):
Code:
# emerge -av alsa-utils
...
Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]


Code:
# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
 * WARNING: alsasound has already been started


Code:
# rc-update add alsasound boot
 * rc-update: alsasound already installed in runlevel `boot'; skipping

(when I turn off computer it gives error saving levels [!!] and then something like alsactl: no soundcards found)

Code:
$ alsamixer
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory


Also I get a notification from KDE sometimes, stating:

Code:
KDE detected that ont or more internal devices were removed.
Do you want KDE to permanently forget about these devices?
This is the list of devices KDE thinks can be removed:
 . Capture: HDA Intel PCH (ALC268VC Analog)
 . Capture: HDA Intel PCH, ALC268VC Analog (Default Audio Device)
 . Output: HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0 (HDMI Audio Output)
 . Output: HDA Intel PCH (ALC268VC Analog)
 . Output HDA Intel PCH, ALC268VC Analog (Default Audio Device)


Last edited by Timotej on Wed May 11, 2016 6:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guitou
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 534
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello.

Looks like you build your sound devices as modules. Then you should ensure proper module is loaded first and you might hopefully get sound then.

++
Gi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timotej
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, should I build them in a different way (in-kernel if I understand correctly) or leave it that way and load the proper module (which is I guess snd_hda_intel?) ? Also, how do i load a module? I mean, I already tried modprobe snd_hda_intel, but nothing happens...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Timotej, you should have just mark all of them as module to let dev manager pickup the right one for you.

If we assume your card is using the realtek one, and that the good one is at least usable, then something other is going on.
And the answer should be in your dmesg so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timotej
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so now all of them are marked as modules, and i rebuilt the kernel as described here (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Kernel/Rebuild). While rebooting, as seen in dmesg, this happened:
Code:
[   14.583514] input: PC Speaker as /devices/platform/pcspkr/input/input9
[   14.593554] iTCO_wdt: Intel TCO WatchDog Timer Driver v1.11
[   14.593586] iTCO_wdt: Found a Panther Point TCO device (Version=2, TCOBASE=0x0460)
[   14.593688] iTCO_wdt: initialized. heartbeat=30 sec (nowayout=0)
[   14.840107] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_ctl_add (err 0)
[   14.840127] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_new (err 0)
[   14.840141] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_card_register (err 0)
[   14.840153] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_card_free (err 0)
[   14.840165] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_lib_preallocate_pages_for_all (err 0)
[   14.840181] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_format_physical_width (err 0)
[   14.840198] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_ctl_new1 (err 0)
[   14.840211] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_card_new (err 0)
[   14.840224] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_lib_malloc_pages (err 0)
[   14.840235] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_lib_ioctl (err 0)
[   14.840247] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_lib_free_pages (err 0)
[   14.840260] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_set_ops (err 0)
[   14.840273] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_device_new (err 0)
[   14.840285] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_format_signed (err 0)
[   14.840297] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_suspend_all (err 0)
[   14.840315] snd_pcsp: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_period_elapsed (err 0)

I guess this is my problem, but I don't understand what it means.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the typical unknown symbol comes from a module that was built using some other modules or dependencies and options
and its deps and options has been change.

and you can easy do that:
- build module cxx and cxx use kernel option ckk, kernel provide ckk
- rebuild cxx and a new kernel with ckk support disable
new cxx doesn't need ckk, old cxx still need ckk, your kernel no more provide ckk : user install new kernel (without ckk support) and user forget to install modules, old cxx will be use, and old cxx will complain that symbols from ckk are missing.

you can also do it because of the newer kernel:
- build a new kernel with ckk support, build module cxx with ckk support
- install cxx but forget (or fail) to install new kernel
now cxx is trying to use ckk with the old kernel that doesn't have ckk support.

to sumup, it mean you need to rebuild kernel and modules and make sure they are both install (module and kernel), and it's as easy as forget to mount /boot (so new kernel gets install in directory /boot of your / partition and not in the /boot partition), or typo in kernel (like booting /boot/vmlinuz and user copy the new kernel as /boot/vmlinux).
A good way to check your kernel rebuild was fine: check your kernel build version with uname -a
Linux beleg 3.18.30 #4 (that's the #4 that you care about)
once you have build and install a kernel uname -a should output an increase build version (logically #5 or more, but no more #4)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54216
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Timotej,

Kernel related Unknown symbol errocrs usually come from running a kernel and modules from different builds of the same kernel.
Sometimes the kernel build system gets confused and does not rebuild things it needs to. Other times the user makes an error, like not mounting boot for the kernel install.
That means the old kernel is used with the new modules.

To sort this out, rebuild the kernel starting with
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make clean
This removes all the existing binary files that the kernel make system might otherwise reuse, so everything has to be rebuilt.
Any Unknown symbol errors after the kernel install and reboot are due to the kernel install process.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if this is helpful to you, but I am having the following issue with a hda-intel card: If I suspend the laptop, the sound device is not recognized anymore. Also, if I let powertop regulate th energy saving for hda-intel, after suspend it's gone. So far the only "fix" I found is to dual boot into windows. After that the sound works again. Also try if your laptop has a hotkey for enabling/disabling the sound device.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timotej
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rebuilt the kernel again, writing these commands:
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make clean
make
make modules_install
mount /boot
make install
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
reboot


After typing grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg, I got:
Code:
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-4.1.15-gentoo-r1
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.1.15-gentoo-r1
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.1.15-gentoo-r1
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.1.15-gentoo-r1
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-4.1.15-gentoo-r1.old
Found initrd image: /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-4.1.15-gentoo-r1
done


So, I'm sensing that grub chose the old kernel to boot from, so that actually nothing new happened, when I changed those sound devices to <M>.
And I guess I'm not doing it right with the line mount /boot ? Should I also have to copy something like:
Code:
cp -v /usr/src/arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage vmlinuz-4.1.15-gentoo-r1
?
And same for initramfs? I don't really understand the logic behind that...

Also as someone above pointed out to check the number in the output of uname -a, mine is still #1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 1917

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2016 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I am not exactly sure if "make install" also works with grub2 (still on grub legacy because of hassle-freeness).
If you want to make it 100% sure, do:
Code:

cp  /usr/src/arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/vmlinuz-4.1.15-gentoo-r1

of course with mounted /boot partition if you use an extra partition.
_________________
"Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous."
Albert Einstein
"The road to success is always under construction"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timotej
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so I tried again with the following procedure
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
(changed settings as described below)
make clean
make
make modules_install
mount /boot
cp /usr/src/arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/vmlinuz-4.1.15-gentoo-r1
make install
grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
reboot


In kernel:
Code:
Device Drivers --->
    <M> Sound card support
        <M> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
            [*] PCI sound devices  --->
                <M> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD/ALi AC97 Controller                       
                <M> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD MC97 Modem
                (+ many others, all with <M>)
            HD-Audio --->
                (2048) Pre-allocated buffer size for HD-audio driver                     
                [ * ] Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver                                 
                - * - Allow dynamic codec reconfiguration                                     
                [ * ] Support digital beep via input layer                                     
                [ * ] Support jack plugging notification via input layer               
                [ * ] Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio               
                <M> Build Realtek HD-audio codec support                           
                <M> Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support                 
                <M> Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support                     
                <M> Build VIA HD-audio codec support                                   
                <M> Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support           
                <M> Build Cirrus Logic codec support                                     
                <M> Build Conexant HD-audio codec support                         
                <M> Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support                     
                <M> Build Creative CA0132 codec support                             
                <M> Build C-Media HD-audio codec support                           
                <M> Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support         
                {M} Enable generic HD-audio codec parser                           
                (0) Default time-out for HD-audio power-save mode


and it works :)

PS.: Someone smarter and with more experience than me, should consider editing https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Kernel/Rebuild if, of course, the line where you copy (cp /usr/src/arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage /boot/vmlinuz-4.1.15-gentoo-r1) is necessary for everyone to do, when rebuilding kernel.

Thank you all for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum