Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] IPv6 for my sshd, cannot access by hostname
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 4:52 am    Post subject: [Solved] IPv6 for my sshd, cannot access by hostname Reply with quote

My ISP supports IPv6 and I have it enabled, or so I thought.

I can quite happily ping6 ipv6.google.com

I cannot ping my local machine by name, from my local machine or from other machines on my LAN.

Suggestions would be welcomed.

Additional info as follows...

Fails...
Code:
$ ping6 lyalls-pc
PING lyalls-pc(Lyalls-PC.fritz.box) from yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy enp2s0: 56 data bytes
From yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy icmp_seq=1 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable
From yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy icmp_seq=2 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable
From yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy icmp_seq=3 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable
From yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy icmp_seq=4 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable
^C
--- lyalls-pc ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 received, +4 errors, 100% packet loss, time 4000ms


Succeeds...
Code:
lyall@lyalls-pc ~
$ ping6 localhost
PING localhost(localhost) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from localhost: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.021 ms
64 bytes from localhost: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.033 ms
^C
--- localhost ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 999ms


Code:
lyall@lyalls-pc ~
$ netstat -r
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
default         fritz.box       0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 enp2s0
loopback        0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U         0 0          0 lo
loopback        localhost       255.0.0.0       UG        0 0          0 lo
192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 enp2s0
lyall@lyalls-pc ~
$ ip -6 route
yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy::/64 dev enp2s0  proto kernel  metric 2  mtu 1492 pref medium
fe80::/64 dev enp2s0  proto kernel  metric 256  pref medium
ff00::/8 dev enp2s0  metric 256  pref medium
default via fe80::be05:43ff:fee6:f170 dev enp2s0  metric 2  mtu 1492 pref medium
lyall@lyalls-pc ~
$ ifconfig
enp2s0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.1.13  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.1.255
        inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        inet6 yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:yyyy:  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        ether 00:23:54:4c:d4:29  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 359959  bytes 447026369 (426.3 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 1  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 144703  bytes 51867044 (49.4 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 1  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 43  bytes 3604 (3.5 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 43  bytes 3604 (3.5 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

_________________
...Lyall


Last edited by lyallp on Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5589

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your local DNS server have an AAAA record for the other machine? If not you'll have to use nss-mdns.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42563
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lyallp,

Add IPv6 entries to /etc/hosts. Unfortunately that's static. If you want to use the automatic configuration offered by IPv6, you need a name server that keeps up with IPv6 addresses, which may not be static.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use my ADSL Modem (FritzBox 7390) as my DNS Server.
It is IPv6 enabled, as can be seen by the fact I can ping6 ipv6.google.com

Interestingly, from lyalls-pc, looking up using ipv6 returns an ipv4 address...

Code:

$ dig lyalls-pc

; <<>> DiG 9.10.3-P2 <<>> lyalls-pc
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 45722
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;lyalls-pc.         IN   A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
lyalls-pc.      9   IN   A   192.168.1.13

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.1.254#53(192.168.1.254)
;; WHEN: Thu Apr 14 08:32:00 CST 2016
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 43

lyall@lyalls-pc ~/.fluxbox
$ dig -6 lyalls-pc

; <<>> DiG 9.10.3-P2 <<>> -6 lyalls-pc
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3082
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;lyalls-pc.         IN   A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
lyalls-pc.      9   IN   A   192.168.1.13

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx#53(xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx)
;; WHEN: Thu Apr 14 08:32:34 CST 2016
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 43

_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lyallp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: Adelaide/Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reboot my FritzBox 7390 firmware FRITZ!OS 05.51

And no, I won't update the firmware, because version 6 onwards drops SMB file shares of attached USB drives.

:)
_________________
...Lyall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum