Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde5.5 PlasmaFreezeIn which mouse still moves. (solved)Fully
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 373
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:21 pm    Post subject: kde5.5 PlasmaFreezeIn which mouse still moves. (solved)Fully Reply with quote

I followed the wiki to do this upgrade.
When I log into plasma (with the old ~/. files removed) plasma appears to open very well.
The sound icon does appear on the tray and can be manipulated without problem, causing little reassuring pops and clicks as I adjust the volume. However if I click on any other icon, I appear to get a freeze (crash?)
with the following symptons:

(1) The mouse can still be moved but can not accomplish anything
(2) control alt backspace no longer kills the xserver, which it did before due to my xorg.conf.

A hard power reset reboot is required to regain control.

Kubuntu 15.10 with plasma works just fine, on the livecd.

I use systemd and the nouveau drivers.

Any suggestions would be most appreciated.


Last edited by nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap on Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:33 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2009
Posts: 557
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any hints as to what could be going on in the journal or dmesg? does switching to another virtual terminal (CTRL + ALT + 2 for example) work to get the CLI? It might be helpful to post your hardware, particularly GPU. Someone might find a specific bug for it or we might find a pattern if other users have issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 373
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much for the reply.

Quote:
does switching to another virtual terminal (CTRL + ALT + 2 for example)


No. Everything is totally frozen, except the mouse moves but does not do anything useful.

Quote:
It might be helpful to post your hardware, particularly GPU


Code:
sudo lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port B) (rev 02)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port B)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port D)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port E)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port G)
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 40)
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 42)
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:14.5 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:16.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:16.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 0
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 5
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF119 [GeForce GT 610] (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GF119 HDMI Audio Controller (rev a1)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 09)
03:00.0 USB controller: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1042 SuperSpeed USB Host Controller
04:00.0 USB controller: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1042 SuperSpeed USB Host Controller


When I reboot and log in to icewm the journal contains the following:
Quote:
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: could not find kded module with id "favicons"
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: attempted to load an invalid module.
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: could not find kded module with id "favicons"
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: attempted to load an invalid module.
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: could not find kded module with id "favicons"
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: attempted to load an invalid module.
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: could not find kded module with id "favicons"
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: attempted to load an invalid module.
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: could not find kded module with id "favicons"
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: attempted to load an invalid module.
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: could not find kded module with id "favicons"
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: attempted to load an invalid module.
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: could not find kded module with id "favicons"
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: attempted to load an invalid module.
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: could not find kded module with id "favicons"
Apr 14 22:12:24 Spectrum kded5[907]: kf5.kded: attempted to load an invalid module.
Apr 14 22:13:41 Spectrum sudo[947]: owner : TTY=pts/1 ; PWD=/home/owner ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/bin/su



From icewm I can run systemsettings5 in order to configure the desktop effects
including adding many programs to autostart.
When I switch to plasma all of these programs do autostart and run perfectly with the window effects (such as wobbly windows) that I set in systemsettings5 working perfectly.
The crash occurs when I click on almost any of the icons on the taskbar at the bottom of the window, with the exception of the icon for sound settings, which does work.

For example clicking on the K icon at the bottom left of the screen leads to a crash.

I am currently doing a emerge -ev @ system && emerge -ev @ world to see if that helps

Your interest in my problem and suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2540
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you ssh into the frozen computer from another computer?
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 373
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
can you ssh into the frozen computer from another computer?


Sometimes.

Here is some output from one time when I was successful:



Code:
 dmesg|tail -50
[33280.366143] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS 0x00000002
[33280.366148] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - done 0x00000320
[33280.366152] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00011c00 0x00000000 0x80031828
[33280.366157] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x00430043 0x00000003 0x00000006 0x00000001
[33280.366159] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - done 0x00000300
[33280.366166] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00005f00 0x00000000 0x00000000
[33280.366171] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000002 0x00000000
[33280.366193] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS MTHD subc 3 class 0x0000 mthd 0x1828 data 0x00430043
[33280.366195] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS 0x00000002
[33280.366201] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - done 0x00000320
[33280.366207] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00011c00 0x00000000 0x80031828
[33280.366217] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x00430043 0x00000003 0x00000006 0x00000001
[33280.366220] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - done 0x00000300
[33280.366226] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00005f00 0x00000000 0x00000000
[33280.366232] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000002 0x00000000
[33280.366252] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS MTHD subc 3 class 0x0000 mthd 0x1828 data 0x00430043
[33280.366253] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS 0x00000002
[33280.366258] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - done 0x00000320
[33280.366265] systemd-journald[305]: /dev/kmsg buffer overrun, some messages lost.
[33280.366266] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00011c00 0x00000000 0x80031828
[33280.366270] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x00430043 0x00000003 0x00000006 0x00000001
[33280.366273] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - done 0x00000300
[33280.366278] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00005f00 0x00000000 0x00000000
[33280.366283] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000002 0x00000000
[33280.366332] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS MTHD subc 3 class 0x0000 mthd 0x1828 data 0x00430043
[33280.366334] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS 0x00000002
[33280.366337] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - done 0x00000340
[33280.366342] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00011c00 0x00000000 0x80031828
[33280.366347] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x00430043 0x00000003 0x00000006 0x00000001
[33280.366351] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - done 0x00000300
[33280.366356] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00005f00 0x00000000 0x00000000
[33280.366361] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000002 0x00000000                                                                                                                       
[33280.366373] systemd-journald[305]: /dev/kmsg buffer overrun, some messages lost.                                                                                                                                             
[33280.366385] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS MTHD subc 3 class 0x0000 mthd 0x1828 data 0x00430043                                                                                                                       
[33280.366387] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS 0x00000002                                                                                                                                                                 
[33280.366389] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - done 0x00000320                                                                                                                                                       
[33280.366395] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00011c00 0x00000000 0x80031828                                                                                                                       
[33280.366401] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x00430043 0x00000003 0x00000006 0x00000000                                                                                                                       
[33280.366403] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - done 0x00000300                                                                                                                                                       
[33280.366408] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00005f00 0x00000000 0x00000000                                                                                                                       
[33280.366413] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000002 0x00000000                                                                                                                       
[33280.366439] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS MTHD subc 3 class 0x0000 mthd 0x1828 data 0x00430043                                                                                                                       
[33280.366441] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] FECS 0x00000002                                                                                                                                                                 
[33280.366445] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - done 0x00000340                                                                                                                                                       
[33280.366451] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00011c00 0x00000000 0x80031828                                                                                                                       
[33280.366458] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 409000 - stat 0x00430043 0x00000003 0x00000006 0x00000001                                                                                                                       
[33280.366462] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - done 0x00000300                                                                                                                                                       
[33280.366469] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x80000000 0x00005f00 0x00000000 0x00000000                                                                                                                       
[33280.366475] nouveau E[  PGRAPH][0000:01:00.0] 502000 - stat 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000002 0x00000000                                                                                                                       
[33280.366479] systemd-journald[305]: /dev/kmsg buffer overrun, some messages lost.                                           



[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2540
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks like the nouveau driver is going crazy

I've never had much luck with it and always switch back
to the proprietary driver - just out of curiosity, does the
nvidia driver work?
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 373
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I've never had much luck with it and always switch back
to the proprietary driver - just out of curiosity, does the
nvidia driver work?


I'll try it.It may take a day or two to do this as I am forced to use my computer for
practical purposes. (Tax time etc) (I have two gentoo root partitions so that breaking one still allows me to use my computer.)A quick attempt led me to a black screen
as I exited grub on booting. I haven't used nvidia for a long time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 373
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
I've never had much luck with it and always switch back
to the proprietary driver - just out of curiosity, does the
nvidia driver work?



I have just tried this. It does work to the extent that I can use startx (as root)
to get a basic graphics workspace. However with the nvidia driver
both sddm and lightdm lead to a black screen.

Thanks for all the suggestions. Unless there is another one in the near future I am going to revert to kde-4.14 and put off upgrading as long as possible.

Plasma 5.5 looks really nice, but it does not seem to be for me at this time.

I started using kde-1.4 and have been a big fan ever since. I look forward to this upgrade at some time in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 373
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The solution seems quite bizarre.

Code:
eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   nvidia
  [2]   xorg-x11 *


In other words, even though nouveau is disabled in the kernel and am using the nvidia driver, I used eselect
to choose xorg-X11 's opengl rather than nvidia's.

I have no idea why this worked but saw some references on the web to someone trying something similar with some other non-nvidia chip.

Does anyone have any insights?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 373
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE:

The solution mentioned above kills all of the Desktop (compositing?) special effects.

I have quickly checked the following live cd's on which all special window effects do work:

(1) Sabayon 16.02 (Uses nvidia driver)
(2) Kubuntu 15.1 (uses nouveau driver)
(3) Current Fedora Alpha release (uses nouveau driver)

I have not been able to replicate whatever it is that they are doing to succeed.
I have no more time to put into this quest, so I will leave it for a couple of point updates before trying again.

However any insights or feedback would be welcome.

(PS The Plasma Desktop without special window effects works just fine. I have been a big KDE fan since release 1.7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gordon-yau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

follow this link to adjust your kernel setting, https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/PulseAudio#Kernel, and reboot
your problem should be solved
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlsa8z6zoz7lyih3ap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 373
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to gordon-yau I now have my wobbly windows back and all compositing effects.

Curiously, My kernel did have all of the features required in gordon-yau's link, but I was compiling my system with the flag " -acl" . I thus activated the flag "acl" and did:

Code:
emerge -uvDN @world

I then used eselect to set the opengl to nividia.
This led to a mostly back screen in my plasma 5 desktop so I used the advice in

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1040318-view-previous.html?sid=0d8d82bd2d830cb5d4d760243b5f308c

to recompile my system. Specifically: I changed my in /etc/portage/make.conf
to include " -egl and -gles2 gtkstyle" and did
Code:
emerge -1 $(qlist -CI kde-frameworks/*)  emerge -1 $(qlist -CI kde-plasma/*)


I simply uninstalled any packages that blocked the above, and then everything emerged fine.


Note: All of the special effects now also work well with the nouveau driver.

With both nouveau and nvidia drivers, I use the systems settings with
Compositor Settings for Desktop Effects set to opengl2 and interface to glx.

I will now mark this topic as fully solved.

Thanks again to gordon-yau for fully solving my problem with his first post. to these forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gordon-yau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

glad to hear that. by the way, if you use wireless keyboard and mouse combo, maybe you would met this issue again. don't know why, if you met it again, try legacy keyboard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum