Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:52 am    Post subject: [solved] KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly Reply with quote

Hi,

I've done the kde4 to plasma5 upgrade as suggested by a recent news item.

After the upgrade, some programs fail to start:
When doing it via the GUI, I get, e.g., for kmail:
Code:
KDEInit could not launch '/usr/bin/kmail'

When doing it via konsole , I get:
Code:
unnamed app(5841): KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly

This problem is quite general, e.g., also kded4 has problems. Effectively a large part of the kde4 programs fail to start.

I reinstalled the offending programs, which helped during that session, but in a new session (or reboot?), the problem is back. So I guess it is some configuration issue.

Best,

Erik


Last edited by equaeghe on Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eegorov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same error for me. But I do not use plasma5 session. On my desktop still installed kde4, but I can not start kde4 session now. Any kde4 application (included plasma-desktop, konsole, etc.)stop running immediately with
Code:

unnamed app(31755): KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What version of dbus do you have installed? Using openrc or systemd?

Maybe related: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=579546
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
What version of dbus do you have installed? Using openrc or systemd?

Maybe related: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=579546

I'm using systemd. I'll see if the dbus version has an effect here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eegorov
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use systemd. Has been installed sys-apps/dbus-1.10.8-r1
Revert to sys-apps/dbus-1.10.6 solve the issue in my case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Maybe related: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=579546

Yes, downgrading dbus to 1.10.6 seems to have fixed things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mndz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

equaeghe wrote:
genstorm wrote:
Maybe related: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=579546

Yes, downgrading dbus to 1.10.6 seems to have fixed things.


Same issue was fixed by downgrading as well.

Is this worth a bug report?

I'm using OpenRC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 463

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mndz wrote:
Same issue was fixed by downgrading as well.

Is this worth a bug report?.


Note that downgrading/upgrading doesn't matter. DBus is not the problem, prelinking is. See

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=579546

for more information and persisting fixes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mndz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the link to the bug! I'm using prelinking so that's probably the culprit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum