Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solvd] kde4 wallet to plasma5 migration fail; how to retry?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 11:27 am    Post subject: [solvd] kde4 wallet to plasma5 migration fail; how to retry? Reply with quote

Hi,


I've upgraded to plasma5 from kde4 as per the suggestion in a recent news item. I had some dm issues in the beginning and while I saw a kwallet migration screen at some point, this clearly failed in the sense that my plasma5 wallet does not contain any data from the kde4 one.

So, how to I get the kde4 wallet migrated to plasma5. I've seen that it is possible to import wallets using kwalletmanager:5 (which I installed), but this failed due to the fact that there is a separate salt file, so my password does not work. Perhaps there is a way around this? Or perhaps I can force plasma5 to retry the migration somehow.


Best,

Erik


Last edited by equaeghe on Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 11:53 am    Post subject: kde4 to plasma5: some programs fail to launch after upgrade Reply with quote

Hi,

I've done the kde4 to plasma5 upgrade as suggested by a recent news item.

After the upgrade, some programs fail to start:
When doing it via the GUI, I get, e.g., for kmail:
Code:
KDEInit could not launch '/usr/bin/kmail'

When doing it via konsole , I get:
Code:
unnamed app(5841): KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly


(I had this with konsole as well, but I could fix that by installing the unstable plasma5 version.)

Best,

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is kdebase-runtime-meta installed? You did reboot after upgrade?
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reaction genstorm.

genstorm wrote:
Is kdebase-runtime-meta installed? You did reboot after upgrade?


No, kdebase-runtime-meta is not installed; I'll have a look at that.

Yes, i did reboot.


I see that I mistakenly posted a second question as a reply (sorry). To which question are you responding, then I'll move the other to a new thread, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We can work on both in one thread. Concerning kwallet, try to adjust your ./.config/kwalletrc like so:

Code:
[Migration]
showMigrationWizard=true

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

equaeghe wrote:
genstorm wrote:
Is kdebase-runtime-meta installed? You did reboot after upgrade?

No, kdebase-runtime-meta is not installed; I'll have a look at that.

Installing this (and the packages it pulls in) did not resolve or even change the issue I have with kmail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
We can work on both in one thread. Concerning kwallet, try to adjust your ./.config/kwalletrc like so:
Code:
[Migration]
showMigrationWizard=true


Doesn't result in the the migration wizard firing up again when I log in again.

BTW: the kdebase-runtime-meta emerge also pulled in kde4 kwalletmanager, which now shows up (in my systray), but it does not find my old wallet (which is still in ~/.kde4/share/apps/kwallet, together with a salt file).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:27 pm    Post subject: Re: kde4 to plasma5: some programs fail to launch after upgr Reply with quote

equaeghe wrote:
I've done the kde4 to plasma5 upgrade as suggested by a recent news item.

After the upgrade, some programs fail to start:
When doing it via the GUI, I get, e.g., for kmail:
Code:
KDEInit could not launch '/usr/bin/kmail'

When doing it via konsole , I get:
Code:
unnamed app(5841): KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly


(I had this with konsole as well, but I could fix that by installing the unstable plasma5 version.)


Re-emerging kmail fixed this issue for kmail. I may have to re-emerge a bit more to get a correctly working system again, it seems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
equaeghe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:47 am    Post subject: Re: kde4 to plasma5: some programs fail to launch after upgr Reply with quote

equaeghe wrote:
equaeghe wrote:
I've done the kde4 to plasma5 upgrade as suggested by a recent news item.

After the upgrade, some programs fail to start:
When doing it via the GUI, I get, e.g., for kmail:
Code:
KDEInit could not launch '/usr/bin/kmail'

When doing it via konsole , I get:
Code:
unnamed app(5841): KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly


(I had this with konsole as well, but I could fix that by installing the unstable plasma5 version.)


Re-emerging kmail fixed this issue for kmail. I may have to re-emerge a bit more to get a correctly working system again, it seems.


But this problem reappears on restart!

In any case, this was also the root problem of the kwallet migration issues I had. So I'm going to mark this thread as solved and start a new one with a focus on the KUniqueApplication issue: 7905916
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum