Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Staying with KDE-4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sidamos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did what @genstorm advised and my KDE 4 installation is still working after the update.

I am using profile default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde and I removed all KDE specific masks.

As for line 95: See the post by @genstorm about kde-apps/kde4-l10n. You have to remove its entry in packages.use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ganthore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 16
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This past week... trying to upgrade my normal packages + dealing with the plasma 5 upgrade has been awful.

Fortunately, I keep fluxbox on standby for when package upgrade problems like this happen...

I realized that kde-meta will pull in the newer plasma 5 stuff now, so I removed the entire KDE suite and am currently installing the kdebase-startkde package based off what I read here:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/KDE#Plasma_4

Seems that earlier posts about masking various things with ":5" will block kdebase-startkde from installing, so I've removed those masks and in the process of gently installing the base framework first (we'll see what happens later)!

To add to the confusion.... Some apps require qt5 now, so you also can't say USE="-qt5 qt4" anymore. :-/

From there I'll try to rebuild my mask list as needed, just depends on how world reacts to my upgrade request later...
_________________
Regards,
-Ganthore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ganthore wrote:
From there I'll try to rebuild my mask list as needed, just depends on how world reacts to my upgrade request later...

What kind of mask do you have in mind? It makes no sense imo. Having kdebase-startkde in your world file is enough to keep Plasma-5 from being installed. There is no slot 4 kde-apps version left where you could prevent an upgrade to slot 5.

After removing kdebase-meta or kde-meta, don't forget to install one (or more) of the kde-apps/ meta packages (look it up in the guide) or you would lose your apps on the next depclean.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@nelsonwcf
I agree on what you wrote about kde 5.
I've got it on a separate partition to test it.
You're right about it being not ready.
But it was not Gentoo's decision,upstream did it,God knows why.

When I run kde5 visiting a tty to do something:On return the panel/taskbar is black.
Only way to get it normal log out and log in.
No way you can set separate widgets for different virtual desktops.
Set windows can cover panel,works when it please.
I could go on,this is kde3 --> kde4 all over.
For the time being I don't upgrade kde4,once kde 5 is in good shape I will.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerard82 wrote:
When I run kde5 visiting a tty to do something:On return the panel/taskbar is black.
Only way to get it normal log out and log in.

I've never had an issue like that, and it doesn't ring a bell of any Plasma-5 issue I've heard. Sounds like a problem with your graphics stack, tbh.

gerard82 wrote:
No way you can set separate widgets for different virtual desktops.

Use activities.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ganthore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2014
Posts: 16
Location: Raleigh, NC

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
What kind of mask do you have in mind? It makes no sense imo. Having kdebase-startkde in your world file is enough to keep Plasma-5 from being installed. There is no slot 4 kde-apps version left where you could prevent an upgrade to slot 5.

After removing kdebase-meta or kde-meta, don't forget to install one (or more) of the kde-apps/ meta packages (look it up in the guide) or you would lose your apps on the next depclean.


I meant that rebuilding specific versioned packages that have certain masks will often downgrade you to a diff version is all.

Good news! After I completely removed kde/qt stuff, then re-merged with kdebase-startkde, everything went back to "normal" and the package manager isn't complaining or trying to pull in garbage I don't want.

The only downside is that I have to cherry pick certain apps that I use, rather than rely on kde-meta to pull in the whole suite...

No biggie, I just pulled in ksnapshot, kcalc and a couple of other doodads. :-)
_________________
Regards,
-Ganthore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sidamos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have again unsolvable blocks during update:

http://pastebin.com/p8KWCk7H

http://pastebin.com/SWihZFZ0

Any hints would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just one:

Code:
[blocks B      ] <dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.10.4:4[gstreamer] ("<dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.10.4:4[gstreamer]" is blocking media-libs/phonon-gstreamer-4.9.0)


https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1048642.html
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sidamos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peppev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
ganthore wrote:
From there I'll try to rebuild my mask list as needed, just depends on how world reacts to my upgrade request later...

What kind of mask do you have in mind? It makes no sense imo. Having kdebase-startkde in your world file is enough to keep Plasma-5 from being installed. There is no slot 4 kde-apps version left where you could prevent an upgrade to slot 5.

After removing kdebase-meta or kde-meta, don't forget to install one (or more) of the kde-apps/ meta packages (look it up in the guide) or you would lose your apps on the next depclean.



Trying to following your advice to keep KDE4 on my gentoo boxes.
I kept kdebase-startkde on my world file and the system seems to have been updated correctly.

The problem is at "emerge --depclean" time: emerge is trying to uninstall all my kde apps, as you wrote.

It is not clear to me what to do to keep them: install kde-apps/kde-apps-meta is enough?

G. Vitillaro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that's what I've been talking about.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peppev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Yes, that's what I've been talking about.


Yep, apologies for asking, I was "almost" sure, you confirmation is really appreciated.

Just doing it (after a BACKUP), seems to work correctly.

I hope it will also run correctly ;-)


Unfortuntaley kde-apps/kdeartwork* packages are masked now:

The following installed packages are masked:
- kde-apps/kdeartwork-weatherwallpapers-15.08.3::gentoo (masked by: package.mask)
/usr/portage/profiles/package.mask:
# Johannes Huber <johu@gentoo.org> (1 Aug 2016)
# Masked for removal in 30 days. Dead by upstream. Last release
# with 15.08. Exported to kde-sunset overlay.

and I can't find the "kde-sunset" overlay on my layman repo list.

Any idea?

G. Vitillaro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peppev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

By the way, a general question.

How difficult will be, at the right time, the migration to KDE5, following this path?

Will be smoother? Or a complete KDE uninstall is adviced?

G. Vitillaro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uninstall wasn't necessary before and isn't now, if anything, it's getting easier and easier as a lot of blocking stuff was already removed from tree and KDE Applications will be already present on your system. The upgrade guide to Plasma-5 is still valid.

kde-sunset has no maintainer, that's why it was removed from layman list.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peppev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just finished to add kde-apps meta and kde-base/kdeplasma-addons.

This, beside masqued or removed packages, is what "depclean" is still trying to unmerge:

kde-apps/kuser
kde-apps/kgamma
kde-apps/klinkstatus
kde-apps/drkonqi
kde-apps/libkdcraw
kde-base/krosspython
kde-apps/kgpg
kde-base/kdm
kde-apps/nsplugins
kde-apps/konsolepart
kde-apps/konq-plugins
kde-base/kscreensaver
kde-apps/konqueror
kde-apps/kfind
kde-apps/keditbookmarks


Of course I need kdm and I use kgamma,kgpg.

Am I still missing any meta or I should simply manually add to my world file the packages I need from this list?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't strictly need KDM as you can use any login manager and KDM's remaining time is limited.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peppev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
You don't strictly need KDM as you can use any login manager and KDM's remaining time is limited.


Understood, just testing sddm, not really happy so far ;-(

Thank you so much for the hints and advices genstorm, I found them really useful, used together
with the Gentoo KDE Wiki page.

Wondering now on what the "reasonable time", quoted in the Gentoo news "KDE Plasma 5 Upgrade",
means.

Do you have a reasonable estimate of the timeframe before Gentoo KDE users, like me,
will be "forced" to upgrade?

May I hope will be long enough to find KDE5 in a good shape?

G. Vitillaro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no KDE5. Plasma-4 may be dropped when most multiscreen issues have been ironed out in Plasma-5. I guess it will be assessed with 5.7(.5) stabilisation, and then once again with 5.8...
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peppev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
There is no KDE5. Plasma-4 may be dropped when most multiscreen issues have been ironed out in Plasma-5. I guess it will be assessed with 5.7(.5) stabilisation, and then once again with 5.8...


Ops, sorry, "plasma-5", which, I guess, has its keypoint in the "kde-plasma/plasma-workspace" package, stable at
release 5.6.5.1-r2 in my recently sync portage.

Instead "plasma-4" should be "kde-base/plasma-workspace" (currently stable 4.11.22), kept in place
by the "infamous" (for me) line "kde-base/kdebase-startkde" of the gentoo "world" file.

So, I should keep an eye on the "kde-plasma/plasma-workspace" release: at some point between the 5.7 and 5.8
stabilization process I will probably find "kde-base/plasma-workspace" masked (I hope with some kindly news from gentoo)
and I will be constrained to remove "kde-base/kdebase-startkde" to "unlock" plasma-5 and at the same time
follow the gentoo KDE migration guide.

If I understood the "migration pattern" the gentoo KDE maintainers are drawing, we are already actually
upgrading most of the KDE apps and when plasma-5 will be ready (ready in the sense of correctness),
the upgrade should be quite simple to perform.

Did I get the picture correctly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

peppev wrote:
If I understood the "migration pattern" the gentoo KDE maintainers are drawing, we are already actually
upgrading most of the KDE apps and when plasma-5 will be ready (ready in the sense of correctness),
the upgrade should be quite simple to perform.

That's what you do, but the actual migration has already taken place and was Plasma-5 first, Applications afterwards. Plasma-4 just happens to stay around for those that can not deal with Plasma-5 right now. Upgrade becomes simpler as a side-effect of KDE SC 4.14.3 removal and streamlining that you have already seen (and irritated some users spotting 'evil' kde-frameworks dependencies).

Of course when Plasma-4 is about to be treecleaned you will get the usual 3-weeks-in-advance mask for removal.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peppev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
peppev wrote:
If I understood the "migration pattern" the gentoo KDE maintainers are drawing, we are already actually
upgrading most of the KDE apps and when plasma-5 will be ready (ready in the sense of correctness),
the upgrade should be quite simple to perform.

That's what you do, but the actual migration has already taken place and was Plasma-5 first, Applications afterwards. Plasma-4 just happens to stay around for those that can not deal with Plasma-5 right now. Upgrade becomes simpler as a side-effect of KDE SC 4.14.3 removal and streamlining that you have already seen (and irritated some users spotting 'evil' kde-frameworks dependencies).

Of course when Plasma-4 is about to be treecleaned you will get the usual 3-weeks-in-advance mask for removal.


Yep, what I do.

World isn't born yesterday, as "most of the people" seems to think in our days. and I'm happy to see with my eyes
that "gentoo KDE people" seems smarter than "most of the people".

To my eyes, of a long dated KDE user and of a gentoo newbie, the fact that such an "upgrade pattern"
actually exist, is a plus.

Congratulations to KDE and Gentoo maintainers for this very good job.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jazz-KP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it actually possible to stay on Plasma 4 now?

Current kde-base/systemsettings pulls in legacy-icons, which blocks some of the dependencies of KF5 applications (like libksane or libkipi)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7135
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

legacy-icons would only be pulled in if you masked the respective alternative dependency from kde-frameworks/, kde-plasma/ or kde-applications/*:5 that contains the icons as well (like libksane:5 and libkipi:5).
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peppev
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jazz-KP wrote:
Is it actually possible to stay on Plasma 4 now?

Current kde-base/systemsettings pulls in legacy-icons, which blocks some of the dependencies of KF5 applications (like libksane or libkipi)


Following the genstorm advices (thanks once again), I had been able to emerge/update my six KDE gentoo systems, keeping
plasma-4 in place, last week.

It had been the longer and more complex gentoo emerge/update I met in the last four years.

And I emerge my gentoo boxes regularly, with monthly periodicity.

I really hope the final upgrade to plasma-5 will be simpler ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally decided to take the plunge.
I have this problem though.
Code:

localhost ~ # emerge @preserved-rebuild -p

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  NS    ] dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.8.7 [5.6.1] USE="exceptions gstreamer icu jit (-aqua) -debug -pch" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)"
[ebuild   R    ] app-misc/recoll-1.19.5-r1
[ebuild   R    ] dev-qt/qtdeclarative-4.8.7
[ebuild   R    ] dev-python/PyQt4-4.12_pre1606101416-r1
[ebuild   R    ] kde-base/kdelibs-4.14.22  USE="(webkit%*)"
[ebuild     U  ] kde-apps/kdebase-kioslaves-16.04.3-r1 [16.04.3] USE="webkit%*"
[ebuild   R    ] app-cdr/k3b-2.0.3-r3
[ebuild   R    ] kde-apps/drkonqi-16.04.3
[ebuild  N     ] kde-base/kactivities-4.13.3-r2  USE="(-aqua)"
[ebuild   R    ] kde-apps/okular-16.04.3
[ebuild     U  ] kde-apps/konqueror-16.04.3-r1 [16.04.2] USE="filemanager%*"
[ebuild     U  ] kde-apps/plasma-runtime-16.04.3 [16.04.2]
[blocks B      ] <dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.10.4:4[gstreamer] ("<dev-qt/qtwebkit-4.10.4:4[gstreamer]" is blocking media-libs/phonon-gstreamer-4.9.0)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

This is a snippet of a long message.

WTF is this qtwebkit 4.10.4 nonsense?
According to /usr/portage/profiles/package.mask it's masked.
Any pointers to a solution will be much appreciated.
Gerard.

Edit:
Found it.
Qtwebkit shouldn't have the gstreamer USE flag set.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download


Last edited by gerard27 on Sun Aug 07, 2016 1:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 5 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum