Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde plasma 5 desktop and two x servers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hebbe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 8:51 pm    Post subject: kde plasma 5 desktop and two x servers Reply with quote

Hi,

I have updated KDE to newest plasma 5. I had a configuration with two monitors and two x servers in KDE 4 and it was working fine. After updating to plasma 5 my right screen is just black. When I move my mouse cursor to it I get the X cursor symbol. I have spent some time to try to understand what is happening, but I don't know. If I look in nvidia-settings I get a confirmation that I have two screens. I have switched to sddm.

Can somebody please help?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Markus09
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Mar 2013
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried to configure your two monitors using the "system settings" from kde?
System Settings -> Display and Monitor -> Display configuration

Do you see the monitors there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hebbe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can only see one screen in System Settings -> Display and Monitor -> Display configuration.

Isn't that correct since I have tried to configure with 2 x servers and they will work independent.

My impression is that the x server on the right screen doesn't start for some reason, but I don't know for sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allistarM
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had an issue of needing two separate X servers a couple of years ago with a version of KDE that wouldn't allow it. In the end I ran a difference desktop (lxde) on the 2nd x-server. Since then I have upgraded to an Nvidia card that allows for "twinview" with 4 monitors, so I can now have a single KDE (or plasma) session spanning my 3 displays. If you can't get it working perhaps you need to go with a different display manager on the other x server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hebbe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. How do I actually configure a setup like this? I have no idea about how to start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
allistarM
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The trick was to define two screens in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, like this:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
  Identifier "Default Layout"
  screen 0 "Screen A"
  screen 1 "Screen B" RightOf "Screen A"
  InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
  InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
EndSection


I think the nvidia settings gui application will do this for you. In my case "Screen A" was defined as a twinview screen which consisted of two monitors, screen B was running a separate X server on a third monitor. You can move the mouse between the X screens but you cannot drag windows between them. I didn't mind this, but my setup is much nicer now that I have an nvidia card which support 4 displays.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MasterPrenium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Dec 2006
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I was having the same setup and also the same problem (black second screen, just mouse pointer).
So I did the same as you, go a a single kde session which is expanded across the two monitors (1 XScreen).

But, I'm getting a really annoying issue, it seems bvirtual desktop of both monitors are linked and cannot be independent. Its really a pity for me I need to be able to switch to virtual desktop on monitor 1, while monitor 2 stays on its current virtual desktop.


That's why I'm thinking of working again to get a separate Xscreen... Will keep you in touch if I succeed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum