Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
screen tearing/flicker kde plasma 5[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 11:02 am    Post subject: screen tearing/flicker kde plasma 5[SOLVED] Reply with quote

i have a bad screen tearing flickering.
i am on gentoo amd64 and nvidia 361.28

i had the same problem with kde4 and the <<solution>> was to set system-settings --> display-monitor --> compositor --> vsync from cheap to none and back to cheap.Now i cannot find any solution and it is very bad for my eyes especially in video and games


Last edited by gentoorockerfr on Sat May 07, 2016 7:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schrdlu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 58
Location: Adelaide Sth Australia

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 2:42 pm    Post subject: Re: screen tearing/flicker kde plasma 5 Reply with quote

gentoorockerfr wrote:
i have a bad screen tearing flickering.
i am on gentoo amd64 and nvidia 361.28

i had the same problem with kde4 and the <<solution>> was to set system-settings --> display-monitor --> compositor --> vsync from cheap to none and back to cheap.Now i cannot find any solution and it is very bad for my eyes especially in video and games


My system is slightly differing from yours in that I'm using the nouveau drivers,which dont have the ability to reconfigure,having said that I have reset the gamma to a lower level,and so far there is an improvement,in the tearing effect. Also I'm happier with the dimmer screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2016 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sometimes the eyes confused but the true is that the bad flickering is here..any other solution?
thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blaine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2016 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Create the file:
Code:
/etc/profile.d/kwin_triple_buffer.sh
containing this line:
Quote:
export KWIN_TRIPLE_BUFFER=1
Make it executable:
Quote:
chmod +x /etc/profile.d/kwin_triple_buffer.sh

Then, either reboot or issue the following command (as user):
Quote:
source /etc/profile.d/kwin_triple_buffer.sh && kwin_x11 --replace &

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoorockerfr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

excellent!!!!thank you!!!!this is a SOLUTION!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum