Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Plasma Settings [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Duco Ergo Sum
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Location: Winsford

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:14 am    Post subject: KDE Plasma Settings [Solved] Reply with quote

Hi,

I have three issues which I'd like to try to address here.

The first relates to my keyboard map. Since my initial build of Gentoo on this PC, XDM has subbornly stuck with the en_US keyboard map. I'd like to use en_GB. In KDE 4 and TTY, this was not a problem and while Logging in I needed to remember an alternative map it was a minor inconvienence. Now, KDE Plasma and XDM both are fixed on the en_US map.

This brings me neatly in to my second issue. In the settings application it is possible to choose the en_GB keyboard map. However, having choosen this setting, it is ignored. I have also chosen to switch off the font blur and this too is ignored.

Lastly and I can't say how related to the above issues this is. Having a second monitor, I have attempted to set a second panel and the bottom of the screen of the second monitor. It seems to configure okay until I reboot and then I find two panels in the same place on my primary monitor and neither quite the way I left then. In fact largely corrupt.

Thanks.

[UPDATE] After posting this message, KDE Plasma promptly crashed.


Last edited by Duco Ergo Sum on Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skiwarz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Feb 2014
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know about your other two issues, but as far as the monitor settings, I think that's a bug. I have the same problem, and I've read of others having the same dual-monitor issue in plasma. I think there's supposed to be multi-monitor improvements in qt-5.6. Mine saves the setting sometimes, and it forgets it at other times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

about the keyboard, you could try putting a line like:

Quote:
setxkbmap us,gb,br,es


into /usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsetup

(assuming you use sddm)

the first ("us" for me) is default ... this works for me and I get a nice
little symbol in the systray for switching keyboard layout

(I got this from another post here but can't remember who)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duco Ergo Sum
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Location: Winsford

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi skiwarz,

I couldn't find anything useful or relevant on this topic. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duco Ergo Sum
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Location: Winsford

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi albright,

I do use SDDM and that has worked a treat, thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum