Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Plasma 5 upgrade: Not stable on x86. WTF?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jesnow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 581

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:11 pm    Post subject: KDE Plasma 5 upgrade: Not stable on x86. WTF? Reply with quote

I've got nothing in principle against upgrading to plasma, though I'm wary because of the debacle I had being migrated by force from KDE 3 before KDE 4 was ready for use. I'm worried about that happening again. I run a very vanilla system and I do not live on the bleeding edge and I do not want bleeding edge type hassles.

But I got an eselect news notification that I should upgrade so I went ahead.

So when I follow the upgrade guide, clean world, change profile etc, I run into the following issue:

Code:

armstrong jesnow # emerge plasma-desktop -p

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

The following keyword changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.accept_keywords" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2::gentoo
# required by plasma-desktop (argument)
=kde-frameworks/knewstuff-5.21.0 ~x86
# required by kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2::gentoo
# required by plasma-desktop (argument)
=kde-frameworks/kjobwidgets-5.21.0 ~x86
# required by kde-plasma/breeze-5.6.2::gentoo
# required by kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2::gentoo
# required by plasma-desktop (argument)
=kde-plasma/kde-cli-tools-5.6.2 ~x86
# required by kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2::gentoo
# required by plasma-desktop (argument)
=dev-qt/qtgraphicaleffects-5.5.1-r1 ~x86
# required by kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2::gentoo
# required by plasma-desktop (argument)

...



and on and on and on. As if every package were masked by keyword. In fact if you check, everything seems to be still keyworded:

Code:

armstrong jesnow # equery list plasma-desktop -p
 * Searching for plasma-desktop ...
[-P-] [ ~] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.5.5:5
[-P-] [ ~] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.5.5-r1:5
[-P-] [ ~] kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.6.2:5



My understanding is that kde 5 is now stable, and shouldn't need to be keyworded. I'm not going to install it until it is.

Am I missing something?

Cheers,

Jon.


Last edited by jesnow on Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most likely you have something in package.keywords or package.unmaks that messes with your config.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesnow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 581

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Most likely you have something in package.keywords or package.unmaks that messes with your config.


Most unlikely: neither of those files has any reference to plasma.


package.unmask:
Code:

=sci-geosciences/googleearth-7.1.1.1871
=dev-embedded/avr-libc-1.8.0
=net-libs/gnutls-2.12.23-r6
#=media-video/ffmpeg-2.5.1



package.keywords:
Code:

app-emulation/vmware-modules ~x86
app-emulation/vmware-player ~x86
app-emulation/vmware-tools ~x86
sci-geosciences/googleearth
=dev-python/setuptools-1.1.6 ~x86
app-text/referencer ~x86
dev-util/codeblocks ~x86
sci-geosciences/garmintools ~x86
sci-geosciences/garminplugin **
media-video/luvcview ~x86
=www-client/chromium-36.0.1985.18 ~x86
>=www-plugins/chrome-binary-plugins-36.0.1985.18_beta1:beta ~x86
dev-embedded/avr-libc ~x86
=media-sound/qmmp-0.8.2 ~x86
#media-video/handbrake ~x86
#=media-video/libav-9999 **
#=media-video/ffmpeg-2.5.1 ~x86
media-gfx/mcomix ~x86
=app-office/libreoffice-5.0.1.2 **
=dev-util/mdds-0.12.0 ~x86
media-video/handbrake ~x86
app-emulation/crossover-bin ~x86
=media-video/ffmpeg-2.6.3 ~x86
=app-text/libwps-0.4.0 **
=app-office/libreoffice-l10n-5.0.1.2 **


Nearly all cruft from long ago I should clean out, but nothing I can see that would produce the effect of making plasma appear to be masked by keyword.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just noticed you are running an x86 system! Plasma-5.5.5 is not stable yet for x86, same as Frameworks 5.18 and even Qt-5.5.1 are still waiting for stabilisation there.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesnow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 581

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
I just noticed you are running an x86 system! Plasma-5.5.5 is not stable yet for x86, same as Frameworks 5.18 and even Qt-5.5.1 are still waiting for stabilisation there.


Really? So when I get a notification like this:


Quote:

2016-04-07-kde-plasma5-stable
Title KDE Plasma 5 Upgrade
Author Michael Palimaka <kensington@gentoo.org>
Posted 2016-04-02
Revision 1

KDE Workspaces 4.11 has reached end of life and is no longer supported
by upstream. It is therefore recommended for all users to upgrade to
KDE Plasma 5.




They really meant to say "*except* for the ~x86 architecture, those users should ignore this notice for the time being?"

Seems like a strange way to roll out a major subsystem upgrade.

Is this true?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The message was prepared for all users, but KDE team didn't wait for x86 stabilisation anymore since it is way behind. It should not have been visible to x86 users.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jesnow
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 581

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
The message was prepared for all users, but KDE team didn't wait for x86 stabilisation anymore since it is way behind. It should not have been visible to x86 users.


OK, there should have been some hint in the message itself. This ruined my weekend in upgrade/downgrade hell. The exact situation I want to avoid by running a stable system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lebkoungcity
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Lebkoungcity (='Gingerbreadcity' =Nuremberg)

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
The message was prepared for all users, but KDE team didn't wait for x86 stabilisation anymore since it is way behind. It should not have been visible to x86 users.


So, I also ran into this 'cause I believed the message first without checking if plasma was stable on x86 before beginning...

Is there anywhere a source of information when one could expect plasma getting stable on x86?
Is there some way I could help speeding up this process? (With my absolutely limited knowledge on writing ebuilds or whatsoever...)

Best wishes,
Andy
_________________
"The most dangerous world view is the world view of the ones who haven't viewed the world."
Alexander von Humboldt (1769-1859)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to help out, Gentoo really needs x86 testers: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Project:X86/Arch_Testers_FAQ :)

Stabilisation of Qt-5.5.1, which is required before anything else, is tracked here: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=569924
After that, Frameworks 5.21.0 could be stabilised but the current tracker is only for amd64 for obvious reasons, then Plasma-5 (maybe together with the next amd64 candidate).
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum