Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Staying with KDE-4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gatsby
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 54
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:30 am    Post subject: Re: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Gatsby wrote:
As a longtime KDE user I was always using *kit free KDE-setups. At the moment I've got three Gentoo systems running with a *kit free Plasma5/KF5.
It was only necessary to remove some dependencies in 3 ebuilds manually. (kde-frameworks/solid, kde-plasma/plasma-desktop, kde-plasma/powerdevil)

Oh! Last I tried, stuff really didn't like to configure if something was missing... but that was a while ago.

Will give it another shot soon. Thanks!


You're welcome. :D

Regards, Gatsby
_________________
Γνωθι σεαυτον.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Feb 2015
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Re: Fixing Plasma 5 regressions
Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:29 pm
There are many features from KDE 4.x that are no longer present in Plasma 5.
In the past 3 years, I have given up hope that Plasma 5 will ever IMHO reach parity with KDE 4.

https://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=289&t=138357&p=370158&hilit=konqueror#p370158


And today, I learn of a brand new regression:
Quote:


Konqueror Profiles Deprecated -- What now?
Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:22 pm
So, I just updated my Konqueror only to find that File Management is no longer a profile. Worse yet, --profile option is ignored and marked as deprecated...

I tried searching for a solution to this problem, as in what's the new option to use, but nothing. So far I can't find a single page mentioning the removal of the profile option.

What I had was a default profile that automatically opened some tabs and included a side bar with all the mounted devices for easy access... Now I can't find a way to neither save nor reload a session and I'm still trying to figure out how to bring back said sidebar...

I also noted there is a Session configuration but whenever I try to use it (File -> Sessions -> Manage... -> Add New) it never keeps the settings: if I close the Manage Sessions window and reopen it, its always empty... If this is the solution, there is a bug involved (or some permission problem). I still wouldn't know how to start a previously saved session, though.


https://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=138895&p=371856&hilit=konqueror#p371856
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fortunately for us, staying with KDE-4, we can mask konqueror:5
and carry on using konqueror:4 ; profiles and all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6468
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I certainly don't mind people using konqueror:4 for a while longer - at least the work to split off konsolepart:4 and incorporate dolphinpart:4 into konqueror does pay off. That is in no way connected to your choice of desktop environment though.

In the long run though, libkonq (and svgpart, and kfmclient) would also need to be bundled with konqueror as that is gone in 16.12.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic


Last edited by asturm on Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Feb 2015
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the heads up asturm.

I am really sick of those constant regressions, and this last one to hit the fan appears to be a major one.

I would like to help: would you and other gentoo developers provide me guidance on how to maintain a series of patches restoring all the features that are being removed? The patch could be controlled with a USE flag (off by default).
I work 80+ hours a week, so my time is limited. But I feel so strongly about such unacceptable regressions that I am willing to invest some time. Bugs related to the patch set can be assigned to me, etc. But it will work only if I get at least some assistance by people like you who know the code base better, and if the patch set is committed to the official gentoo tree so that the whole community can benefit and help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nollo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 33
Location: Ferrara - Italy

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello
I want to thank you very much, especially proteusx, following his instructions I finally could upgrade my gentoo-kde box (with some hacks from myself).

Thank you.
_________________
λάθε βιώσας
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6468
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

augustin wrote:
I would like to help: would you and other gentoo developers provide me guidance on how to maintain a series of patches restoring all the features that are being removed? The patch could be controlled with a USE flag (off by default).

I can show you the commit that ported away from profiles: https://cgit.kde.org/konqueror.git/commit/?id=e65125f9a28d5bfffcb135e9cc19d22dba3c8a2f

There's really only one place where this can be fixed though, and that is upstream. Before you approach anyone there, you should change your attitude - these changes happen as part of porting work, and in most cases there will be a good reason for it. For sure, just reverting the commit will not be enough; the old code will need porting to kf5/qt5.

Gentoo is not going to add heavy downstream patches, it is against our policy.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Feb 2015
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you asturm for the link to the commit and the info. :) I'll see what I can do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nollo wrote:
... (with some hacks from myself)

Please tell us about your hacks.
They could be useful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nollo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2013
Posts: 33
Location: Ferrara - Italy

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@proteusx

most of the hacks are about localization, I added the followings to package.unmask.kde4:
Code:

kde-apps/kdegraphics-mobipocket::my-overlays
kde-apps/kde-l10n::my-overlays
kde-apps/kimgio::my-overlays
kde-apps/systemsettings::my-overlays
kde-apps/kdepim-l10n::my-overlays


and copy the relatives ebuilds to my-overlays, then I modified the kde-apps/kdepim-l10n/kdepim-l10n-4.4.11.1-r2
removing

Code:

RDEPEND="
   !<kde-apps/kde-l10n-15.08.0-r1


to remove the block of kdepim-l10n; now systemsettings and kdepim are coherent with localization. The only problem is that I had to remove localization on k3b.

Please let me not if the above make sense.
_________________
λάθε βιώσας
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proteusx
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@nollo

Thank you for you reply.
Yes it makes sense. Although I do not use localization
what you posted may be useful to someone who does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sidamos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that the old profile is gone, I decided to finally upgrade to Plasma 5 (again).

I have removed KDE related entries in package.mask and I am following the upgrade guide.

I am on profile
[6] default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma *

I am now at step
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE/Plasma_5_upgrade#Apply_the_changes

There, I got merge conflicts about ffmpeg, qtwebkit and notification-daemon-0, that I did not understand. So, I removed them (which seems to help sometimes) and tried again.

But I still get conflicts about qtwebkit:
http://pastebin.com/syBhjrdq

Any hints would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1531
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sidamos,

I unmerged media-libs/phonon-gstreamer and added the following to package.use to get rid of the qtwebkit:4 problem when updating my ~amd64 installation:

Code:
dev-qt/qtwebkit:4 -gstreamer
dev-qt/qtwebkit:5 gstreamer
media-libs/phonon -gstreamer vlc

_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, OpenRC, nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, OpenRC, xf86-video-ati, dual booting with Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both laptops.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sidamos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, that fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sidamos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems that Plasma 5 is still not mature, at least the screen locker isn't. :-(

In 2 hours, the lock screen crashed twice, displaying that silly text about using some systemd tool to rescue the session and also twice the complete original session crashed while switching to another local session. :-(

And BTW, typing the password on the lock screen does not display dots for each letter for whatever reason.

Also, I still can't find a remote desktop solution for Plasma 5.

So, for those who do not mind the effort: Continue staying on KDE 4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6468
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sidamos wrote:
In 2 hours, the lock screen crashed twice

That's not normal. You have some config/permissions problem then. You can always open a support thread so we can investigate.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sidamos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
sidamos wrote:
In 2 hours, the lock screen crashed twice

That's not normal. You have some config/permissions problem then. You can always open a support thread so we can investigate.


Thanks, done: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8036222.html#8036222
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DJ_Rubbie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 38
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like some packages are starting to show their age - if `ffmpeg` is updated to 3.2 (the current stable version) then the package `=kde-apps/ffmpegthumbs-4.14.3::kde-sunset` will fail to compile via the following

Code:

In file included from /var/tmp/portage/kde-apps/ffmpegthumbs-4.14.3/work/ffmpegthumbs-4.14.3/ffmpegthumbnailer/moviedecoder.cpp:17:0:
/var/tmp/portage/kde-apps/ffmpegthumbs-4.14.3/work/ffmpegthumbs-4.14.3/ffmpegthumbnailer/moviedecoder.h:55:31: error: ‘PixelFormat’ has not been declared
     void convertAndScaleFrame(PixelFormat format, int scaledSize, bool maintain
...


This has been reported on the kde-freebsd list and the issue on the freebsd tracker seem to have a working patch for ffmpeg 3. Would be great if that patch somehow can be included with a new ebuild...
_________________
Please direct all bug reports to /dev/null
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ganthore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 16
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the REMOVAL of kde-base/kdelibs, I'm seeing various apps failing to compile since kde4-config is needed. So far I can't rebuild kde-apps/kget or kde-apps/kdebase-kioslaves. :-(

I guess I'll dig through the bug tracker and see if anyone else has this problem.

Update:
I couldn't find anything relevant, so I opened a bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=613246
_________________
Regards,
-Ganthore


Last edited by ganthore on Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6468
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure where you see a removal of kdelibs:

Code:
eshowkw kdelibs
Keywords for kde-frameworks/kdelibs:                                                                                                                               
           |                                 |   u        |                                                                                                         
           | a a         p s   a     n r     |   n        | 
           | l m   h i   p p   r m m i i s   | e u s      | r
           | p d a p a p c a x m i 6 o s 3   | a s l      | e
           | h 6 r p 6 p 6 r 8 6 p 8 s c 9 s | p e o      | p
           | a 4 m a 4 c 4 c 6 4 s k 2 v 0 h | i d t      | o
-----------+---------------------------------+------------+-------
4.14.29-r1 | o + ~ o o ~ ~ o + o o o o o o o | 6 o 4/4.14 | gentoo


Both packages continue to build fine.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ganthore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 16
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey asturm,

Please pay close attention to the package name that I cited :-)
kde-base/kdelibs, not kde-frameworks/kdelibs

Code:
golbez portage # ls /usr/portage/ | grep kde-base
golbez portage #

golbez portage # emerge kdelibs --nodeps -pv && which kde4-config

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

[ebuild   R    ] kde-frameworks/kdelibs-4.14.29-r1:4/4.14::gentoo  USE="acl bzip2 crypt handbook jpeg2k kerberos lzma nls openexr opengl (policykit) spell ssl udev udisks upower webkit zeroconf (-altivec) (-aqua) -debug -doc (-fam) (-libressl) {-test}" CPU_FLAGS_X86="3dnow mmx sse sse2" 11,372 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 11,372 KiB

 * IMPORTANT: 19 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
 * Use eselect news read to view new items.

which: no kde4-config in (/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.9.4:/opt/nvidia-cg-toolkit/bin:/opt/cuda/bin)
golbez portage #


I suppose my build env could have some sort of post-upgrade fluke going on?
_________________
Regards,
-Ganthore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6468
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kde-frameworks/kdelibs IS kde-base/kdelibs after the rename.

Code:
# equery b kde4-config
 * Searching for kde4-config ...
kde-frameworks/kdelibs-4.14.29-r1 (/usr/bin/kde4-config)

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ganthore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 16
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right but my installation of the new version lacks kde4-config which is why I showed what `which` was detecting :-) Maybe the removal of kde-base/kdelibs took kde4-config with it on the way out?

I guess I'll doing a complete re-installation of the kde-frameworks/kdelibs package and hope the file shows up.
_________________
Regards,
-Ganthore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6468
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then something is wrong with your installation. Your output clearly shows that kdelibs is installed, so kde4-config must be there.

You cannot have removed kde-base/kdelibs because that package atom is invalid at the point of rename to kde-frameworks/kdelibs.

You could run 'equery k kdelibs'
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ganthore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 16
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably worth noting that my installation is big and old, so upgrades are always a frustrating problem when it comes to resolving conflicts after packages get removed/renamed/etc.

I suspect that this happened in a weird order and I think this is how it happened:
1) kde-base/kdelibs and kde-frameworks/kdelibs may have both been registered as installed packages (How? I have no idea).
2) When I removed kde-base/kdelibs, I suspect that took kde4-config with it.

I rebuilt kde-frameworks/kdelibs and it appears to be working now.

Thanks for the review. At least I now know that kde-frameworks/kdelibs is supposed to provide the file. :-)
_________________
Regards,
-Ganthore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 9 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum