Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Failed to emerge dev-libs/efl-1.17.0
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 5:28 am    Post subject: Failed to emerge dev-libs/efl-1.17.0 Reply with quote

Been having this problem a couple of days now. Not sure how to deal with it and can't find anything obvious in other threads but get a distinct impression that the sandbox isn't something I should muck about with unless I know what I am doing...which I don't.


Log...https://bpaste.net/show/aac121e8bb15

Code:
* --------------------------- ACCESS VIOLATION SUMMARY ---------------------------
 * LOG FILE: "/var/log/sandbox/sandbox-28921.log"
 *
VERSION 1.0
FORMAT: F - Function called
FORMAT: S - Access Status
FORMAT: P - Path as passed to function
FORMAT: A - Absolute Path (not canonical)
FORMAT: R - Canonical Path
FORMAT: C - Command Line

F: mkdir
S: deny
P: /var/run/user/1000/.ecore
A: /var/run/user/1000/.ecore
R: /run/user/1000/.ecore
C: /usr/bin/efreetd

F: mkdir
S: deny
P: /var/run/user/1000/.ecore
A: /var/run/user/1000/.ecore
R: /run/user/1000/.ecore
C: /usr/bin/efreetd
 * --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

>>> Failed to emerge dev-libs/efl-1.17.0, Log file:

>>>  '/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/efl-1.17.0/temp/build.log'


[Moderator edit: changed [quote] tags to [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

File a bug, because it should not be trying to create user directories in /var/run (or /run) during the build. (Looks like it's the start of src_install, but possibly pre-hook.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stoil
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 175
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2016 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem. Is there a bugzilla for it?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am still having the same problem. I can't seem to find a way to file a bug with the developer. Does anyone know how to contact them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stoil
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 175
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There was a comment in this thread which somehow disappeared. Strange enough - if you run emerge in different terminal implementation - it works! I'm using terminology and once I tried simple console (outside X) it was ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stoil wrote:
There was a comment in this thread which somehow disappeared. Strange enough - if you run emerge in different terminal implementation - it works! I'm using terminology and once I tried simple console (outside X) it was ok.

stoil ... it was from me, I'd deleted it as it was mostly speculation (and ruminating on /run), and thought I was probably wrong and likely to distract from the topic. Pleased it worked.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stoil
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 175
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks for the idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately it didn't work for me. I tried in a number of different terminals other than terminology and even tried from CLI outside of desktop environment and still generates same error. Any more ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
I can't seem to find a way to file a bug with the developer. Does anyone know how to contact them?

Use Gentoo's bugzilla, and they'll progress it (or at least tell you more.) See here for advice.

Once it's filed in Gentoo, you can always raise it upstream yourself, and provide the Gentoo bug url in the relevant field.

In the first instance, though, you want Gentoo to try and correct the problem, then send the patch upstream.
That happens a lot, much more than people using other distros realise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2016 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
Unfortunately it didn't work for me. I tried in a number of different terminals other than terminology and even tried from CLI outside of desktop environment and still generates same error. Any more ideas?

Budoka ... can you pastebin the build.log again (the above expired, 404) and the environment.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
Budoka wrote:
Unfortunately it didn't work for me. I tried in a number of different terminals other than terminology and even tried from CLI outside of desktop environment and still generates same error. Any more ideas?

Budoka ... can you pastebin the build.log again (the above expired, 404) and the environment.

best ... khay


Here it is again. Thanks.

cat /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/efl-1.17.0/temp/build.log |wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: https://bpaste.net/show/faf9d8451481
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
Here it is again. Thanks.

cat /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/efl-1.17.0/temp/build.log |wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: https://bpaste.net/show/faf9d8451481

Budoka ... and the 'environment' file (in the same location).

EDIT: here is the problem:

Code:
EFL_RUN_IN_TREE=1 ../src/bin/edje/edje_cc -v -id . -fd . -id ./ethumb/frames/ ethumb/frames/default.edc ethumb/frames/default.edj
ACCESS DENIED:  mkdir:  /var/run/user/1000/.ecore

... so 'edje_cc' is naughty. Try the following:

Code:
# env -i emerge --oneshot =dev-libs/efl-1.17.0

Otherwise I'd need to see the environment file to see what might point edje_cc to /var/run.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AH sorry about that Khay! I missed that you asked for that as well. Here it is...

cat /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/efl-1.17.0/temp/environment |wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: https://bpaste.net/show/b62eb92d3b25

I will try the oneshot suggestion as well. Thanks as always for the assistance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7297

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2016 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and the winner is :)
declare -x XDG_RUNTIME_DIR="/var/run/user/1000"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
and the winner is :)
declare -x XDG_RUNTIME_DIR="/var/run/user/1000"


Thanks! But, and I am sorry that this is a n00b comment, what was I suppose to do with this? Enter it at CLI before merging. Changing it in my environment file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Budoka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jun 2012
Posts: 724
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

khayyam wrote:
Budoka wrote:
Here it is again. Thanks.

cat /var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/efl-1.17.0/temp/build.log |wgetpaste
Your paste can be seen here: https://bpaste.net/show/faf9d8451481

Budoka ... and the 'environment' file (in the same location).

EDIT: here is the problem:

Code:
EFL_RUN_IN_TREE=1 ../src/bin/edje/edje_cc -v -id . -fd . -id ./ethumb/frames/ ethumb/frames/default.edc ethumb/frames/default.edj
ACCESS DENIED:  mkdir:  /var/run/user/1000/.ecore

... so 'edje_cc' is naughty. Try the following:

Code:
# env -i emerge --oneshot =dev-libs/efl-1.17.0

Otherwise I'd need to see the environment file to see what might point edje_cc to /var/run.

best ... khay



Code:
# env -i emerge --oneshot =dev-libs/efl-1.17.0
seemed to do the trick. I also did he same for elementary itself. I hope that wasn't a mistake?

One strange thing happened though and I am not sure if it is related. The sound on my system has totally stopped working. Thing is I was using it when it stopped so can isolate that the only thing that was going on when it died was the emerge of Elementary. Could they be related or should I start another thread?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2016 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Budoka wrote:
khayyam wrote:
Code:
# env -i emerge --oneshot =dev-libs/efl-1.17.0

seemed to do the trick. I also did he same for elementary itself. I hope that wasn't a mistake?

Budoka ... the 'env -i' will run the command ignoring the environment its run in, so in this case the XDG_RUNTIME_DIR nolonger points to /run/user/1000, and so no access violation. It shouldn't cause any issues with the build, because it's only the user env that is ignored. The most it does is point to how crappy freedeskop.org "standards" are.

Budoka wrote:
One strange thing happened though and I am not sure if it is related. The sound on my system has totally stopped working. Thing is I was using it when it stopped so can isolate that the only thing that was going on when it died was the emerge of Elementary. Could they be related or should I start another thread?

Elementary seems to be input, and not sound, related. I can't say what happened there, other than maybe the software itself is buggy, building software shouldn't do anything ... other than provide the software.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This appears also to be a problem with the enlightenment ebuild as well: I just ran into the same problem.

This would be a bug to file upstream, no?

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khayyam
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 07 Jun 2012
Posts: 6228
Location: Room 101

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExecutorElassus wrote:
This appears also to be a problem with the enlightenment ebuild as well: I just ran into the same problem. This would be a bug to file upstream, no?

ExecutorElassus ... that is the intended behavior, the fact that you would built it in a sandbox is the "bug". As I'd said, that is how crappy freedesktop.org "standards" are.

best ... khay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s_j_newbury
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 55
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem here is when efreetd is already running (such as when you're emerging from Terminology) everything emerges fine. But during emerge of any efl packages, efreetd gets spawned by the efl build tools such as edje_cc as uid=0, so defaults to using /run/user/0 as XDG_RUNTIME_DIR.

The simple solution I've used in my ebuilds, and added to my local enlightenment.eclass is to just makes sure XDG_RUNTIME_DIR="${T}".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhon987
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2013
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
sudo emerge --oneshot =dev-libs/efl-1.17.0


seems to do the trick for me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s_j_newbury
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 55
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jhon987 wrote:
Code:
sudo emerge --oneshot =dev-libs/efl-1.17.0


seems to do the trick for me...

What about a modern version? 1.19 has been recently released, newest in the tree is 1.18.4. I've encountered this on and off for a long time before I finally figured it out. Strangely, it never seemed to happen with emerging dev-libs/efl when it wasn't already installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josef.95
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 3770
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is probably Bug 567192

Build it from a root-login-shell should work.
Code:
su -l
Code:
emerge -av1 dev-libs/efl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ianw1974
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Oct 2006
Posts: 387
Location: UK and Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've encountered this just now when trying to emerge enlightenment, and there is a much easier solution. For me, I originally did su to root, and got the error. However, it's best to do:

Code:
su -


the added minus provides the environment then for the root user, and then during compiling you don't get the above error with it unable to create .ecore directory in the wrong place. As /var/run/user/1000/.ecore was my normal user, and I was as root with a standard su it still had the environment from my user, and not the root user. The su with a minus after solved that and I no longer got the error.

If you like just using su, then set up a file like this:

Code:
gentoo ~ # cat /etc/bash/bashrc.d/su-alias
alias su="su -"


that way, it will set the alias, and you can carry on using su, knowing that it will actually automatically do an su -
_________________
Ian Walker

Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.........

Linux Systems Limited | Masternode Monitoring
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum