Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Cannot upgrade to plasma 5
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 730

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes of course I did!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 730

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW only, two items were removed after running that monster command:

>>> Removing kde-base/kdeplasma-addons from "world" favorites file...
>>> Removing x11-themes/qtcurve from "world" favorites file...

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6877
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What blockers are there, then? Pastebin the output.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 730

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://pastebin.com/j2ey4HRq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6877
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that's not a lot of blocks at all.

Code:
(kde-base/kwin-4.11.22:4/4.11::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
    >=kde-base/kwin-4.11:4[aqua=] (>=kde-base/kwin-4.11:4[-aqua]) required by (kde-apps/kdeartwork-styles-15.08.3:4/15.08::gentoo, installed)


Remove kdeartwork-styles.

What profile are you using?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 730

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using 'default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma'.

I removed the package but I'm still getting blocks... http://pastebin.com/MAc9WsxU

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6877
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it is still kde-apps/kdeartwork-meta, why is it masked on your system?

Code:
$ equery l -ip kdeartwork-meta

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 730

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't specifically custom mask it, my package.mask file is empty at the moment.

# equery l -ip kdeartwork-meta
* Searching for kdeartwork-meta ...
[IP-] [ ] kde-apps/kdeartwork-meta-4.14.3:4
[-P-] [ ] kde-apps/kdeartwork-meta-15.08.3-r1:5

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6877
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, the solution should be to first `emerge -1v kde-apps/kdeartwork-meta` to get the upgrade, then emerge plasma-meta.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
don quixada
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 730

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, everything seems to work now. I upgraded etc. Thanks for your help!

dq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sam_i_am
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
OK, the solution should be to first `emerge -1v kde-apps/kdeartwork-meta` to get the upgrade, then emerge plasma-meta.


Thanks Genstorm. Had a similar issue with blocks (looked scary). Updating kdeartwork-meta first and then glib prior to emerging plasma-meta did the trick.
_________________
Sam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I think I have almost solved my problem and I have successfully updated my KDE4 to KDE5

Code:
emerge --depclean
emerge -pv kde-plasma/plasma-meta
emerge --unmerge bluedevil
emerge --unmerge upower
emerge -pv kde-plasma/plasma-meta


Depclean removes 230 ebuilds in my system, after them the plasma update gives me only 3 blocks, but I don't remember exactly if I have removed them with --unmerge or removing them from the world file :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6877
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is that a question? Because then you've missed to post the most relevant piece of information, the actual blocks. ;)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No I actually don't have any blocks, bacause I've updated my system to plasma5 :)

Now that I think better, I remember that I have removed from my world file manually sys-power/upower before emerge --depclean

But now I have other issues, actually I'm not able to log out from the plasma session, and xfce too.
When I go to the "K" menu for logging out, the system freezes for 30 seconds and I'm not able to do nothing, the only WM that works correctly is fluxbox ...
Same for the display manager SDDM & lightdm ...

Sorry for my poor english :P , I'm not able to describe my issues clearly :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum