Hello Gentoo - A Happy Newbie
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
crayztechnique
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:31 am    Post subject: Hello Gentoo - A Happy Newbie Reply with quote

I just wanted to say hi everybody! Didn't really know where to post such a thing. Anyways I am really enjoying Gentoo. I've gone through the installation 3 times now. I feel like the scientist who gave life to frankenstien each time it boots (it's alive it's alive!). I'm on the fourth now becuase I had to know what Arch was all about. I'm fairly new to Linux in general. I have been using Windows since 3.1.1 which is sad but true. I think Gentoo is going to be my new OS home though now. I've got this Lenovo G530 that needs fresh life. I'm glad to be here and I look forward learning. Thank you in advance for any help.

:D :D :D
Buffoon
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome crayztechnique!

I remember the same feeling when I started using Gentoo in 2004. I'm happy for you. :)
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crayztechnique,

Welcome to Gentoo.

There is usually no need to reinstall when you change a setting, emerge will take care of it for you.
There are a few exceptions but they are fairly rare.
Reinstalling is a bad habit you have picked up from other (binary) operating systems.
As Gentoo is source based, reinstalling robs you of a learning opportunity and allows you to make a different mistake.

Think of Gentoo as a set of tools that you use to design and install your own operating system.
Its quite in order to change the design as you learn what you want without throwing it all away and starting again.

The hard bit for newcomers is knowing what you want.

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-