Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is there any point in running stable Gentoo anymore?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
leifbk
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 11:46 am    Post subject: Is there any point in running stable Gentoo anymore? Reply with quote

I have been running stable Gentoo on my desktop since 2003, first on x86 and since 2010 on amd64, and have mostly been satisfied with it. However, with the current Plasma 5 upgrade, I've felt like trapped in a limbo, halfway between packages marked as stable, and a package.keywords file that was becoming seriously ugly. Yesterday I finally inserted ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" in my make.conf file and then naively started an "emerge -avUDN @world". After a while, the compiling started to crash, and a bit of googling revealed that I had better upgrade gcc 4.9.3 -> 5.3.0 first. Then, after the usual toolchain fixes, I did an overnight "emerge -e @world", and a couple of hours ago I rebooted into my newly built system. I had expected some trouble, but to my utter amazement both boot and login worked perfectly. Plasma behaves a lot better now than it did with the "stable"; the annoying plasmashell segfaults whenever I hovered above the taskbar has totally disappeared.

Somehow, running stable Gentoo has started to make increasingly less sense. As of running unstable, some bloopers with premature updates should probably be expected. But watching this excellent forum has always helped me out before, and I don't think any package upgrade can seriously bork my system beyond salvaging. This looks good :)
asturm
Developer
Developer

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote