Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Plasma 5 problem with Kickoff shutdown/restart... icons
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thurnax
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2014
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:03 pm    Post subject: KDE Plasma 5 problem with Kickoff shutdown/restart... icons Reply with quote

Something that attracted me with Plasma5 was it simplistic design, and in the past when I wanted to "Leave" the Session or the System I had the following menu:

http://postimg.org/image/ldk6nkh8x/

and I was happy with that. But now, after a recent update I ended up with this menu:

http://postimg.org/image/grn3ou5v7/

Which I'm much less happy with.

To revert back to the old menu I tried to replace the file /usr/share/plasma/desktoptheme/default/icons/system.svgz with the old "system.svgz" file but that didn't help. I even tried editing the new one with Inkscape and remove those colorful icons but that didn't help either. I even tried to put custom files inside ~/.local/share/plasma/desktoptheme/default/ but that didn't help. I even tried to copy the monochrome "system-..." icons in /usr/share/icons/breeze/apps/22 into /usr/share/icons/breeze/apps/32 and so on but that turned out to be pointless.

I'm at wits end here.

Does anyone know how those menu items inside the Kickoff menu work, what application that manages those system shutdown icons and where those settings files are stored?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfgauss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 531
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Kickoff under System I have only Suspend but would like Restart and Shutdown. As a workaround I simply reboot at the shell. I have kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2 installed.

Does anyone know how to get these two missing commands back?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thurnax
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2014
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quite recently I started this thread:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1043038.html

I think your issues are related to that thread. Strange though that you have KDE Plasma 5.6.2 while a recent update I did only took me to 5.5.5.

It seems that my old LeaveView icons went back to monochrome. Now they are using my InkScaped icon set. It took a lot of fiddling with new themes that corrupted my old setup, and a restart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfgauss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 531
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thurnax wrote:
Strange though that you have KDE Plasma 5.6.2 while a recent update I did only took me to 5.5.5.

I had just installed kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2 when I posted, and on a reboot I now have Suspend, Restart, and Shutdown, so evidently version 5.6.2 provides that functionality. Note that kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2 is ~amd64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thurnax
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2014
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I even have 5.6.2 in the /usr/portage directory but that's not what gets installed when I "emerge --update @world".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfgauss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 531
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thurnax wrote:
Yes, I even have 5.6.2 in the /usr/portage directory but that's not what gets installed when I "emerge --update @world".

If you're not keyworded for unstable packages then emerge won't install the unstable version 5.6.2. However,
Code:
# USE=~amd64 emerge kde-plasma/plasma-desktop
should work. However, after a bit of use, I find that I get the three options Suspend, Restart, and Shutdown only about half the time. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6822
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoo bugzilla is your friend: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=579564

It's an initialisation/startup order problem.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfgauss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 531
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Gentoo bugzilla is your friend: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=579564

Thanks. I created a script (as suggested in the related Forum post) and will test it when I'm missing reboot/shutdown options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfgauss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 531
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cfgauss wrote:
Thanks. I created a script (as suggested in the related Forum post) and will test it when I'm missing reboot/shutdown options.

The suggestion to respawn kded5 followed by plasmashell does not work for me. Now I get Suspend, Restart, and Shutdown as menu options 0% of the time. :( Back to the reliable shell reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebB
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 730
Location: S.O. France

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You use startx or sdm?
If startx can you post your .xinitrc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfgauss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 531
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sebB wrote:
You use startx or sdm?

I use sddm as display manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cfgauss
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 531
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thurnax wrote:
Quite recently I started this thread:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1043038.html
I think your issues are related to that thread. .

I agree and posted a solution which works for me in that thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum