Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Plasma help... [fixed]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 4:35 am    Post subject: Plasma help... [fixed] Reply with quote

I just upgraded to kde5 and plasma and plasma is crashing multiple times per day. On one machine I get a nice little message, on the other it's just chaos. window manager just shuts down.

x2goclient give me black windows with no data.

I felt I had no choice but to upgrade because I couldn't get emerge world to update without conflicts. But man, my machines are a mess.

Is there a way to fix this without installing another window manager?

I might go with lightdm on my multimedia machine...

Anyone have any advice?

Thanks in advance.


Update: upgrading to Plasma 5.6 fixed the issue. Plasma recovers after a monitor power loss when you attempt to do something (not automagically when the monitor turns back on, it's a bit strange).
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.


Last edited by RayDude on Fri May 13, 2016 8:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anything at all in the logs which provides a hint? Are you on x86, amd64, ~x86 or ~amd64, or kde-overlay? Which GPU and drivers are you using. Often these problems are related to the GPU or driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mhex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 139
Location: Germany/Berlin

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which display server do you use?

X11/Xorg or Wayland?

With Wayland i had problems to even start the Plasma 5 desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
npaust
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Location: Walla Walla, WA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have power saving set on your screen? On my system (and from searches of the interwebs, LOTS OF OTHER SYSTEMS), there's a bug with QT and KDE where kwin/plasma just crashes anytime the monitor is turned off or goes to sleep.

From the looks of things, the QT people think they've fixed the problem with QT 5.6 but the plasma workspace still crashes, so the error exists somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks everyone.

My laptop seems very stable with plasma + Xorg. I'm using latest stable nvidia drivers.

I don't use wayland. I've disabled all screen savers on this machine.

With my media machine, plasma crashes at least once a day. So bad that I have to restart X11 to recover.

This is probably not related, but I just noticed this:

Code:
Apr 25 05:05:42 server kernel: conftest[11186]: segfault at 0 ip 00007fcc7e9dd75a sp 00007ffeae6704e8 error 4 in libc-2.21.so[7fcc7e94d000+191000]


This is probably related:
Code:
Apr 29 03:48:10 server kernel: kactivitymanage[6193]: segfault at 7fe77169cc50 ip 00007fe771728071 sp 00007ffed4ab00e8 error 4 in libQt5Sql.so.5.5.1[7fe771714000+3f000]


I wonder if mythtv is causing problems... I did an emerge -e @world with gcc 4.9.3 to make sure everything was kosher...

Where else do I look to debug this?
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danomac
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 873
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2016 4:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Plasma help... Reply with quote

RayDude wrote:
I just upgraded to kde5 and plasma and plasma is crashing multiple times per day. On one machine I get a nice little message, on the other it's just chaos. window manager just shuts down.


I had this problem and reverted back to kde4. The machine I tried it on has a nvidia card, not sure if that makes any difference. After that experience I did not try upgrading any of my other machines.

RayDude wrote:

x2goclient give me black windows with no data.


x2go is 100% not compatible with plasma. Full stop. From their wiki:

Quote:

KDE

KDE 3: Compatible and no workaround required
KDE 4: Compatible and no workaround required
KDE 5: Incompatible due to plasmashell requiring GLX 1.3



RayDude wrote:

Is there a way to fix this without installing another window manager?

I might go with lightdm on my multimedia machine...


If using x2go you will have the least problems with one of the fully supported desktops. I installed Mate on mine specifically to use with x2go, even kde4 was doing weird things when using x2goclient.

RayDude wrote:

Anyone have any advice?


I wish I did, but I'm avoiding plasma until it's more stable. While it's not as bad as the kde4 transition, plasma is not ready for daily use. Quite a few apps and such are not ported yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm remote logging in with openbox. that problem is solved.

But, every time I turn off my monitor, I get a plasma crash.

I found a few threads talking about the issue and suggesting fixes, but the workarounds I tried didn't help.

I have to restart X every time I turn on the display on this machine.

It's just ridiculous.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6824
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It happens on my system as well since I bought a new 4K display - it has a different standby behaviour, triggering the Qt bug. Plasma-5.6 however is always able to recover within a second.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
It happens on my system as well since I bought a new 4K display - it has a different standby behaviour, triggering the Qt bug. Plasma-5.6 however is always able to recover within a second.


Oh. upgrade to 5.6... Hmmm I'll consider it.

Thanks.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayDude
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 1488
Location: San Jose, CA

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2016 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update Plasma 5.6 fixed the issue.
_________________
Some day there will only be free software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum