Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
konqueror will not load web pages
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:10 pm    Post subject: konqueror will not load web pages Reply with quote

sometime since recent updates to plasma 5 / kde 5.6 konqueror
fails to load web pages with this error

Code:
Cannot Initiate the http Protocol
Technical Reason: Unable to Launch Process

Additional Information: Unable to create io-slave: klauncher said: Error loading 'kio_http'.


kio_http.so exists but is, of course, a kdelibs-4.14 provision

konqueror has become a rubbish browser, I know, but I'd like it to work anyway ...

Anyone run across this and/or know why it's happening and/or a fix?
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

replying to self:

my bad - a reboot fixed konqueror (and more it turned out)

must remember - linux nowadays needs reboots for desktop environment
changes (and get off my lawn)
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A reboot is certainly not required, but bad things have always happened if you upgraded KDE within a running session and did not bother to re-login.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2539
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
A reboot is certainly not required, but bad things have always happened if you upgraded KDE within a running session and did not bother to re-login.


I certainly did log out, restart xdm service and re-login

then I noticed the troubles; after *reboot* they were gone - maybe another logout/in
would have done the trick as well
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That *is* rather strange, indeed.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum